My Candles Were Stored With Their Lids Off for Several Months — Could That Affect Fragrance Retention Compared With Candles Stored Closed?
शेयर करना
What can I be certain about? The two things you can see. An uncovered candle collects dust and debris on the wax surface and around the wick, and its surface takes more light. Both are inspection items, and one of them — debris at the wick — can be a genuine dispatch problem rather than a cosmetic one.
Do the lids CSI sells actually seal? The pages do not say so. They state capacity, dimensions, a hot-pour limit and sometimes a wick pairing. On the 200 ml Salsa jar the "63 mm lug cap" appears in the title only; dome and bamboo lids rest on the jar rather than clamping to it. Treat every one of them as a cover, not a closure.
How do I settle it for my own range? A two-arm trial: 24 jars from one pour, 12 stored closed and 12 stored open, judged blind at matched temperature. It costs ₹4,561 at listed prices — 4.85% of a 600-candle batch worth ₹94,134.24.
What CSI's lid and jar pages actually state
CSI lists 78 jars and containers, and a large share of them come with a lid. Their pages are reasonably specific about the things that matter for pouring: how much they hold, how big they are, how hot you may pour into them, and occasionally which wick suits them. On the one question this post asks, every page is silent — and the table below is arranged so that the silence is visible.
| Container | Lid as described | Stated capacity | Stated dimensions | Stated hot-pour limit | Stated seal or retention claim | Cost each |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 200 ml Salsa Glass Jar | Golden lid; "63 mm lug cap" in the title only | "The 200ml capacity provides ample space for crafting beautiful votive or single-wick candles" | Not stated | Not stated | None | ₹29.50 in 100s |
| Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid | Black lid | "Capacity: 120 gm" | 6 cm diameter, 6.5 cm height | Not stated | None | ₹47.20 |
| Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) | Golden metal lid | "150g fill capacity" | Height 8 cm, outer diameter 7 cm, base diameter ~6.5 cm | "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C" | None | ₹94.40 |
| Black Glass Jar with Black Lid (150 gram) | Page body describes a golden metal lid | "Fill capacity: ~150 gm" | Height with lid ~8 cm, outer rim ~7 cm, base ~6.5 cm | "Safe for hot-pour up to 85°C" | None | ₹107 |
| Apothecary jar with dome lid | Dome lid that rests on the jar | "Fill capacity: ~500 g - 700 g (2 sizes)" | Height with lid ~13.2 cm, without ~10.8 cm, diameter ~10 cm | "Safe for hot-pour up to 85°C" | None | ₹212.40 |
This is the honest asymmetry of the whole subject. The jar pages are informative about geometry and pouring and silent about storage, exactly as the wax pages are informative about loads and temperatures and silent about storage, and exactly as all 107 fragrance-oil pages are silent about shelf life. Nobody in this supply chain has published a storage specification, so a retention percentage in a blog post would be a number somebody made up. What is publishable is the geometry, the inspection list, and the trial.
The headspace argument — and exactly where it stops
Here is the arithmetic, with every assumption on the table so you can disagree with it. The stated internal geometry of a candle jar is not published, so this uses the stated outer figures, which makes the headspace estimate slightly generous rather than slightly mean.
| Jar | Diameter used | Assumed ullage | Headspace when closed | Air available when open | Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amber Shiny 120 gm | 6 cm (stated) | 1 cm below the rim | ≈28.27 ml | ≈33,000 litres in a 3 × 4 × 2.75 m room | more than 1,000,000 : 1 |
| Amber Shiny 120 gm, lower fill | 6 cm (stated) | 1.5 cm below the rim | ≈42.41 ml | Unchanged | about 780,000 : 1 |
| Clear Glass 150 gram | 6.5 cm (stated base diameter) | 1 cm below the rim | ≈33.18 ml | Unchanged | about 990,000 : 1 |
| Apothecary 500 gm | 10 cm (stated outer rim) | 1 cm below the rim | ≈78.54 ml | Unchanged | about 420,000 : 1 |
Three things this arithmetic does support. A closed jar's headspace is small enough that the air immediately above the wax is a contained volume rather than an open sink. A larger jar with a wider mouth traps proportionally more air but also presents a much larger wax surface to it. And a jar filled lower has more headspace, which is one honest reason not to underfill stock you intend to hold.
And here is where it stops, stated plainly. A lid that is not a seal leaks, at a rate nobody has measured, through a gap nobody has specified. So the real position of a lidded jar is somewhere between the two columns above, and the arithmetic cannot say where. Anybody who tells you a lid retains a specific percentage of fragrance over six months is not reading it off a page — because there is no page to read it off. What the geometry does justify is a default: if you own lids, use them on stored stock. The cost of doing so is zero.
Five things lids-off storage could have changed
Work through these with a jar in your hand and, if you have one, a closed-stored jar from the same pour beside it. The first two are settled by looking. The third and fourth are settled by a burn. Only the fifth needs the blind comparison, and only the fifth is about fragrance at all.
| Candidate | How you check it | Decides dispatch? |
|---|---|---|
| Dust or fibres embedded in the wax surface | Raking light across the surface at an angle; compare against a closed-stored jar or a fresh pour | Yes if visible in the finished product — it is what the customer sees first |
| Debris at or in the wick | Look into the wick base; try to light it | Yes. A wick that will not stay lit, or burns with debris in the pool, must not ship |
| Surface light exposure | Is the exposed top noticeably different in tone from wax deeper in the jar, or from a covered unit? | Cosmetic in most cases; widen the sample before concluding |
| Wick moved or leaned during handling | Look down the jar from directly above; a lidless jar is handled and stacked differently | Yes if the wick touches the glass |
| Fragrance released into the room over months | Blind comparison against a closed-stored control from the same pour, both equilibrated four hours in one room | No — a commercial judgement about price and description |
The two-arm lid trial, step by step
This is the instrument for this question: one pour, one variable, two arms. The sample counts, the four-hour equilibration and the checkpoint pattern are this guide's chosen method rather than a published standard — pick your own and keep them fixed.
Lidded jars, by cost per unit
Three lidded containers across the price range CSI lists, chosen on stated capacity and cost per jar rather than on any storage claim, because there is no storage claim to choose on. Each card shows every pack the jar ships in and the cost per single-wick candle.
| Size | Price | Per piece | single-wick candles |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 Pcs | ₹200.60 | ₹40.12 | ≈5 |
| 50 Pcs | ₹1,475 | ₹29.50 | ≈50 |
| 100 Pcs | ₹2,950 | ₹29.50 | ≈100 |
| Size | Price | Per piece | single-wick candles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pack of 1 | ₹47.20 | ₹47.20 | ≈1 |
| Pack of 5 | ₹236 | ₹47.20 | ≈5 |
| Size | Price | Per piece | single-wick candles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pack of 10 | ₹944 | ₹94.40 | ≈10 |
| Pack of 20 | ₹1,888 | ₹94.40 | ≈20 |
What lids and covers cost across a batch
Two calculations decide this in practice. What a lidded jar adds across a production run, and what it costs to cover stock that is already poured into something without one. Both are listed prices.
| Option | Per unit | Across 600 units | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| 200 ml Salsa jar with golden lid, in 100s | ₹29.50 | ₹17,700 | A lidded jar; capacity stated in ml |
| Amber Shiny 120 gm jar with black lid | ₹47.20 | ₹28,320 | A lidded jar, amber glass, capacity in grams |
| Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) | ₹94.40 | ₹56,640 | A lidded jar with the fullest stated spec |
| Candle Packaging Paper, packs of 50 | ₹8.26 | ₹4,956 | A dust cover for jars that have no lid |
| Corrugated box, 11 × 11 × 8 cm, in 50s or 100s | ₹22.42 | ₹13,452 | Dust and light cover, and a retail box |
| The 24-jar two-arm trial | ₹190.04 per jar | ₹4,561 total | Evidence about your own range — 4.85% of the batch |
Now the exposure those numbers sit against. Six hundred 120 g jar candles poured on Luxury Soy Wax Chunks at ₹599 a kilo with Jasmine Fragrance Oil at the 1 kg price of ₹3,923, a C1 wick from a 100-pack and a ₹47.20 lidded jar cost ₹156.89 of materials each — ₹66.13 of wax, ₹37.66 of oil, ₹5.90 of wick and ₹47.20 of glass — which is ₹94,134.24 of stock. Against that, the trial is 4.85% and a full set of packaging paper is 5.3%. Keeping twelve units back as controls from the same pour costs ₹1,882.68, or 2.0%, and that is the single cheapest line in this entire guide.
What changes in the next production run
Four changes, in descending order of how well the evidence supports them. The first three are supported by things you can see or read on a page. The fourth is supported only by geometry, and is listed last for that reason.
| Change | Evidence behind it | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Store every finished unit closed or boxed | Certain: dust, debris at the wick, light on the surface | Nothing if the jar already has a lid; ₹8.26 a sheet of paper if it does not |
| Add an inspection step for surface and wick before dispatch | Certain: debris at the wick is a burn-safety item | Labour only, on a sampled fraction |
| Prefer amber or coloured glass for stock you will hold | Light exposure is a real mechanism; amber 120 gm jars are ₹47.20 | Jar choice; no change to formula |
| Fill closer to the rim on held stock | Geometric only: a lower fill means more headspace, ≈42 ml against ≈28 ml on the 120 gm jar | Nothing, but keep the fill consistent across the batch |
| Change the fragrance or raise the load | None. No candidate in the differential is addressed by either | Money on every candle, forever |
One seasonal note, because it is when this question usually arrives. Diwali 2026 falls on 8 November 2026, so candles poured now for a festive order will be stored inventory for weeks or months — and the cheapest moment to decide how they will be covered is before they are poured, not after they have sat uncovered. If you are also holding raw oil rather than finished candles, that is a separate question with separate answers, and none of CSI's fragrance pages states a storage instruction for bottles either.
CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials, not finished candles. We sell the lidded jars on this page, and the commercially convenient move would be to attach a fragrance-retention figure to them. We have not, because no jar or lid page we publish states a seal specification or a barrier property, and a number invented for a blog post would be worth nothing to you the first time a stockist asked where it came from.
Every price, pack size and dimension comes from live CSI stock in September 2026 and links to the product page, which is always authoritative. Stated capacities, dimensions, hot-pour limits and wick pairings are quoted from the product pages; where a page's body text conflicts with its title — and several lid descriptions do — this guide says so rather than choosing the more flattering version. Headspace figures are arithmetic on stated outer dimensions with a stated assumed ullage, and are labelled as estimates, not as published specifications. No CSI jar, lid or wax page states a storage instruction, and none of the 107 fragrance-oil pages states a shelf life, expiry or storage instruction — so no retention percentage, ageing rate, decay curve or accelerated-to-real-time conversion appears anywhere on this page.
For jar and lid options for stock you intend to hold, bulk pricing above the listed packs, GST invoicing, or documentation such as an SDS or IFRA paperwork for a specific oil, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.
Frequently asked questions
- Extremely strong on opening a sealed box — retention or trapped headspace?
- Stronger after warm storage, softer in AC — can temperature change perceived cold throw?
- Darker on the side facing the light — exposure or discolouration?
- Six months later the cold throw seems weaker — can performance change in storage?
- What is cold throw in candles?
- How to test hot throw before launching a candle fragrance
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; wording is unedited.
Figures verified September 2026: Jar prices — 200ml Salsa Glass Jar with 63mm Lug Cap (Golden Lid) 5 Pcs ₹200.60 (₹40.12 each), 50 Pcs ₹1,475 and 100 Pcs ₹2,950 (₹29.50 each); Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid Pack of 1 ₹47.20 and Pack of 5 ₹236 (₹47.20 each); Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) Pack of 10 ₹944 and Pack of 20 ₹1,888 (₹94.40 each); Black Glass Jar with Black Lid (150 gram) Pack of 10 ₹1,070 (₹107 each); Apothecary Glass Candle Jar with Dome Lid 500 gm ₹212.40 and 700 gm ₹250; Candle Jar with Dome Lid ₹354. Packaging — Candle Packaging Paper Pack of 50 ₹413 (₹8.26 each, with the Pack of 100 currently sold out); Corrugated Box for Candle Packaging (11 × 11 × 8 cm) Pack of 50 ₹1,121 and Pack of 100 ₹2,242 (₹22.42 each). Materials — Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 500 g ₹299, 1 kg ₹599, 5 kg ₹2,995, 10 kg ₹5,999; Jasmine Fragrance Oil 15 gm ₹103, 50 gm ₹230, 100 gm ₹430, 500 gm ₹1,961, 1 kg ₹3,923; Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) 10 ₹59, 50 ₹295, 100 ₹590 (₹5.90 each); Candle Making Weighing Scale ₹354. Per-candle materials for a 120 g candle at an 8% load (110.4 g wax + 9.6 g oil): wax 110.4 × ₹0.599 = ₹66.13, oil 9.6 × ₹3.923 = ₹37.66, C1 wick ₹5.90, amber lidded jar ₹47.20 → ₹156.89; × 600 units = ₹94,134.24. Two-arm trial: 3 kg of wax as 2 × 1 kg + 2 × 500 g = ₹1,796, three 100 gm Jasmine bottles = ₹1,290, five packs of five amber jars = ₹1,180, fifty C1 wicks = ₹295 → ₹4,561, ₹190.04 per jar, 4.85% of the 600-candle batch; twelve retained units ₹1,882.68 (2.0%). Lidding across 600 units: ₹17,700 at ₹29.50, ₹28,320 at ₹47.20, ₹56,640 at ₹94.40; covers across 600 units ₹4,956 in packaging paper and ₹13,452 in corrugated boxes. Headspace estimates: circular area × assumed ullage, using each page's stated diameter as an internal diameter — 6 cm × 1 cm = 28.27 ml, 6 cm × 1.5 cm = 42.41 ml, 6.5 cm × 1 cm = 33.18 ml, 10 cm × 1 cm = 78.54 ml; the comparison room is an assumed 3 m × 4 m × 2.75 m = 33 m³ = 33,000 litres. All of those geometric figures are this guide's arithmetic on stated outer dimensions plus stated assumptions — they are not published specifications. Stated specifications as published on product pages: 200 ml Salsa jar "The 200ml capacity provides ample space for crafting beautiful votive or single-wick candles" and, on the colour variants, "Pairs well with C2 Eco Wicks", with the 63 mm lug cap appearing in the title only; Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid "Capacity: 120 gm", "6 cm diameter, 6.5 cm height", body text describing a black shiny jar with a golden lid; Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) "150g fill capacity", "Height 8cm, outer diameter 7cm", "Base diameter Approximately 6.5 cm", "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C"; Black Glass Jar with Black Lid "Fill capacity: ~150 gm", "Height (with lid): Approx. 8 cm Diameter (outer rim): Approx. 7 cm Base diameter: Approx. 6.5 cm", "Safe for hot-pour up to 85°C", body text describing a golden metal lid; Apothecary jar "Fill capacity: ~500 g - 700 g (2 sizes)" and "Safe for hot-pour up to 85°C"; Eco Soy CSI 400 melt point "100°F (37.8°C)"; Luxury Soy Wax Chunks load 8–13% of total wax weight with 10% recommended, add 80–90°C, pour 70–80°C, cure minimum 48 hours ideally 1–2 weeks before burn testing. Most CSI jars state capacity in ml rather than grams — weigh one filled jar rather than converting. Planning assumptions labelled in-text: fragrance load as a percentage of finished candle weight (120 g at 8% = 110.4 g wax + 9.6 g oil); a planning allowance of about 5% for spills and top-ups; a 14-day cure before the trial starts; two arms of twelve; checkpoints at weeks 6, 12 and 24; a four-hour equilibration with both jars open before any blind round; a 0–3 surface score and a 1–5 throw scale — all of these are this guide's chosen method, not a published standard. No fragrance-retention percentage, seal specification, ageing rate, migration rate, percentage-loss figure or accelerated-to-real-time conversion appears anywhere on this page, because no CSI jar, lid or wax page states a storage instruction and none of the 107 fragrance-oil pages states a shelf life, expiry, storage temperature or storage instruction. Diwali 2026 is 8 November 2026. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.