One Fragrance Works Perfectly in My Soy Wax but Another Has Weak Hot Throw at the Same Percentage — Why?
शेयर करना
What is the first thing to check? Each oil's own page. Fresh Strawberries states "6-9% of total wax weight for candles". Japanese Cherry Blossom states "6-13% for candles". Your 8% is one point below one oil's ceiling and five below the other's.
What is the second thing? The stated base line. Amber, musk, woods and vanilla in the base describe a blend still working in hour two. A base of "Tangy mandarin" describes a bright, short arc. Both are legitimate; they need different jars and different expectations.
How do I prove it? Four 120 g jars — two per oil, everything else identical, burned at day 7 and day 21 — ₹651.40. Then, if you want each oil at its own best load, six more jars for about ₹927.22.
Why the same percentage is not the same dose
Almost every maker settles on a number — 8%, usually — and applies it across the range. It is efficient, it simplifies the batch sheet, and it is the right place to start. But it quietly assumes that all oils are formulated to sit at the same load, and the pages themselves say otherwise. Eighty-one of CSI's 107 fragrance-oil pages state at least one usage percentage, and the candle figures among them span 6% to 13%. Your house number is therefore doing something different on every bottle in the cupboard.
| Fragrance oil | Stated candle load (verbatim) | Where 8% sits | Stated base notes (verbatim) | 16 g at 8%, 1 kg pricing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee Vanilla Tobacco | "7-9% in soy wax (strong throw at lower loads)"; "Start at 7% and test" | Mid-band, and the page asks you to start lower | Warm tobacco-amber dry-down (stated as a pyramid summary) | ₹137.58 |
| Fresh Strawberries | "6-9% of total wax weight for candles" | One point below the ceiling | "Vanilla sugar, light musk, creamy sandalwood - smooth, warm, slightly creamy finish" | ₹56.64 |
| Lavender | "6-10% for candles, 10-15% for wax melts" | Mid-band | "Soft musk - warm, rounded, longevity on skin and in wax" | ₹83.54 |
| Sandalwood | "Up to 10% for soy wax"; "Up to 6% for paraffin wax" | Two points below the stated maximum | Single-note woody profile rather than a pyramid | ₹80.43 |
| Autumn | "7-11% of total wax weight for candles" | Low in the band | "Warm oak, amber, vanilla - deep, woody sweetness that lingers" | ₹86.85 |
| Cinnamon Vanilla | "Up to 13% of total wax weight"; "Start at 8-10% and increase toward 13%" | At the bottom of the page's own starting range | Gourmand pyramid with a vanilla-led dry-down | ₹72.88 |
| Japanese Cherry Blossom | "6-13% for candles - use 6-8% for a light, airy cherry blossom presence, 9-11% for balanced everyday luxury" | Top of the page's "light, airy" band | "Sandalwood, musk - warm, grounding base that adds lasting depth without heaviness" | ₹77.47 |
Look at the Japanese Cherry Blossom row in particular. Its page does not merely give a range — it tells you what each part of the range is for, and it places 8% in the "light, airy" zone. A maker running a house 8% and expecting "balanced everyday luxury" is reading the wrong end of the page. That is not a weak oil. That is an oil doing precisely what its page said it would.
What actually differs between two oils at one weight
Under the percentage, four things vary from bottle to bottle, and only some of them are published. It is worth being precise about which is which, because a great deal of confident internet advice on this question is invented.
| What differs | Why it changes hot throw | Can you read it on the page? | How you settle it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Where the blend's weight sits — top, heart or base | A melt pool releases for hours; material with little staying power leaves in the first twenty minutes | Yes — 88 of 107 pages state a full pyramid | Read the base line, then confirm with a day-21 burn |
| Volatility of the individual materials | Lighter, more volatile materials evaporate faster from a cooler soy pool than heavier ones | Only indirectly — the pyramid implies it; no page publishes constituents | Compare the two oils in identical jars, blind |
| Solubility behaviour in a given wax | Oil that is not fully in solution migrates instead of releasing | Partly — via the stated load band and stated compatible wax types | Hold the stated add temperature, stir two timed minutes, inspect the set jar |
| Vanillin content and discolouration | Does not change throw, but it changes which vessels and colours are open to you | Yes on 62 pages — from "Vanillin content 0%" to "Present - will yellow white wax" | Pour one jar in the glass you actually sell and watch it for a fortnight |
Two absences matter as much as the entries. No CSI page publishes a concentration or strength figure that would let you compare two oils numerically, and none publishes lab or GC-MS data — so anyone telling you oil A is "twice as concentrated" as oil B is guessing. And where a page states no load at all, which is true of 26 of the 107, your own cured burn test is the only evidence in existence. That is not a weakness in the range; it is the reason burn testing is non-negotiable, as set out in why every new wax, wick and fragrance combination needs burn testing.
When it is the wax, not the oil
Your comparison is happening inside a particular wax, and the waxes CSI stocks describe very different working conditions. A melt pool sits a little above its wax's melting point, and that temperature is part of what decides which materials leave the surface. The figures below are the ones the product pages state; where a page states nothing, the table says so.
| Wax | Stated fragrance load | Stated melt / pour | 1 kg | What it means for the comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | Up to 13% · 8–13% · 10% recommended | Add 80–90°C · pour 70–80°C | ₹599 | Widest documented window, so both oils can be tested at their own stated loads |
| Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 | Up to 10% | Page states melt and pour 80–90°C | ₹507.40 | Caps any oil at 10%, however high the oil's own band goes |
| Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 | Up to 13% | Melt 50–53°C · pour 58–60°C | ₹650 | A markedly cooler working range — re-test the wick after switching |
| Eco Soy CSI 400 | Not stated | Add at 80–90°C (85°C), stir 2 minutes | ₹399 | No stated ceiling, so the oil's own band is your only published limit |
| Natural Soy Pearl Wax | Not stated | Not stated | ₹450 | Nothing published to reason from — burn testing is the whole evidence base |
The practical consequence is that a verdict on two oils is a verdict in one wax. If the losing oil matters to your range, the cheapest second experiment is not a third oil — it is the same pair in a second wax. A 500 g pack of Luxury Soy Wax Chunks is ₹299 and a 500 g pack of CSI 468 is ₹325, so the whole wax variable costs a few hundred rupees to examine. Which wax tends to release more, and why, is the subject of does wax type affect fragrance oil hot throw.
The two-oil controlled test
Four jars, one pour day, ₹651.40. The design exists to remove every explanation except the oil — and, importantly, to give you a day-7 and a day-21 reading so that a slow-developing oil is not condemned early.
Finding each oil's own best load
A stated band is a permission, not a recommendation. Inside it every oil has a load that performs best in your wax, your jar and your room, and the only way to find it is three loads side by side. The three oils below are useful for that work because their pages publish genuinely different bands — which means your test design has to change with the bottle.
| Size | Price | Per kg | 120g jars @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹113.28 | ₹7,552 | ≈1 |
| 50 gm | ₹212.40 | ₹4,248 | ≈5 |
| 100 gm | ₹377.60 | ₹3,776 | ≈10 |
| 500 gm | ₹1,770 | ₹3,540 | ≈52 |
| 1 kg | ₹3,540 | ₹3,540 | ≈104 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 120g jars @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹93.22 | ₹6,214.67 | ≈1 |
| 50 gm | ₹271.40 | ₹5,428 | ≈5 |
| 100 gm | ₹502.68 | ₹5,026.80 | ≈10 |
| 500 gm | ₹2,513.40 | ₹5,026.80 | ≈52 |
| 1 kg | ₹5,026.80 | ₹5,026.80 | ≈104 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 120g jars @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹104 | ₹6,933.33 | ≈1 |
| 50 gm | ₹270 | ₹5,400 | ≈5 |
| 100 gm | ₹500 | ₹5,000 | ≈10 |
| 500 gm | ₹2,500 | ₹5,000 | ≈52 |
| 1 kg | ₹4,842 | ₹4,842 | ≈104 |
| Oil | Loads to test (inside the stated band) | Oil at 8% | Oil at the top of the band | Extra per 100 candles |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fresh Strawberries | 6%, 8%, 9% | ₹56.64 | ₹63.72 at 9% | ₹708 |
| Sandalwood | 6%, 8%, 10% | ₹80.43 | ₹100.54 at 10% | ₹2,010.72 |
| Japanese Cherry Blossom | 8%, 9.5%, 11% | ₹77.47 | ₹106.52 at 11% | ₹2,905.20 |
| Autumn | 7%, 9%, 11% | ₹86.85 | ₹119.42 at 11% | ₹3,256.80 |
Read that table as a budgeting exercise as much as a testing one. Six 120 g jars — two each at three loads — costs about ₹927.22 on Fresh Strawberries, and it answers a question that then applies to every candle you pour in that scent for years. Whereas committing to the top of a band untested is a permanent charge: on Autumn, going from 8% to 11% adds ₹3,256.80 to every hundred candles whether or not anyone can tell the difference from a doorway. The distinction between a ceiling and a best-performing load is the subject of maximum versus best-performing fragrance load.
What to do with the oil that loses
The reflex is to stop using it and absorb the cost. Before you do, work through four cheaper options, because "weak at 8% in a 6 cm jar in my living room" is a very specific verdict and there are several ways to change the sentence rather than the oil.
| Move | Why it can work | Check on the page first | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Raise the load — but only to the page's own figure | Your house 8% may simply be low for that blend, and the page may say so | The stated candle band, and your wax's stated ceiling; work to the lower one | ₹7.08–₹32.57 more per 200 g candle |
| Move it to a smaller vessel | A quieter scent in a bedroom-sized candle reads correctly rather than thin | Stated fill capacity in grams, not millilitres | ₹45 for a 50 g velvet jar against ₹94.40 for a 150 g jar |
| Give it a bigger pool | Release area is set by wick and diameter, not by the oil | Nothing — no CSI wick page states a jar diameter, so this is your ruler's job | ₹3.54 to step from Thin (C1) to Thick (C2) |
| Use it as a supporting note, not a headline | A bright blend under a base-heavy one can add legibility without carrying the candle | Both stated pyramids, so you know what you are stacking | ₹0 — it uses oil you already own; treat every ratio as a test, not a recipe |
A word on that last row. Blending two oils is a legitimate craft technique and CSI pages for several scents suggest pairings, but a blend is a new fragrance with no published band, no published pyramid and no published anything. Treat each ratio as an experiment that has to earn a day-21 burn on its own, and record it as its own recipe with its own sheet. Do not carry over either parent oil's stated figures, and never blend past the lower of the two stated ceilings.
CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials, not finished candles. The easy version of this page would say the second oil is inferior and point you at a replacement. Instead it says the likeliest problem is a single house percentage applied to blends whose own pages ask for different things — and it puts four ways to rescue the losing bottle ahead of buying another one.
Every price and pack size comes from live CSI stock in September 2026 and links to the product page, which always takes precedence. Stated loads, base notes, cure times, flash points and discolouration notes are quoted only where the page states them: 81 of 107 fragrance-oil pages state at least one usage percentage, 88 state a full top/heart/base pyramid, and only 18 state a measured flash point. Where a page publishes nothing, this guide says so instead of estimating, and no CSI page publishes a concentration figure that would let two oils be compared numerically. Loads are formulation limits, not regulatory limits. No burn test here has been run on your behalf, and customer quotations are individual experiences rather than specifications.
For a load recommendation for a specific oil and wax pairing, for bulk pricing and GST invoicing, or for the SDS and IFRA documentation for an oil, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.
Frequently asked questions
- Wax vs wick vs fragrance oil — the attribution experiment
- How to compare two fragrance oils using a controlled burn test
- Maximum load vs best-performing load
- Why the same fragrance smells strong in paraffin but weak in soy
- Why some fragrance oils work better in candles than others
- Strong from the bottle, weak in the candle
- What load to use for floral, woody and gourmand oils
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; one longer review is shortened with an ellipsis and otherwise unedited.
Figures verified September 2026: Load is treated as a share of finished candle weight, so a 200 g candle at 8% is 16 g of oil and 184 g of wax and a 120 g jar at 8% is 9.6 g and 110.4 g; the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page phrases its own 8–13% as "of total wax weight", and several oil pages phrase theirs "of total wax weight" too. Oil per 200 g candle at 8% (16 g × listed 1 kg price per gram): Fresh Strawberries ₹3,540/kg → ₹56.64; Cinnamon Vanilla ₹4,554.80 → ₹72.88; Japanese Cherry Blossom ₹4,842 → ₹77.47; Sandalwood ₹5,026.80 → ₹80.43; Lavender ₹5,221 → ₹83.54; Autumn ₹5,428 → ₹86.85; Coffee Vanilla Tobacco ₹8,599 → ₹137.58. At the top of each stated band: Fresh Strawberries 18 g at 9% ₹63.72 (+₹708 per 100 candles); Sandalwood 20 g at 10% ₹100.54 (+₹2,010.72); Japanese Cherry Blossom 22 g at 11% ₹106.52 (+₹2,905.20); Autumn 22 g at 11% ₹119.42 (+₹3,256.80). Four-jar comparison: each 120 g jar = 110.4 g Luxury Soy Wax Chunks at ₹0.599/g = ₹66.13, plus 9.6 g of oil, plus an Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid at ₹47.20 (₹236 per pack of 5, stated "Capacity: 120 gm", 6 cm diameter), a Thin (C1) Eco Candle Wick at ₹5.90 (₹59 per 10) and a Candle Wick Sticker at ₹2.50 (₹100 per 40) — Fresh Strawberries ₹155.71, Sandalwood ₹169.99, Japanese Cherry Blossom ₹168.21; two of each of the first two = ₹651.40. Three-load trial on Fresh Strawberries in 120 g jars, two jars per load: 6% (7.2 g oil ₹25.49 + 112.8 g wax ₹67.57) ₹148.66; 8% (9.6 g ₹33.98 + 110.4 g ₹66.13) ₹155.71; 9% (10.8 g ₹38.23 + 109.2 g ₹65.41) ₹159.24; six jars ₹927.22. Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) ₹5.90 and Thick (C2) ₹9.44 each, flat per wick across listed packs, with the Thick (C2) 10-pack currently sold out, so stepping C1 to C2 costs ₹3.54 per candle. Heart Cutout Velvet Candle Jar (Red) ₹45 each, stated to hold up to 50 grams of wax; Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid ₹944 per 10 (₹94.40 each, stated 150 g fill). Stated wax figures as published: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks up to 13% (8–13%, 10% recommended), add 80–90°C, pour 70–80°C, cure "a minimum of 48 hours (ideally 1-2 weeks) before performing burn tests"; Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 up to 10%, melting point and pour both stated 80–90°C; Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 up to 13%, melting point 50–53°C, pour 58–60°C; Eco Soy CSI 400 fragrance at 80–90°C (85°C) with a two-minute stir, no stated load; Natural Soy Pearl Wax nothing stated. Stated oil figures are quoted verbatim from the Coffee Vanilla Tobacco, Fresh Strawberries, Lavender, Sandalwood, Autumn, Cinnamon Vanilla, Japanese Cherry Blossom and Citrus Lemon pages. Sandalwood's stated flashpoint is 203°C and the Vetiver page states 206°C, so no claim about which oil leads the range is made here. Across CSI's 107 fragrance-oil pages, 81 state at least one usage percentage (26 state none), 88 state a full top/heart/base pyramid, 62 state something about vanillin or discolouration, and 18 state a measured flash point; no page publishes a concentration, shelf life, storage instruction or laboratory result. A 14–21 day cure reflects standard practice for soy container candles. Diwali 2026 falls on 8 November. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.