Strong Fresh Fragrance Oils for Candle Making
Aktie
Is a page's strength claim evidence? It is the supplier's description of its own product — useful, and better than silence, but it is not a test result and not comparable between brands. The only fresh oil in the range with published customer reviews is Blue Ocean, with two, both five-star.
Does a higher load make a stronger candle? Only inside the stated ceiling, and it is the last lever, not the first. Cure and wick are free; load costs ₹12.27 to ₹66.08 more per 200 g candle depending on the oil. One page here even states "strong throw at lower loads" and caps its recommendation at 9%.
So how do I actually find a strong fresh oil? Buy two or three candidates, pour them at one load in one wax with one wick, cure the full window and burn them blind in the same room on the same day. That test costs about ₹1,330.86 and is the only comparison that applies to your candle.
What each page actually claims
Start with what exists. Every CSI fresh oil page except one carries a line describing how the fragrance performs — sometimes labelled "Strength", sometimes "Projection", occasionally both. These lines are worth reading closely and worth quoting exactly, because paraphrasing them is how a supplier's description quietly turns into a claim about your candle. The table reproduces them verbatim, alongside the stated base note, which is the part of a composition that is still working three hours into a burn.
| Oil | What the page states about strength | Stated base — what is left late in a burn | Oil in a 200 g candle at 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Ocean | "Strength Strong - excellent cold and hot throw in candles and wax melts" | "Driftwood, musk - warm, grounding, soothing depth" | ₹79.04 |
| Retailer-inspired woody-aromatic | "Projection Strong - room-filling, commanding, unmistakable" | "Teakwood, Cedarwood, Musk - settles into a rich, masculine, musky-wood base that lingers for hours" | ₹140.80 |
| Retailer-inspired aquatic-woody | "Projection Strong - clean and present without causing headaches" | "Cedarwood, Musk - settles into a smooth woody-musky base" | ₹190.40 |
| Designer-inspired icy marine | "Projection High-impact - cool, far-reaching" | "Ambergris, Musk, Agarwood, Vetiver - settles into a smooth, clean, woody-amber dry-down" | ₹145.28 |
| Designer-inspired aquatic-fruity | "Projection High-impact - fresh, far-reaching" | "Ambergris, Musk, Agarwood, Vanilla - settles into a smooth, slightly sweet ambered dry-down" | ₹264.32 |
| Eucalyptus Spearmint | "Strength Moderate to strong - clean, energising throw" | Single note; no pyramid published | ₹49.09 |
| Sage and Cedarwood | "Fragrance Strength: Moderate to strong, providing a subtle but noticeable throw" | Single note; "warm, woody cedar undertones" | ₹82.69 |
| Mint Sandalwood | "Projection Moderate-to-high - cool then creamy, a fresh-woody trail that lasts" | "Sandalwood, White Musk, Amber - a creamy, lasting woody dry-down" | ₹79.98 |
| Pomegranate Splash | "Projection Excellent - bright, energetic, quick-diffusing" | "Soft Musk, Sugar Crystals - settles into a clean musky-sweet trail" | ₹63.84 |
| Cucumber Green Tea | Not stated | "Base Notes: Clean musk, light woods" | ₹53.24 |
Three observations, and none of them is a ranking. First, the two vocabularies do not belong to the same scale: "Strength" appears on pages written for candle makers and "Projection" on pages written for perfumers, where it describes how far a scent travels from skin. Reading "High-impact" projection as a promise of hot throw is a translation the page never made. Second, every oil that uses "Strong" has a woody or musky base — driftwood and musk, teakwood and cedarwood, cedarwood and musk — which is consistent with how fresh accords behave: the bright part lifts, and whatever sits under it is what keeps working. Third, the two cheapest oils in the family claim the least. "Moderate to strong, providing a subtle but noticeable throw" is a page declining to oversell itself, and that is worth something at the buying stage.
Four kinds of evidence, ranked
"Strong" can honestly mean four different things, and they are not equally reliable. Ranking them is the most useful thing this page can do, because it tells you what to look at first and what to discount. The fifth row is the only one that answers the question for your candle, and it is the only one you have to pay for.
| Evidence | What it is | What it cannot tell you | What exists in this family |
|---|---|---|---|
| The stated strength word | The supplier's own description of the oil | Nothing comparable — no scale, no method, no units | Nine of ten pages state one; three say "Strong" |
| The stated load ceiling | How much oil the blend and the wax will carry | How much scent you get per gram; headroom is not power | Up to 10% on most; 7–9% on one; 7–10% "start at 7%" on four |
| The stated base note | The heaviest materials, which release slowest | Intensity — only persistence, and only as described | All three "Strong" oils name a woody or musky base |
| Published customer reviews | Verified buyers, written by people with nothing to sell | Anything about your wax, wick, jar or room | Two, both five-star, both on Blue Ocean |
| Your own cured burn test | Identical jars, one variable, judged after a full cure | Nothing relevant — this is the answer for your candle | Costs about ₹1,330.86 for a three-oil comparison |
It is worth being precise about the review row, because two is a small number and pretending otherwise would be the easiest lie on this page. Across all ten in-stock fresh oils there are exactly two published customer reviews, both on Blue Ocean: one verified buyer calls it "Fresh and soothing" and another "Good fragrance 👍". Neither mentions throw. That is real evidence that people bought it and liked it, and it is not evidence that it is the strongest fresh oil in India. Elsewhere in the CSI catalogue customers do write about throw — a British Rose buyer describes finding "strong fragrance in cold throw and hot throw", a Lavender buyer says "Cold through and hot though both are perfect", a Woody Oud buyer reports "strong performance in candles" — which is what published throw evidence looks like when it exists. In the fresh family, it does not yet.
The three oils that claim "Strong"
These three are here for one reason: their pages use the word, unqualified. That is a selection rule, not an endorsement of performance, and it is stated as such throughout. Each table shows every listed pack, its price per 100 g and how many 200 g candles at 8% — 16 g of oil each — the pack pours.
| Size | Price | Per 100g | 200 g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm (sold out) | ₹93.22 | ₹621.47 | ≈0 |
| 50 gm | ₹247 | ₹494 | ≈3 |
| 100 gm | ₹495 | ₹495 | ≈6 |
| 500 gm | ₹2,478 | ₹495.60 | ≈31 |
| 1 kg | ₹4,956 | ₹495.60 | ≈62 |
| Size | Price | Per 100g | 200 g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50g | ₹440 | ₹880 | ≈3 |
| 100g | ₹880 | ₹880 | ≈6 |
| 500g | ₹4,400 | ₹880 | ≈31 |
| 1kg | ₹8,800 | ₹880 | ≈62 |
| Size | Price | Per 100g | 200 g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15g (sold out) | ₹199 | ₹1,326.67 | ≈0 |
| 50g (sold out) | ₹599 | ₹1,198 | ≈3 |
| 100g | ₹1,190 | ₹1,190 | ≈6 |
| 500g (sold out) | ₹5,890 | ₹1,178 | ≈31 |
| 1kg (sold out) | ₹11,220 | ₹1,122 | ≈62 |
Headroom is not strength
The most common mistake in this whole subject is treating the stated load ceiling as a strength rating, so that a "10%" oil sounds stronger than a "7–9%" one. It is not a rating at all — it is a formulation limit describing how much oil that blend and that wax will carry without separating, sweating or spoiling the burn. Two oils at the same 10% ceiling can smell completely different in the same jar, and the page that recommends 7–9% does so while stating "strong throw at lower loads". What the ceiling genuinely gives you is a documented route upward if a cured jar reads quiet, and the table prices that route.
| Oil | Stated soy ceiling | Oil at 8% (16 g) | Oil at the ceiling | Cost of using the headroom |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eucalyptus Spearmint | Up to 10% | ₹49.09 | ₹61.36 | +₹12.27 |
| Cucumber Green Tea | 8–10% (stated per pound of wax) | ₹53.24 | ₹66.55 | +₹13.31 |
| Pomegranate Splash | 8–10% | ₹63.84 | ₹79.80 | +₹15.96 |
| Blue Ocean | Up to 10% | ₹79.04 | ₹98.80 | +₹19.76 |
| Mint Sandalwood | 7–10%, start at 7% | ₹79.98 | ₹99.98 | +₹20.00 |
| Sage and Cedarwood | Up to 10% | ₹82.69 | ₹103.37 | +₹20.68 |
| Retailer-inspired woody-aromatic | 7–9%, "strong throw at lower loads" | ₹140.80 | ₹158.40 | +₹17.60 |
| Designer-inspired icy marine | 7–10%, start at 7% | ₹145.28 | ₹181.60 | +₹36.32 |
| Retailer-inspired aquatic-woody | 8–10% | ₹190.40 | ₹238 | +₹47.60 |
| Designer-inspired aquatic-fruity | 7–10%, start at 7% | ₹264.32 | ₹330.40 | +₹66.08 |
Across a hundred candles that last column becomes ₹1,227.20 to ₹6,608 of extra fragrance spend, for a change that may or may not be audible after a proper cure. And it is capped twice over: the oil's ceiling and the wax's. CSI 464 states up to 10%, Luxury Soy Wax Chunks state 8–13% with 10% recommended and CSI 468 states up to 13% — but an oil page capped at 9% caps the candle at 9% whatever the wax allows. Pour the smaller of the two numbers.
Making your own evidence
Since no published figure compares two fresh oils, the comparison has to be made. The design below is deliberately small and deliberately strict: three oils, one wax, one wick, one load, one jar, one room, one day. Everything except the oil is held constant, which is the only way the result can be attributed to the oil. Nine 150 g jars, three per oil, burned blind.
The whole comparison costs ₹1,330.86 in materials before glass: ₹899.40 of oil bought, ₹630.19 of wax at the listed kilo rate for 1,242 g and ₹53.10 of wicks, less the ₹251.83 of oil left unused in the three bottles. Against a 1 kg bottle of the wrong scent at ₹4,956, or a season of candles a customer describes as faint, it is the cheapest number on this page. Add nine Black Matte Glass Jars at ₹70.80 each if you want the test to look like the product.
Buying on evidence, not adjectives
Put the four evidence types together and the fresh family sorts into a buying order that has nothing to do with price. It is worth saying plainly what this table is: a ranking of how much you can know before you pour, not a ranking of how strong the candles will be. The last column is the honest recommendation that follows.
| Oil | Stated strength | Reviews | Measured flash point | What to do with it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Ocean | "Strong" | 2, both 5★ | 143°C (290°F) | The best-evidenced strength claim in the family — test it first |
| Eucalyptus Spearmint | "Moderate to strong" | None | 199°C | Cheapest gram and fullest spec sheet — the control in any test |
| Sage and Cedarwood | "Moderate to strong" | None | 190°C | Buy at 500 gm; a cedar base is what persists in a green scent |
| Retailer-inspired woody-aromatic | "Strong" | None | Not published | Test at its stated 7%, not at 9% — the page says lower works |
| Retailer-inspired aquatic-woody | "Strong" | None | Not published | 100 g only — sample it, do not build a line on it yet |
| Mint Sandalwood | "Moderate-to-high" | None | Not published | Start at 7%; expect cream-to-amber toning in white wax |
| Pomegranate Splash | "Excellent … quick-diffusing" | None | Not published | "Quick-diffusing" is a claim about speed, not persistence |
| Designer-inspired icy marine | "High-impact" | None | Not published | Perfume-grade copy; start at 7% and judge in wax |
| Designer-inspired aquatic-fruity | "High-impact" | None | Not published | Dearest in the family; test in a 120 g or 150 g jar first |
| Cucumber Green Tea | Not stated | None | Not published | A blank is not weakness — but every question is yours to answer |
One last honest note on what CSI will and will not tell you. We publish what each page states, we will send the SDS and IFRA documentation on request through WhatsApp, and we will tell you which packs are in stock this week. We will not tell you that an oil is the strongest in India, we will not publish a throw score, and we will not convert a marketing adjective into a specification. If a supplier gives you a strength ranking with numbers and no method, ask what the method was. The broader checklist for judging a supplier is in how to choose a reliable fragrance oil supplier.
CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies candle-making raw materials; it does not manufacture fragrance oil and does not sell finished candles. The easy version of this page would rank ten oils from strongest to weakest and sell the top three. We cannot do that honestly, because no throw measurement exists for any of them — so instead this page counts the claims, counts the reviews (two, on one oil), and prices the test that would actually answer the question. A ranking we invented would sell more oil this month and cost us the customer next month.
Every strength line, load, cure window, flash point, note and colour statement quoted here is verbatim from that product's own page in September 2026, and each links to the page, which is always authoritative. Nothing has been paraphrased into a stronger claim than the page makes. The two Blue Ocean reviews are published on its listing; the British Rose, Lavender, Woody Oud and Roasted Coffee comments quoted as examples of throw feedback are published on those listings. Only three fresh oils publish a measured flash point, and the shared line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" is reported as a threshold, never as a measurement. Stated loads are formulation limits, not regulatory limits.
For the SDS or IFRA documentation on a specific oil, current stock on a specific pack, or bulk pricing above the listed 1 kg size, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.
Frequently asked questions
- Best fresh fragrance oils for soy candles
- Buy fresh fragrance oils for candle making
- Best fragrance oils for strong hot throw
- Does fragrance oil quality affect hot throw?
- What is cold throw in candle making?
- Best fresh fragrance oils for candle making in India
- Wrong wick size is killing your hot throw
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; three longer reviews are shortened with an ellipsis and otherwise unedited.
Figures verified September 2026: Every strength line, projection line, base note, load, cure window, flash point and colour statement is quoted verbatim from the named product page; blanks are shown as blanks and nothing has been paraphrased into a stronger claim. The count of ten in-stock fresh oils covers the oils whose page states a scent family containing "Fresh" plus Cucumber Green Tea, whose page states no family; a designer-inspired citrus-marine oil is listed but sold out in all three sizes. Three pages state "Strong" unqualified (Blue Ocean, the retailer-inspired woody-aromatic, the retailer-inspired aquatic-woody); two state "High-impact"; two state "Moderate to strong"; one "Moderate-to-high"; one "Excellent - bright, energetic, quick-diffusing"; one states nothing. Published customer reviews across the family: two, both five-star, both on Blue Ocean. Measured flash points published in this family: Eucalyptus Spearmint 199°C, Sage and Cedarwood 190°C, Blue Ocean 143°C (290°F); the shared line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" is a threshold, not a measurement. Prices used: Blue Ocean 50 gm ₹247, 500 gm ₹2,478, 1 kg ₹4,956; retailer-inspired woody-aromatic 50g ₹440, 500g ₹4,400, 1kg ₹8,800 (flat at ₹8.80 a gram); retailer-inspired aquatic-woody 100g ₹1,190, the only pack in stock; Eucalyptus Spearmint 50 gm ₹212.40, 1 kg ₹3,068; Sage and Cedarwood 500 gm ₹2,584.20; Cucumber Green Tea 500 gm ₹1,663.80; Pomegranate Splash 100g ₹399; Mint Sandalwood 1kg ₹4,999; designer-inspired icy marine 50g ₹454; designer-inspired aquatic-fruity 50g ₹826. Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 1 kg ₹507.40; Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) ₹59 per 10 (₹5.90 each), Thick (C2) ₹188.80 per 20 (₹9.44 each); Black Matte Glass Jar ₹354 per 5 (₹70.80 each). Assumptions: a 200 g candle at 8% is 184 g of wax plus 16 g of oil, at 10% 180 g plus 20 g, at 9% 182 g plus 18 g and at 7% 186 g plus 14 g; a 150 g candle at 8% is 138 g plus 12 g. Nine-jar test: three oils × three jars = 108 g of oil used from ₹899.40 of oil bought, 1,242 g of CSI 464 (₹630.19 at ₹0.5074/g) and nine C1 wicks (₹53.10); materials consumed ₹1,330.86 (₹899.40 of oil bought less ₹251.83 of oil left in the bottles, plus ₹630.19 of wax and ₹53.10 of wicks), glass excluded. Cure guidance of 14–21 days for soy containers reflects standard practice, not a product specification. CSI lists no 5 kg or 10 kg fragrance pack. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.