My Candle Is Fine at 8% Fragrance Load but Sweats at 10% — Should I Accept 8% as the Practical Maximum Even if the Wax Supplier Claims 12% Capacity?
शेयर करना
Doesn't the wax hold 12%? Not CSI 464. Its page states "Up to 10%", and no CSI wax page states 12% in the text we captured. A 12% claim from another supplier is that supplier's statement about their wax, and even then the lower of the wax and oil maxima governs.
What does the tie-breaker involve? Six candles from one bag and bottle: three at 8% and three at 9%. Two of each are burned blind, one at day 7 and one at day 14; every candle is blotted for sweat at day 1, 3, 7, 14 and 28. 76.5 g of oil, 823.5 g of wax, ₹1,402.14 of materials in the worked example.
What is 8% worth? Against 9%, it saves 1.5 g of oil per 150 g candle, ₹6.50 of material at Japanese Cherry Blossom's 1 kg price once the extra wax is counted, and ₹3,250.95 per 500 candles.
Two ceilings, and why "12%" does not reach your CSI 464
Every candle has two stated limits: the wax maker's maximum and the oil page's candle maximum. The lower one governs, and neither is a regulatory limit; they are formulation limits, statements of the most each maker says their product takes in general. Your candle then has a third limit that no page states: the practical maximum, the highest load at which this oil stays in this wax in your jar and your conditions. Your 10% sweat has just shown you that the practical maximum sits below the stated one. The table sets out where a "12%" claim lands against the waxes CSI lists, with Japanese Cherry Blossom as the oil.
| Wax | Wax page maximum | Governing with this oil | Conservative reading, % of total | Is 12% of total inside it? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 | "Up to 10%" (basis not stated) | 10% | 9.09% | No: outside the stated ceiling on either reading |
| Premium Coconut Soy Wax CSI 468 | "Up to 13%" (basis not stated) | 13% | 11.50% | Only on the total-weight reading; 12% of total is 13.64% of wax, past a 13% wax-weight reading |
| Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | "up to 13%"; FAQ: "13% of total wax weight" | 13% | 11.50% | As CSI 468: at or past the edge, depending on the reading |
| Another supplier's wax "rated 12%" | Their statement, basis unknown | 12% | 10.71% | At their ceiling at best; your sweat test still decides |
| Other CSI waxes (Eco Soy CSI 400, Natural Soy Pearl, virgin coconut soy) | No ceiling stated in the text we captured | Work inside the oil page and test | — | No stated basis to judge it by |
So the 12% question has a short answer in CSI 464: it is not a rung you may test, because it exceeds the governing ceiling. In CSI 468 or Chunks, 12% is within the stated 13% on CSI's total-weight convention but past it on the conservative reading, which is why we would not treat it as a planning load there either. Why a supplier's capacity figure is not an instruction to use it (and why max is not best) is the job of the supplier's-12% explainer. This page takes the narrower question: your own candles have already drawn the line between 8% and 10%, so where exactly is it?
The stated maximum and the practical maximum
A stated maximum is written for the wax, or the oil, in general. The practical maximum is specific: this oil, this wax, this jar, this wick, this method and the rooms your candles live in. It can sit well below the stated figure, and a sweat at 10% while 8% stays dry is exactly what that looks like. Before you accept the line, rule out the other readings of the same pattern.
| # | Reading | Rules it in | Rules it out | Where it is tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Practical maximum for this oil in this wax is between 8% and 10% | Same bag, bottle, method and storage for both loads | The two loads were poured on different days or stored apart | The tie-breaker, below |
| 2 | The 10% batch met harsher conditions, not a harsher load | 10% was poured or stored at a different time or place | Both loads sat side by side | 3222 (heat log) |
| 3 | The 10% was not 10% of total | Oil measured by volume or added on top of wax weight | Batch sheet shows grams on total weight | 3233 (basis audit) |
| 4 | The 10% batch was mixed or added differently | Different add temperature or stir time on the sheet | Identical method written down | 3221 (four-jar split) |
| 5 | This oil is the one that sweats; others in the range hold 10% | Other scents at 10% stay dry beside it | Several scents sweat at 10% | 3231 (per-oil card) |
If rows 2 to 4 are ruled out, the line between 8% and 10% is real, and the full five-rung bracket that locates an oil's practical capacity from scratch is the sweat bracket. You do not need all of it. You already have the answer at both ends; the tie-breaker tests the only rung in between.
One customer's review of British Rose puts the lower-load case in their own words: "you can go for the minimum percentage in candle still it will give amazing smell". That is one maker's experience with one oil, not CSI data, but it is the question the tie-breaker asks of your oil.
The 9% tie-breaker: blind burns plus sweat checks
The tie-breaker changes the load and nothing else. Six candles, one session, one wax bag, one oil bottle, one jar type and your production wick; oil added and poured at the wax page's temperatures (CSI 464: pour 80–90°C, at 80–85°C in the 150 g jar); cooled side by side; stored where your 10% candles sweated. The candles are coded on the base by a helper, so nobody who scores them knows which load is which.
| Load | Oil + wax per candle | Burned at day 7 | Burned at day 14 | Kept unburned to day 28 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8% (8.70% of wax) | 12 g + 138 g | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| 9% (9.89% of wax) | 13.5 g + 136.5 g | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Total | 76.5 g of oil + 823.5 g of wax | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Sweat result | Blind result | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| 9% oily at any check; 8% dry | Any | Lock 8%. 9% is past this oil's practical maximum here. |
| All dry | 9% wins 3 or 4 of 4 | 9% earns its extra 1.5 g of oil; use 9%, keep watching retained units through warm weather |
| All dry | 9% wins 2 of 4 or fewer | The difference is not reliably noticed. Lock 8% and bank the saving |
| 8% oily too | Any | 8% was never "fine"; conditions or method changed. Back to the hub's split |
| Judges disagree with each other every time | Mixed | No verdict on throw; lock 8%, the cheaper and drier default |
Why three of four and not two? Two of four is what guessing looks like. Asking 9% to win clearly is deliberately tough on the higher load, because the costs are uneven: 9% puts 12.5% more oil in every candle and sits closer to the load that already sweated. When in doubt, the drier, cheaper load wins the tie.
| Item | Size bought | Used | Cost of what is used |
|---|---|---|---|
| Japanese Cherry Blossom Fragrance Oil | 100 g, ₹500.00 (₹5.00/g) | 76.5 g (23.5 g left) | ₹382.50 |
| Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 | 1 kg, ₹507.40 (₹0.51/g) | 823.5 g (176.5 g left) | ₹417.84 |
| Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) | Pack of 10, ₹944.00 | 6 jars | ₹566.40 |
| Eco Candle Wicks, Thin (C1), or your wick | 10 wicks, ₹59.00 | 6 wicks | ₹35.40 |
| Tie-breaker, materials | 6 candles | ₹1,402.14 |
Worked-example costs exclude labour, freight, packaging and GST. From nothing, the cash outlay is ₹2,010.40; if you own the wax, jars, wicks and your scent, it is nothing. The four burned candles are spent; the two unburned ones are retained samples, not waste.
What locking 8% is worth
Per 150 g candle, 8% uses 12 g of oil, 9% uses 13.5 g and 10% uses 15 g. At Japanese Cherry Blossom's 1 kg price (₹4.84 a gram), 8% instead of 9% saves ₹7.26 of oil per candle; the wax fills the 1.5 g, so the net material saving is ₹6.50. Against 10% the oil saving is ₹14.53 and the net saving ₹13.00.
| Load | Oil per candle | Candles per 1 kg of oil | Material cost per candle | Saving at 8%, per 500 candles |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8% | 12 g | 83 | ₹228.43 | — |
| 9% | 13.5 g | 74 | ₹234.93 | ₹3,250.95 |
| 10% | 15 g | 66 | Sweats in your run: not a production option | ₹6,501.90 |
Those savings only count if 8% still sells. That is why the tie-breaker asks blind noses, not the spreadsheet, to decide. If 9% wins clearly, pay the difference gladly; if it does not, the saving is the reward for testing.
What not to buy to hold 10%
If you already have stock poured at 10% that is sweating, that is a rework question with its own maths: the remelt-and-dilute post. And if every scent in your range is being asked to live at one house load, the per-oil practical-maximum card is 3231.
Products for the tie-breaker
Four items, all as your 8% and 10% candles used them: the oil, the wax, the jar and the wick. Chosen on what the pages state, price per unit and stock on 26 September 2026; CSI has no measured sweat or throw data, so nothing is ranked on performance. The oil table shows every size with 150 g candles at 8% (12 g) and at 9% (13.5 g).
| Size | Price | Per gram | 150 g candles at 8% | 150 g candles at 9% |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 g | ₹104.00 | ₹6.93 | 1 | 1 |
| 50 g | ₹270.00 | ₹5.40 | 4 | 3 |
| 100 g | ₹500.00 | ₹5.00 | 8 | 7 |
| 500 g | ₹2,500.00 | ₹5.00 | 41 | 37 |
| 1 kg | ₹4,842.00 | ₹4.84 | 83 | 74 |
| Size | Price | Per unit | What it covers here |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹260.00 | ₹0.52 per g | not enough for six test candles (823.5 g) |
| 1 kg | ₹507.40 | ₹0.51 per g | the tie-breaker, with 176.5 g left |
| 5 kg | ₹2,537.00 | ₹0.51 per g | the first run at the locked load |
| 10 kg | ₹5,074.00 | ₹0.51 per g | production at the locked load |
| Size | Price | Per unit | What it covers here |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pack of 10 | ₹944.00 | ₹94.40 | the six tie-breaker jars, four spare |
| Pack of 20 | ₹1,888.00 | ₹94.40 | the same per jar; production |
| Size | Price | Per unit | What it covers here |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thin (C1) / 10 | ₹59.00 | ₹5.90 | the six test candles, if C1 is your wick |
| Thick (C2) / 10 | ₹94.40 | ₹9.44 | only if C2 is your production wick |
CandleMakingSuppliesIndia sells the oil, wax, jars and wicks named here, and does not sell finished candles. This page still recommends the load that uses less of our oil when blind noses cannot tell the difference, tells you the Japanese Cherry Blossom 500 g saves nothing per gram over the 100 g, and argues against switching to our dearer wax to keep a load you may not need.
Every price and per-gram figure was verified on CSI's live store on 26 September 2026; every size shown in a pick table is in stock on that date. Load and temperature wording is quoted from the product pages; where a page is silent in the text we captured (cure, vanillin, the basis of a ceiling), we say so.
The tie-breaker design, the three-of-four rule, the day-28 check and the ranking of alternative readings are editorial judgement; the review quoted is one customer's experience; and CSI publishes no measured sweat or throw data. For bulk pricing, GST invoicing, and MSDS and IFRA documentation on request, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.
Frequently asked questions
- My Soy Candle Looked Perfect After Pouring but Developed Tiny Oil Droplets on the Surface Three Days Later — Is the Wax Rejecting the Fragrance Oil?
- My Vanilla Candle Sweats at 10% but My Lavender Candle Does Not — Should Every Fragrance Have Its Own Maximum Practical Load?
- My Soy Wax Manufacturer Says the Wax Holds 10% Fragrance but My Candles Still Sweat — What Else Determines Actual Fragrance Compatibility?
- My Candle Sweats with One Fragrance but Not Another at Exactly the Same Percentage — Why Can Wax Hold Different Fragrance Oils Differently?
- My Candle Starts Sweating Fragrance Oil Only During Hot Weather — Does That Mean My Fragrance Load Is Too High for Indian Summer Conditions?
- Can I Fix a Sweating Candle Batch by Remelting It and Adding More Wax or Should the Batch Be Reformulated Completely?
- I Need a Candle Formula That Can Handle Indian Summer Storage Without Sweating — How Should I Select Wax and Fragrance Load Before Commercial Production?
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on the product pages named on each card — British Rose Fragrance Oil, Cinnamon Vanilla, Gardenia Fragrance Oil, Jasmine Fragrance Oil, Lavender Fragrance Oil, Soy Pillar Wax (Specially made for Pillar and Designer Candles). They are general product reviews, not assessments of the diagnostic advice on this page. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me and wording is unedited. "Verified buyer" appears only on reviews Judge.me recorded as verified — Tina Raha, Sraddha, Punam Sarma, Dipali Sable. The reviews from Emma Bechara, S.A. are published but not recorded as verified, and carry no badge. Reviews below five stars are included as published, not filtered out.
Figures verified 26 September 2026, CSI live pricing: Japanese Cherry Blossom Fragrance Oil 15 g ₹104.00 (₹6.93/g), 50 g ₹270.00 (₹5.40/g), 100 g ₹500.00 (₹5.00/g), 500 g ₹2,500.00 (₹5.00/g), 1 kg ₹4,842.00 (₹4.84/g); Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 500 g ₹260.00, 1 kg ₹507.40, 5 kg ₹2,537.00, 10 kg ₹5,074.00; Premium Coconut Soy Wax CSI 468 10 kg ₹6,370.00; Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) Pack of 10 ₹944.00, Pack of 20 ₹1,888.00; Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) 10 ₹59.00, Thick (C2) 10 ₹94.40. All in stock on 26 September 2026. Per gram = price ÷ grams; per jar or wick = pack price ÷ units; two decimals. Worked costs use the exact per-gram price, then round.
Non-price figures: load is a percentage of total candle weight (150 g at 8% = 12 g oil + 138 g wax; 9% = 13.5 g + 136.5 g; 10% = 15 g + 135 g). Ceilings are as stated on the product pages (CSI 464 up to 10%; CSI 468 up to 13%; Chunks up to 13%, FAQ "13% of total wax weight"; Japanese Cherry Blossom 6–13% for candles) and are formulation limits, not regulatory limits; conversions between total-weight and wax-weight readings are shown. The tie-breaker design, the three-of-four rule and the 0–3 sniff scale are editorial judgement; day-7 judging is common practice. Costs exclude labour, freight, packaging and GST. Diwali 8 November 2026 is a calendar fact.