I Want to Make an Oud Candle That Survives Indian Summer Shipping Without Sweating — What Type of Wax and Fragrance Load Should I Start Testing?
शेयर करना
Which wax type should I test? The three container waxes whose pages publish numbers: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks (up to 13%, add 80–90°C, pour 70–80°C), Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 (up to 10%, melting point 80–90°C) and Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 (up to 13%, melting point 50–53°C, pour 58–60°C). Those melting points are the single biggest published difference between them.
Does a stated maximum mean the candle will be stable in summer? No. A stated load is the quantity the wax has been formulated to hold under the supplier's conditions. It says nothing about a sealed jar that has spent days somewhere warm. No CSI page publishes a sweating temperature, a softening temperature or a heat-stability figure, so the number has to come from your own sample.
So what do I actually buy first? 500 g each of the three waxes, 100 g of Woody Oud at ₹453.12, one pack of Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) and fifteen 70 g votives. Twelve jars poured, six kept warm, six kept cool, opened side by side.
- The straight answer
- Two ceilings — and why 10% wins
- What "sweating" is, and what CSI does not publish about it
- The three waxes worth heat-ageing
- What to buy for the trial
- The costed 12-jar trial
- Running the heat-age so it answers something
- If every jar sweats: the hardening levers CSI actually lists
- FAQ
Two ceilings — and why 10% wins
Fragrance load in this series is expressed the way CSI's own wax pages express it: a percentage of total wax weight. So 7% means seven grams of oil for every hundred grams of wax. If you are used to thinking of load as a share of the finished candle, the same pour reads slightly lower — 7% of wax weight is 6.54% of the finished candle, and 10% of wax weight is 9.09%. Neither convention is wrong. What is wrong is mixing them halfway through a spreadsheet, so pick one, write it at the top of the sheet, and keep it there.
Now the part that decides your oud candle. There are two published ceilings in play and they are not the same number. The wax page tells you how much oil that wax has been formulated to hold. The oil page tells you the range that oil is recommended at in candles. When they disagree — and for oud they nearly always do — you work to the lower figure. Not because the higher one is a lie, but because the higher one was written about a different variable.
| Oud oil | Stated candle load | Stated discolouration position | Smallest pack | Cost per gram at 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Woody Oud | 6–10% soy · 6–8% paraffin · cure 48–72 hrs | Page states no vanillin figure and no discolouration position | 15 gm ₹93.22 | ₹4.53 |
| White Royal Oud | 6–10% of total wax weight · "start at the lower end" | Page states no vanillin figure | 15gm ₹130 | ₹8.10 |
| Dark Vanilla Oud | 6–10% for candles · 10–15% for wax melts | Page states no vanillin figure | 15 gm ₹105.02 | ₹5.90 |
| Amber Oud Royal | Candles (Soy/Paraffin/Blends) 10% · "start at 7%" | Page states no vanillin figure | 100g ₹1,299 | ₹12.99 |
| Royal Oud | Candles (Soy / Paraffin / Blends) 10% | Page states no vanillin figure | 500 g ₹3,300 (100 g currently sold out) | ₹6.60 at 500 g |
| Midnight Bakhoor Royale | No candle percentage stated at all | Page states no vanillin figure | 100g ₹799 | ₹7.99 |
Look at the last row. Midnight Bakhoor Royale publishes no candle load, no flash point and no discolouration position. That is a genuinely quiet page, and this guide will not fill the gap for it by borrowing a figure from another oud. A silent page is not permission to assume 10%. If you want that oil in a summer candle, you own the entire test: start at 6% of wax weight, and treat every result as yours alone.
What "sweating" is, and what CSI does not publish about it
Sweating is the word makers use for beads or a film of fragrance oil appearing on the surface of a finished candle. Mechanically it is simple: a wax holds a certain quantity of oil in solution, and oil that is not in solution has to go somewhere. It migrates to the top and to the glass. Warmth makes the wax more mobile and makes the migration easier to see. That is why the complaint arrives in summer and almost never in January.
Here is the part that most guides skip. No CSI page — wax or oil — states a temperature at which sweating starts, a softening temperature, a heat-stability rating or a shelf life. The wax pages state a fragrance ceiling and, for three of them, a melting point and a pour temperature. The oil pages state a recommended load and a cure time. Nobody publishes "stable to X°C", and this guide is not going to invent one. That absence is exactly why the answer to your question is a sample set rather than a number.
| Question | Published by CSI? | Where it comes from | What you do about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| How much oil will this wax hold? | Yes, for three waxes | Wax product page: 13%, 10%, 13% | Take the lower of wax and oil figures as your cap |
| What load is this oud recommended at? | Yes, for most ouds | Oil product page: 6–10%, or "start at 7%" | Start at the bottom of the stated range |
| At what temperature does this wax soften? | No | Nothing stated on any wax page | Heat-age a sample and look at it |
| At what temperature does oil bead out? | No | Nothing stated on any oil page | Heat-age a sample and look at it |
| How long will a sealed jar hold its finish? | No — zero pages state a shelf life or storage instruction | Not published anywhere in the range | Keep a dated control jar from every batch you sell |
| What is the stated melting point? | Partly | CSI 468 50–53°C · CSI 464 80–90°C · Eco Soy CSI 400 100°F (37.8°C) · others not stated | Use it to rank candidates, not to predict the result |
One more honest note on transit, because it is half the question. Heat exposure in transit is a real and general condition in India — a sealed carton sits in vehicles, in sorting spaces and on doorsteps, and none of those are temperature-controlled. CSI publishes no shipping times, courier information or transit conditions, and this guide will not estimate them. What you can control is the candle: a formula that survives seven deliberate days of warmth on your own shelf is a formula with margin, and margin is the whole point.
The three waxes worth heat-ageing
CSI's wax collection holds fifteen waxes. For an oud container candle that has to hold a smooth finish, three of them are worth a trial slot because their pages publish the numbers you need to design a fair test — a stated load ceiling, and a stated temperature you can actually work to. The rest are not disqualified; they are simply unquantified, which means they would need their own full trial rather than a slot in this one.
| Wax | Stated load | Stated melting point | Stated pour | 500 g price | Wax in one 70 g votive @ 7% |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | 8–13%, 10% recommended | Not stated | 70–80°C (also stated 75–80°C) | ₹299 | 65.42 g = ₹39.19 |
| Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 | Up to 10% | 80–90°C | 80–90°C | ₹260 | 65.42 g = ₹33.19 |
| Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 | Up to 13% | 50–53°C | 58–60°C | ₹325 | 65.42 g = ₹42.52 |
| Eco Soy CSI 400 | Not stated | 100°F (37.8°C) | Not stated · "pour directly" after adding at 85°C | Not listed at 500 g — 1 kg ₹399 | 65.42 g = ₹26.10 |
| Natural Soy Pearl Wax | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not listed at 500 g — 1 kg ₹450 | 65.42 g = ₹29.44 |
Two numbers in that table deserve a second look. The first is CSI 468's 50–53°C melting point — by far the lowest stated figure among the three trial waxes, and the reason a coconut-soy candle behaves differently in a warm room than a straight soy one. The second is CSI 464's page stating melting point and pour temperature as the same 80–90°C band. That is the page's own wording and it is unusually high for a soy wax; quote it as the page's figure, write down the temperature your thermometer actually showed, and do not treat the two as interchangeable instructions.
What to buy for the trial
Four lines do the work. Three waxes at 500 g each — the smallest pack that comfortably covers four votives per wax with a wastage allowance — and one 100 g bottle of oud. Each card shows every listed pack, the price per kilo, and how many 70 g votives at 7% that pack would fill.
| Size | Price | Per 100g | 70 g votives @ 7% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹93.22 | ₹621.47 | ≈3 |
| 50 gm | ₹271.40 | ₹542.80 | ≈10 |
| 100 gm | ₹453.12 | ₹453.12 | ≈20 |
| 500 gm | ₹2,265.60 | ₹453.12 | ≈100 |
| 1 kg | ₹4,531.20 | ₹453.12 | ≈200 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 70 g votives @ 7% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹299 | ₹598 | ≈7 |
| 1 kg | ₹599 | ₹599 | ≈15 |
| 5 kg | ₹2,995 | ₹599 | ≈76 |
| 10 kg | ₹5,999 | ₹599.90 | ≈153 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 70 g votives @ 7% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹260 | ₹520 | ≈7 |
| 1 kg | ₹507.40 | ₹507.40 | ≈15 |
| 5 kg | ₹2,537 | ₹507.40 | ≈76 |
| 10 kg | ₹5,074 | ₹507.40 | ≈153 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 70 g votives @ 7% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹325 | ₹650 | ≈7 |
| 1 kg | ₹650 | ₹650 | ≈15 |
| 5 kg | ₹3,185 | ₹637 | ≈76 |
| 10 kg | ₹6,370 | ₹637 | ≈153 |
The costed 12-jar trial
Twelve votives is the smallest set that answers the question properly: three waxes × two loads × one warm jar and one cool control. The vessel is the White Matte Votive Jar 70 gram, whose page states a capacity of "~70g wax fill" — one of the few CSI jar pages that gives a gram figure rather than a millilitre one. Buy fifteen so you have three spares; a trial with no spare jar is a trial that stops when you drop one.
| Item | Pack | Price | What the trial consumes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | 500 g | ₹299 | 258.1 g for four votives (two at 7%, two at 10%) |
| Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 | 500 g | ₹260 | 258.1 g for four votives |
| Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 | 500 g | ₹325 | 258.1 g for four votives |
| Woody Oud Fragrance Oil | 100 gm | ₹453.12 | 65.66 g across all twelve votives |
| Eco Candle Wicks · Thin (C1) | 20 wicks | ₹118 | 12 wicks — one size only, held constant on purpose |
| White Matte Votive Jar 70 gram | Pack of 10 | ₹318.60 | 10 of the 12 jars |
| White Matte Votive Jar 70 gram | Pack of 5 | ₹159.30 | 2 more jars plus 3 spares |
| Candle Wick Stickers | 1 sheet · 40 | ₹100 | 12 stickers, so the wick is never the variable |
| Trial total | ₹2,033.02 | ₹169.42 per data point |
The wax and oil arithmetic, shown so you can change the numbers. Each 70 g votive at 7% of total wax weight is 65.42 g of wax and 4.58 g of oil. At 10% it is 63.64 g of wax and 6.36 g of oil. Four votives per wax — two at each load — therefore need 258.1 g of wax and 21.89 g of oil. Across three waxes that is 774.3 g of wax and 65.66 g of oil. Add a 4% planning allowance for spills, top-ups and the film left in the jug and you are budgeting 805.3 g of wax and 68.28 g of oil — comfortably inside three 500 g packs and one 100 g bottle.
Running the heat-age so it answers something
The design is deliberately dull: one variable pair, one control for every treated jar, and a written record. Cure first — you are testing a finished candle, not a fresh pour — then start the warm week.
If every jar sweats: the hardening levers CSI actually lists
Sometimes the honest result is that your chosen combination will not hold at any load you want to sell. Before you abandon the brief, there are three listed materials whose pages state a usage rate, plus one structural change that costs nothing. None of them comes with a stated heat-stability figure, so each one sends you back to the same twelve-jar layout — but at least you are changing one thing on purpose.
| Lever | What the page states | Price | What it changes in the trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microcrystalline Wax Slab | "Blend 1%–10% microcrystalline wax into your main wax base"; "For hardening blends: 1–5%"; melting point "High (varies by batch)" | 500g ₹149 · 1kg ₹299 | A blend additive. Adds a second variable, so run it at one rate only — start at the bottom of the stated hardening band |
| Vybar Additive | "Use at 0.5%-2% of total wax weight"; for soy "use at the lower end (0.5%-1%)"; add before fragrance and colour | 50g ₹156 · 100g ₹312 | Goes in before the oil, so it changes the pour sequence as well as the formula |
| Stearic Acid | "helps to create a clean and long-lasting burn" — no usage rate stated | 100 gram ₹57.82 · 200 gram ₹115.64 | Silent page, so you own the rate entirely. Keep it out of a first trial |
| Drop the load a point | Woody Oud's stated range starts at 6% | ₹0 — it saves ₹8.08 of oil per 70 g votive between 10% and 7% | The cheapest lever there is, and the one most makers try last |
Two things CSI does not list, so that you are not hunting for them: there is no UV inhibitor in the range, and no product anywhere in the catalogue is described as a heat stabiliser for candles. What CSI does list is fifteen waxes, three additives with published or absent usage rates, and the fragrance range itself — which is the other place to look. If the brief is "an oud candle for summer" rather than "this specific oud at 10%", then White Royal Oud at a stated 6–7% for background warmth is a different formula with a different risk profile, and it is allowed to be the answer. Which oud reads as most luxurious to an Indian buyer is discussed in white oud vs dark oud.
CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials, not finished candles. We would sell more oud and more wax by telling you that a 13% ceiling means a 13% candle. Instead this page tells you to work at 7% and cap at 10%, because the oil page says so and because we have no data on your summer — and a maker whose first oud collection comes back intact reorders, while a maker whose jars arrive beaded stops making candles.
Every price, pack size and specification here comes from live CSI stock in September 2026 and links to the product page, where current pricing is always authoritative. Fragrance loads, temperatures, melting points and cure times are quoted only where the product page states them, and where a page states nothing — Eco Soy CSI 400's fragrance ceiling, Natural Soy Pearl's specifications, Midnight Bakhoor Royale's candle percentage, Stearic Acid's usage rate — we say so rather than borrow a figure from a similar product. No page in the range states a shelf life, a storage instruction, a softening temperature or a heat-stability rating, so none appears here. Pages that mention IFRA are describing their own wording; documentation is supplied on request.
For bulk pricing above the listed packs, GST invoicing, MSDS or IFRA documentation, or help choosing between two waxes for a specific jar, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.
Frequently asked questions
- I want an oud candle with strong hot throw in a 200 g jar — should I choose the wick only after deciding the load?
- I want a rich sandalwood candle that smells strong but not smoky
- Why your candle is sweating fragrance oil
- Best fragrance oils for Indian summers
- Best oud fragrance oils for luxury candles
- Best temperature for adding fragrance oil to soy wax
- Best candle scents for summer in India
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; wording is unedited.
Figures verified September 2026: Load convention — all percentages are of total wax weight, as CSI's own wax pages phrase it; the finished-candle equivalents (7% of wax weight = 6.54% of the finished candle; 10% = 9.09%) are given where a reader may use the other convention. Stated fragrance loads: Woody Oud 6–10% soy / 6–8% paraffin, cure 48–72 hours; White Royal Oud 6–10% of total wax weight; Dark Vanilla Oud 6–10% candles / 10–15% wax melts; Amber Oud Royal "Candles (Soy/Paraffin/Blends) 10%" and "start at 7%"; Royal Oud "Candles (Soy / Paraffin / Blends) 10%"; Midnight Bakhoor Royale states no candle percentage. Stated wax specifications: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 8–13% of total wax weight with 10% recommended, add 80–90°C, pour 70–80°C (75–80°C in the same page's details table), cure minimum 48 hours ideally 1–2 weeks before burn testing, melting point not stated; Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 up to 10%, melting point 80–90°C, pour temperature 80–90°C; Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 up to 13%, melting point 50–53°C, pour 58–60°C; Eco Soy CSI 400 melt point 100°F (37.8°C), fragrance add 80–90°C / 85°C with 2 minutes' stirring, no fragrance ceiling stated; Natural Soy Pearl Wax and Soy Pillar Wax state none. Additive usage rates as stated: Microcrystalline Wax Slab 1%–10% blend, 1–5% for hardening blends, melting point "High (varies by batch)"; Vybar 0.5%–2% of total wax weight, 0.5%–1% for soy, added before fragrance and colour; Stearic Acid states no usage rate. Loads and rates are formulation limits, not regulatory limits, and no page in the range states a shelf life, storage instruction, softening temperature or heat-stability figure. Prices used: Woody Oud 15 gm ₹93.22, 50 gm ₹271.40, 100 gm ₹453.12, 500 gm ₹2,265.60, 1 kg ₹4,531.20; White Royal Oud 15gm ₹130, 100gm ₹810; Dark Vanilla Oud 15 gm ₹105.02, 100 gm ₹590; Amber Oud Royal 100g ₹1,299; Royal Oud 500 g ₹3,300, 1kg ₹6,400 (100 g sold out); Midnight Bakhoor Royale 100g ₹799; Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 500 g ₹299, 1 kg ₹599; Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 500 g ₹260, 1 kg ₹507.40; Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 500 g ₹325, 1 kg ₹650, 5 kg ₹3,185 (₹637/kg); Eco Soy CSI 400 1 kg ₹399; Natural Soy Pearl Wax 1 kg ₹450; Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) 20 wicks ₹118; White Matte Votive Jar 70 gram pack of 10 ₹318.60 and pack of 5 ₹159.30 (page states "Capacity: ~70g wax fill"); Candle Wick Stickers 40 ₹100; Pen Thermometer ₹354; Candle Making Weighing Scale ₹354; Microcrystalline Wax Slab 500g ₹149, 1kg ₹299; Vybar 50g ₹156, 100g ₹312; Stearic Acid 100 gram ₹57.82, 200 gram ₹115.64. Trial total ₹2,033.02 = ₹299 + ₹260 + ₹325 + ₹453.12 + ₹118 + ₹318.60 + ₹159.30 + ₹100, divided by 12 jars = ₹169.42 per data point. Planning assumptions stated in-text: a 4% wastage allowance on wax and oil, a 14-day cure before the warm week, and a seven-day heat-age against a matched cool control. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.