I Want Six Permanent Candle Fragrances Rather Than Constantly Launching New Scents — How Should I Build a Balanced Fragrance Library?

I Want Six Permanent Candle Fragrances Rather Than Constantly Launching New Scents — How Should I Build a Balanced Fragrance Library?

 

Six permanent slots from ₹3.068 / g 100g, 500g and 1kg rungs listed per oil Stocked in India · ships nationwide
CSI buying guides · fragrance library planning
A permanent scent is cheaper than a new one — not per gram, but per wick test, per label and per bottle you actually finish.
★★★★★
"A very calming fragrance"
AnonymousVerified buyer · Jul 2025
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"The fragrance was really amazing"
Akanksha SharmaVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Roasted Coffee Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I like it."
AshwiniSep 2025
British Rose Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Really nice fragrance, we continue our shopping going forward."
Uchu OmoideVerified buyer · Sep 2025
Fresh Strawberries Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I love all the products...I received it without any damages...love to reorder again❤️"
Kaushiki SatarkarVerified buyer · Apr 2025
Luxury Soy Wax Chunks
★★★★★
"Quality wick, works very well"
AshwiniSep 2025
Eco Candle Wicks
★★★★★
"A very calming fragrance"
AnonymousVerified buyer · Jul 2025
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"The fragrance was really amazing"
Akanksha SharmaVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Roasted Coffee Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I like it."
AshwiniSep 2025
British Rose Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Really nice fragrance, we continue our shopping going forward."
Uchu OmoideVerified buyer · Sep 2025
Fresh Strawberries Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I love all the products...I received it without any damages...love to reorder again❤️"
Kaushiki SatarkarVerified buyer · Apr 2025
Luxury Soy Wax Chunks
★★★★★
"Quality wick, works very well"
AshwiniSep 2025
Eco Candle Wicks
Reviews collected and published through Judge.me on candlemakingsuppliesindia.store. Wording is unedited.
✓ Stated loads, flash points and vanillin quoted per page ✓ Per-gram ladder checked at every listed rung ✓ Bulk pricing & GST invoicing on WhatsApp
Candle Business Guides · Fragrance Library Planning
A permanent library is an inventory decision dressed as a creative one. Six slots, each with a stated load you have already tested, a wick you have already matched and a reorder point written down, turn fragrance from a monthly gamble into a line item. Here is how to pick the six and how much of each to hold.
3.4 months
of cover from 1 kg per slot at 20 candles a month — 67 candles at 14.8 g of oil each · six slots consume 1.78 kg of oil a month · ₹27,177.40 to stock all six at 1,000 g by the cheapest listed route · CSI live pricing, September 2026
Quick answers — read this first
How do I build a balanced six? One slot per scent direction, with the overlap checked from each product page's own note list. On CSI's live range: Lavender, British Rose, Roasted Coffee, Mango Coconut, Sage and Cedarwood and Palo Santo.

How much of each should I hold? Work in months of cover, never in bottles. Monthly candles × 14.8 g = grams a month; pack size ÷ that = months. At 20 candles a month a slot burns 296 g, so 1 kg is 3.4 months, 500 g is 1.7 months and 100 g is about ten days.

Is the kilo always the right pack? No — check each oil. Five of these six are cheapest per gram at the kilo, but Sage and Cedarwood's 1 kg at ₹6,867.60 costs ₹1,699.20 more than two 500 g bottles at ₹2,584.20 each for the same 1,000 g. Palo Santo is flat at ₹6.018 a gram from 50 g to 1 kg, so the pack size changes nothing but your cash.

What does permanence save? The cost of evaluating a new scent. A three-jar evaluation of one candidate — 50 g bottle, 555 g of wax, three wicks, three jars — is about ₹710.91 of materials before anybody has bought anything. Six permanent slots stop you paying that every month.
The short answer
Balance means one slot per direction, audited from the pages: two florals are allowed if the pages show they differ — Lavender's family line reads "Floral / Herbal / Fresh" with a herbal green heart, British Rose is a single-note "fresh dewy rose". Two woods are allowed on the same test. Six copies of one idea are not.
Hold months, not kilos: every slot gives the same 3.4 months from a kilo, because cover depends on grams. What differs wildly is the cash — ₹3,068 for a kilo of British Rose against ₹6,867.60 for a kilo of Sage and Cedarwood. Equal cover, very unequal money.
Write the reorder point down: monthly grams ÷ 30 × your own lead-time days, plus a buffer of a week's grams. At 296 g a month and a seven-day lead time that is about 140 g — reorder when the bottle hits roughly a seventh full. Lead time is yours to measure; we do not publish one.
Same 3.4 months of cover in every slot — wildly different cash to hold it Bar = cash to hold 1,000 g by the cheapest listed route. All six give 67 candles and 3.4 months at 20 candles a month. British Rose 1 kg ₹3,068 · ₹45.41 per candle Roasted Coffee 1 kg ₹3,738 · ₹55.32 per candle Mango Coconut 1 kg ₹3,964 · ₹58.67 per candle Sage & Cedarwood 2 × 500 g ₹5,168.40 · ₹76.49 per candle Lavender 1 kg ₹5,221 · ₹77.27 per candle Palo Santo 1 kg ₹6,018 · ₹89.07 per candle Six slots, 6,000 g held: ₹27,177.40 — ₹1,699.20 less than six kilos, because Sage and Cedarwood is cheaper as two 500 g bottles.
Cover is a function of grams, so every slot holding 1,000 g holds 3.4 months at 20 candles a month. Cash is a function of the oil, and it ranges from ₹3,068 to ₹6,018 for identical cover — before you notice that one of the six is cheaper bought twice at 500 g than once at a kilo.
Straight answer
How should I choose six permanent candle fragrances and decide how much of each to hold?
Choose the six so that no two product pages describe the same thing, then size each slot in months of cover rather than in bottles. A workable six from CSI's live range is Lavender ("Floral / Herbal / Fresh", stated 6–10% for candles, 10–15% for melts), British Rose (single-note dewy rose, up to 10% soy, flashpoint 192°C, 0% vanillin), Roasted Coffee (gourmand, 6–10% soy, flashpoint ~191–193°C, vanillin "Present" with a white-wax caution), Mango Coconut ("Tropical / Fruity / Creamy" — page states no load, no flash point and no vanillin figure), Sage and Cedarwood (earthy-herbaceous wood, up to 10% soy, flashpoint 190°C, 0% vanillin) and Palo Santo (grounding resinous wood, up to 10% soy, flashpoint 93°C, 0% vanillin). At 14.8 g of oil per candle — 8% of a 185 g wax fill — a slot selling 20 candles a month consumes 296 g, so 1,000 g is 3.4 months of cover and the six together burn 1.78 kg a month. Stocking all six at 1,000 g costs ₹27,177.40 by the cheapest listed route, which is six kilos minus one substitution: Sage and Cedarwood is ₹1,699.20 cheaper as two 500 g bottles than as a kilo. What permanence buys is not a per-gram discount. It is the end of paying about ₹710.91 in materials to evaluate each new candidate, every month, forever. Nobody can tell you which six will sell; only your own sell-through can.
One line: six slots that no two pages describe alike, each sized in months of cover at 296 g a month, each with a written reorder point — and the pack rung checked per oil, because one of these six is cheaper bought twice.
Stocking a permanent six? British Rose 1 kg ₹3,068, Roasted Coffee 1 kg ₹3,738, Mango Coconut 1 kg ₹3,964, Lavender 1 kg ₹5,221, Palo Santo 1 kg ₹6,018 and Sage and Cedarwood 2 × 500 gm ₹5,168.40 — ₹27,177.40 for 6,000 g.
Shop fragrance oils

What permanence actually buys

A new scent every month is not a marketing strategy. It is an unbudgeted research department.

The case for a permanent range is usually made in brand language — recognisability, repeat purchase, a signature. Those arguments may be true, but they are not the ones you can put in a spreadsheet. The spreadsheet argument is simpler: every new scent costs you a full evaluation before it earns a rupee, and that cost does not fall with experience.

Price it out. To evaluate one candidate properly you need at least three jars — one burned at day 7, one at day 14, one kept as a reference. Three 200 g-class candles take 555 g of wax and 44.4 g of oil at an 8% house load, so you buy a 50 g bottle. Using Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 at ₹507.40 a kilo, Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) at ₹5.90 each and the Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid at ₹47.20 each, that is a 50 g bottle of Lavender at ₹270, ₹281.61 of wax, ₹17.70 of wick and ₹141.60 of glass — ₹710.91. Add a fortnight of calendar time and your own labour, which is the part nobody costs.

Now run it monthly. Twelve launches a year is ₹8,530.92 of evaluation materials before a single new candle is sold, twelve wick decisions, twelve label designs and twelve bottles that will mostly not get finished. Six permanent slots cost the same ₹710.91 each — once. After that the money goes into oil you will definitely use, at a rung you have earned the right to buy.

The mistake: treating "permanent" as a promise to the customer rather than a rule for yourself. Permanence is an internal discipline about what you are allowed to buy, not a label on a jar. The rule that makes it work: a scent enters the six only by replacing one, and only after it has passed the same three-jar evaluation and sold through a small batch. Without the replacement clause, "six permanent plus a few seasonals" becomes nine, then thirteen, and the library has quietly become a collection of part-used bottles again. For the arithmetic of what a half-used bottle costs you, see how much fragrance oil a candle business needs.

The six slots, and the oil CSI lists in each

Below is the library with every fact the six product pages publish. Note that the six contains two florals and two woods — that is deliberate, and it is defensible only because the pages show the pairs differ. Lavender's family line is "Floral / Herbal / Fresh" with a herbal green heart and a soft musk base; British Rose is a single-note fresh dewy rose with green and soft floral undertones. Sage and Cedarwood is described as earthy, woody and herbaceous; Palo Santo as warm, grounding and mystical. Neither pair names the other's materials.

Six permanent slots · page-stated facts only · CSI live pricing, September 2026
Direction, published description, stated load and cure, flash point, vanillin, and the 1 kg price
Slot Oil Description as published Stated load & cure Flash point Vanillin 1 kg
Soft floral-herbal Lavender Top: fresh lavender · Heart: herbal green notes · Base: soft musk. "Floral / Herbal / Fresh" 6–10% for candles; 10–15% for wax melts Not stated Not stated ₹5,221
True floral British Rose Single note — fresh, dewy roses with subtle green and soft floral undertones. "Floral — soft, romantic, refined" Up to 10% soy (cure 48–72 h); up to 6% paraffin (cure 24–48 h); up to 12% melts; 10–30% diffusers; 8–15% room sprays 192°C 0% — no discolouration in white or pastel wax ₹3,068
Gourmand Roasted Coffee Top: fresh coffee beans · Heart: dark chocolate, espresso · Base: vanilla, caramel. "Gourmand" 6–10% soy (cure 48–72 h); 6–8% paraffin (cure 24–48 h) ~191–193°C Present — vanilla and caramel base notes contain vanillin; test in white wax ₹3,738
Tropical fruit Mango Coconut Sweet, juicy ripe mango with creamy coconut depth. "Tropical / Fruity / Creamy" Not stated Not stated Not stated ₹3,964
Green wood Sage and Cedarwood Earthy, woody, herbaceous blend — calming sage with grounding cedarwood. Single-note fragrance Up to 10% soy (cure 48–72 h); up to 6% paraffin (cure 24–48 h) 190°C 0% — no risk of discoloration ₹6,867.60 — but see below
Resinous wood Palo Santo Warm, grounding, mystical — the rich woody essence of palo santo Up to 10% soy (cure 48–72 h); up to 6% paraffin (cure 24–48 h) 93°C 0% — no risk of discoloration ₹6,018

Two of the six carry working constraints you should design around rather than discover. Roasted Coffee states vanillin as "Present", with the page's own note that the vanilla and caramel base notes can cause slight yellowing in white wax over time — normal for gourmands with vanilla, and a reason to put that slot in an amber or opaque vessel. Palo Santo states a flashpoint of 93°C, which is below the 80–90°C add window several wax pages publish and well below the 190–193°C of the other three that state one; respect it as a handling figure, not a quality signal. And Mango Coconut states nothing at all — no load, no flash point, no vanillin — which makes it the slot that most needs your own three-jar evaluation before it becomes permanent.

Six slots, one house load, one wick decision per jar
Five of the six state a ceiling of 10% in soy and the sixth states nothing, so an 8% house load of total wax weight works across the whole library. That matters more than it sounds: one load plus one jar size means one wick test, not six, and it means a scent swap later does not restart your wicking from scratch. Keep the lower of your wax page's ceiling and the oil page's ceiling — Luxury Soy Wax Chunks states 8–13% with 10% recommended, so against these oils 10% is the binding figure. Wick selection itself: how to choose the right wick for your candle.

Months of cover: the only honest unit for a permanent slot

A bottle size tells you nothing on its own. The same 500 g is a fortnight for one maker and a year for another. Convert it once and you never have to think about it again: monthly candles × 14.8 g = grams a month, then pack size ÷ grams a month = months of cover. The table runs the conversion at three monthly volumes so you can find your own row.

Months of cover per slot, by pack rung
What each listed pack holds at three monthly volumes, at 14.8 g of oil per candle
Candles a month, per slot Grams a month 100 g pack 500 g pack 1,000 g held Six slots a month
10 148 g 0.7 months 3.4 months 6.8 months 888 g
20 296 g 0.3 months (≈10 days) 1.7 months 3.4 months 1,776 g
40 592 g 0.2 months (≈5 days) 0.8 months 1.7 months 3,552 g

Read the 20-candle row carefully, because it contains the whole argument for a library rather than a collection. At twenty candles a month per slot, a 100 g bottle is ten days of trading. A maker running six permanent slots on 100 g bottles is placing a fragrance order roughly every ten days, paying 100 g prices, and still running out. The same maker holding 1,000 g per slot orders roughly once a quarter. Across this six that moves the blended oil price from ₹5.117 a gram (six 100 g bottles, ₹3,070.20 for 600 g) to ₹4.530 a gram (the cheapest 1,000 g route, ₹27,177.40 for 6,000 g) — a real saving of ₹8.69 per candle, or about ₹1,042 a month at 120 candles. But it ties up ₹24,107.20 more cash, which takes roughly 23 months of that saving to recover. So the kilo is worth it when you are confident of 23 months of trading in that scent, and not before. At launch the reason to hold a kilo is continuity; the price is a bonus you collect slowly.

Do not size a permanent slot before it has sold anything. "Permanent" is a decision you earn, not one you announce. Until a scent has sold through at least one small batch at your own price, its monthly volume is zero and its correct cover is zero — so it belongs at the 100 g rung with the rest of the candidates. The slot becomes permanent when you can write a real number in the "candles a month" column. Everything on this page downstream of that column is arithmetic; the column itself is evidence, and only you can collect it.

Four of the six, costed per candle

Each card shows every listed rung, the price per 100 g at that rung, and roughly how many 200 g-class candles the pack pours at 14.8 g of oil. The two remaining slots — British Rose and Sage and Cedarwood — are handled in the routing table below, because their pack decisions are the interesting ones.

1
Soft floral-herbal slot · the page is silent on flash point
Lavender Fragrance Oil
The page gives fresh lavender on top, herbal green notes through the heart and soft musk at the base, filed as "Floral / Herbal / Fresh" with a stated load of 6–10% for candles and 10–15% for wax melts. It publishes neither a flash point nor a vanillin figure, so add it below your wax page's stated add temperature and check a cured jar yourself. Its ladder barely moves above 100 g — ₹5.400 a gram at 100 g, ₹5.240 at 500 g, ₹5.221 at 1 kg — so the kilo saves ₹2.65 per candle over the 100 g rung and buys you a quarter of trading instead of ten days. One CSI customer calls it "a very calming fragrance", which is a description, not a performance figure.
Size Price Per 100g ≈ candles @ 14.8g
15 gm ₹105.02 ₹700.13 ≈1
50 gm ₹270 ₹540 ≈3
100 gm ₹540 ₹540 ≈6
500 gm ₹2,620 ₹524 ≈33
1 kg ₹5,221 ₹522.10 ≈67
₹77.27 of oil per candle at 1 kg · 3.4 months of cover at 20 a month Buy Lavender
2
Gourmand slot · plan the vessel around the vanillin
Roasted Coffee Fragrance Oil
A full gourmand pyramid in the page's words: fresh coffee beans on top, dark chocolate and rich espresso through the heart, vanilla and caramel at the base. Stated 6–10% in soy with a 48–72 hour cure, 6–8% in paraffin, a flashpoint of ~191–193°C, and vanillin listed as "Present" with the page's own caution that the vanilla and caramel bases can slightly yellow white wax over time. The page also advises starting at 8% because coffee projects strongly — which matches the house load in this guide. Per gram it runs ₹3.900 at 100 g down to ₹3.738 at 1 kg, the second-cheapest cover in the six.
Size Price Per 100g ≈ candles @ 14.8g
15 gm ₹93.22 ₹621.47 ≈1
50 gm ₹230 ₹460 ≈3
100 gm ₹390 ₹390 ≈6
500 gm ₹1,890 ₹378 ≈33
1 kg ₹3,738 ₹373.80 ≈67
₹55.32 of oil per candle at 1 kg · ₹57.72 at 100 g Buy Roasted Coffee
3
Tropical fruit slot · the biggest jump in the ladder, and a silent page
Mango Coconut Fragrance Oil
The page describes sweet, juicy, true-to-life ripe mango carried by creamy, rich coconut, filed as "Tropical / Fruity / Creamy". It is the only one of the six that publishes no load percentage, no flash point and no vanillin figure — so this is the slot where your own three-jar evaluation is doing all the work, and where you hold at 8% and do not experiment upward. Commercially it has the steepest step in the library: ₹5.000 a gram at 100 g against ₹3.964 at 500 g and at 1 kg — a 20.7% fall, worth ₹15.33 per candle. Note the 500 g and 1 kg rungs are identical per gram, so there is no reason to jump to a kilo until your cover maths says so.
Size Price Per 100g ≈ candles @ 14.8g
15 gm ₹93.22 ₹621.47 ≈1
50 gm ₹250 ₹500 ≈3
100 gm ₹500 ₹500 ≈6
500 gm ₹1,982 ₹396.40 ≈33
1 kg ₹3,964 ₹396.40 ≈67
₹58.67 of oil per candle at 500 g or 1 kg · ₹74 at 100 g Buy Mango Coconut
4
Resinous wood slot · the flattest ladder in the library
Palo Santo Fragrance Oil
The page describes a warm, grounding, mystical wood inspired by the sacred wood used in ritual, and publishes a full technical block: flashpoint 93°C, vanillin content 0% (no risk of discoloration), compatibility with soy, paraffin, coconut and blended waxes, up to 10% in soy with a 48–72 hour cure, up to 6% in paraffin, and Eco or wooden wicks for an even, clean burn. Its price per gram is ₹6.018 at 50 g, at 100 g, at 500 g and at 1 kg — identical at every rung. That makes it the clearest case in this library for the central rule: pack size is a cover decision, never a price decision. The 93°C flash point is the lowest of the six and sits below several waxes' stated add windows, so add late and stir rather than adding hot.
Size Price Per 100g ≈ candles @ 14.8g
15 gm ₹106.20 ₹708 ≈1
50 gm ₹300.90 ₹601.80 ≈3
100 gm ₹601.80 ₹601.80 ≈6
500 gm ₹3,009 ₹601.80 ≈33
1 kg ₹6,018 ₹601.80 ≈67
₹89.07 of oil per candle at every rung from 50 g up Buy Palo Santo
Worked out above: oil per candle = price per gram × 14.8 g, where 14.8 g is 8% of a 185 g wax fill. Lavender 1 kg ₹5,221 → ₹5.221/g → ₹77.27 (100 gm ₹540 → ₹79.92, so the kilo saves ₹2.65). Roasted Coffee 1 kg ₹3,738 → ₹55.32 (100 gm ₹390 → ₹57.72). Mango Coconut 1 kg ₹3,964 → ₹58.67 (100 gm ₹500 → ₹74, so the step saves ₹15.33). Palo Santo ₹6,018 → ₹89.07 at every rung. British Rose 1 kg ₹3,068 → ₹45.41. Sage and Cedarwood via two 500 gm packs at ₹2,584.20 → ₹5.1684/g → ₹76.49, against ₹101.64 at the 1 kg price of ₹6,867.60. Monthly oil bill for six slots at 20 candles each: 296 g per slot × each per-gram figure = ₹8,044.52.

The cheapest listed route to 1,000 g per slot

Five of these six reward the kilo. One punishes it by ₹1,699.20, and nothing on the page warns you.

Here is the whole library priced two ways: six kilos, and the cheapest listed combination that still puts 1,000 g in every slot. The difference is one substitution, and it is worth more than a month's oil bill.

1,000 g per slot · two routes · CSI live pricing, September 2026
What a kilo costs, what two 500 g bottles cost, and which route is actually cheaper
Slot 500 g price Two 500 g = 1,000 g 1 kg price Cheaper route Difference
British Rose ₹1,593 (₹3.186/g) ₹3,186 ₹3,068 (₹3.068/g) 1 kg Kilo cheaper by ₹118
Roasted Coffee ₹1,890 (₹3.780/g) ₹3,780 ₹3,738 (₹3.738/g) 1 kg Kilo cheaper by ₹42
Mango Coconut ₹1,982 (₹3.964/g) ₹3,964 ₹3,964 (₹3.964/g) Either — identical No difference at all
Lavender ₹2,620 (₹5.240/g) ₹5,240 ₹5,221 (₹5.221/g) 1 kg Kilo cheaper by ₹19
Palo Santo ₹3,009 (₹6.018/g) ₹6,018 ₹6,018 (₹6.018/g) Either — identical No difference at all
Sage and Cedarwood ₹2,584.20 (₹5.168/g) ₹5,168.40 ₹6,867.60 (₹6.868/g) Two 500 g Kilo dearer by ₹1,699.20
Six slots, 6,000 g ₹27,356.40 all at 500 g ₹28,876.60 all at 1 kg Mixed ₹27,177.40 — ₹1,699.20 saved

Three findings worth keeping. First, on four of the six the kilo is cheaper, but only by ₹19 to ₹118 — rounding errors on a ₹27,000 order, not a reason to buy sooner than your cover maths allows. Second, on two of the six the 500 g and 1 kg rungs are identical per gram, so the pack is purely a handling choice: two sealed 500 g bottles keep better than one opened kilo if a slot turns over slowly. Third, and the only one that really costs money, Sage and Cedarwood's kilo is dearer than buying it twice at 500 g — ₹6,867.60 against ₹5,168.40 for the same 1,000 g, a 32.9% penalty for buying the bigger pack. That single check saves more than the other five slots' kilo discounts combined, five times over.

The general rule this points at: never assume a larger fragrance pack is cheaper per gram on this store. Divide the two prices before every order, on every oil, every time. The pattern is not consistent across the range and it is not consistent within a single family, so there is no shortcut — and a library you reorder quarterly is exactly where a missed check gets repeated four times a year.

Running six slots on a quarterly cycle? 1 kg is the largest listed fragrance pack, and the cheapest 1,000 g route across this library is ₹27,177.40. For recurring volumes above the listed packs, pricing, GST invoicing, MSDS and IFRA documentation are handled directly on WhatsApp.
Price a recurring order

Building the reorder rule, slot by slot

A permanent library without a reorder point is just six bottles you will one day be surprised by. The rule below needs three numbers, two of which only you have: your monthly candles per slot, and your own observed lead time from order to delivery. We publish no lead time and nothing on this page should be read as one.

1
Fix the house load and the fill, onceWrite them at the top of the sheet: 8% of total wax weight, 185 g wax fill, 14.8 g of oil per candle. Every number below depends on these three, so changing them later means recomputing the whole library. If you also pour a smaller jar, add a second line rather than averaging.
2
Write last month's actual candles per slotNot forecast candles — poured and sold candles, per scent, from your own records. If a slot has no history, it is a candidate, not a slot, and it stays at the 100 g rung. Six honest numbers beat one optimistic total.
3
Convert to grams a month and then to months of coverCandles × 14.8 g gives grams a month — 20 candles is 296 g. Current stock ÷ that figure is your cover. Any slot under one month of cover is late, not low.
4
Set the reorder point from your own lead timeReorder point = grams a month ÷ 30 × your lead-time days, plus a safety buffer of one week's grams. At 296 g a month that is 9.87 g a day; with a seven-day lead time, 69 g of pipeline plus a 69 g buffer — so reorder at about 140 g remaining. Measure your own lead time across three orders and use the longest, not the average.
5
Choose the pack by dividing, not by habitFor each slot, divide the 500 g price by 500 and the 1 kg price by 1,000 and buy the cheaper per gram — then sanity-check it against cover, so you are not holding eight months of a slow slot. On this library that means a kilo for four slots, either rung for two, and two 500 g bottles for Sage and Cedarwood.
6
Review the whole sheet once a quarter, on a datePut the date in the calendar now. Quarterly is right because 1,000 g at 20 candles a month is 3.4 months of cover, so a quarterly review lands just before the first slot runs dry. At the review, update the candle counts, recompute cover, and run the audit in the next section.
Log grams, not bottles
Keep one line per slot: oil · pack rung bought · date received · grams in · grams out this month · grams remaining · months of cover · reorder point. Counting bottles hides the problem, because a bottle that is "about half" is anywhere between 300 g and 600 g. A kitchen scale and thirty seconds per slot per month turns the whole library into six numbers you can act on — and gives you the sell-through history that is the only legitimate basis for calling a scent permanent.

The annual audit: when a permanent slot stops being permanent

Permanence has to be revocable or the library silently becomes a museum. Once a year, score every slot against the four tests below. A slot that fails two of the four is a candidate for replacement — and the replacement must pass the same three-jar evaluation before it inherits the shelf position.

The four retirement tests
What to measure, what failing looks like, and what to do about it
Test How you measure it Failing looks like Action
Turnover Grams out over twelve months ÷ 12, per slot Under 100 g a month — fewer than seven candles Drop to the 100 g rung and keep it as a made-to-order scent, or retire it
Cover drift Current stock ÷ grams a month More than six months of cover sitting in the bottle Stop reordering until cover falls below two months; the cash is doing nothing
Overlap creep Re-read the note lists; count shared notes against the other five A newer slot now shares two or more notes with an older one Keep the faster-turning one; the other loses the slot
Production friction Rejects, re-pours and complaints attributable to that scent Repeated discolouration, frosting or wick complaints on one scent only Re-test at the same load in a different vessel before you blame the oil

The overlap test is the one that creeps up on people. A library assembled carefully in year one gets a seasonal addition in year two, and a second in year three, and by year four two slots are describing the same thing. Re-reading the published note lists takes twenty minutes and is the only version of this check that does not depend on your memory of how things smelled. The same method, applied before you buy rather than after, is the subject of our guide on five fragrances that feel completely different.

The CSI principle
A permanent scent is one you have measured for twelve months. Everything else is a scent you happen to still have.
Six slots, six grams-a-month figures, six reorder points and one quarterly review date. The library is not the six bottles. It is the six numbers next to them.
Hold months of cover, not kilos of hope.
— CandleMakingSuppliesIndia
Why trust this guide

CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials, not finished candles. A supplier's interest is in you launching a new scent every month, because every launch is a new bottle. This page argues the opposite, and it tells you outright that one of the six oils in its own shortlist is ₹1,699.20 cheaper bought as two 500 g bottles than as the kilo we would rather sell you. A maker whose six slots turn over predictably reorders four times a year for years. A maker with nineteen half-used bottles stops ordering altogether.

Every price and pack size here comes from live CSI stock in September 2026 and links to the product page, where current pricing always takes precedence. Loads, cure times, flash points and vanillin positions are quoted only where the product page states them — British Rose 192°C and 0%, Sage and Cedarwood 190°C and 0%, Palo Santo 93°C and 0%, Roasted Coffee ~191–193°C with vanillin "Present"; Lavender and Mango Coconut publish none of these, and Mango Coconut publishes no load either. Stated loads are the page's formulation guidance, not regulatory limits, and where a wax page and an oil page disagree the lower ceiling governs. CSI publishes no demand, popularity or sell-through data, so every judgement about which slots to keep in this guide is routed back to your own records. Lead times in the reorder formula are the reader's own observed figures; we publish none.

For recurring quarterly quantities above the listed 1 kg pack, for GST invoicing, or for MSDS and IFRA documentation, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.

Frequently asked questions

How many fragrances should a candle business keep permanently?
Six is a practical ceiling for a small maker, because six slots at twenty candles a month each is 1,776 g of oil a month and one quarterly fragrance order. Beyond six, two things go wrong: the odds of two slots overlapping rise sharply, and the grams per slot per month fall until you are buying 100 g bottles — ten days of cover — at the worst per-gram prices. The right number is the largest set where every slot still turns over at least 100 g a month in your records.
How do I calculate months of cover for a fragrance oil?
Three steps. Candles a month × grams of oil per candle = grams a month. At 8% of a 185 g wax fill a 200 g-class candle takes 14.8 g, so 20 candles is 296 g. Then stock in grams ÷ grams a month = months of cover: 1,000 g ÷ 296 g = 3.4 months; 500 g = 1.7 months; 100 g = about ten days. Weigh the bottle rather than guessing how full it looks — "about half" covers a 300 g spread on a kilo.
Is 1 kg of fragrance oil always cheaper per gram than 500 g?
No, and this library contains the counter-example. Sage and Cedarwood lists 500 gm at ₹2,584.20 and 1 kg at ₹6,867.60, so two 500 g bottles give the same 1,000 g for ₹5,168.40 — the kilo is ₹1,699.20 dearer. On Mango Coconut and Palo Santo the two rungs are identical per gram. On British Rose, Roasted Coffee and Lavender the kilo wins, but only by ₹118, ₹42 and ₹19. Divide both prices before every order; there is no reliable pattern to lean on.
What does it cost to test a new candle fragrance before adding it?
A proper three-jar evaluation — one burned at day 7, one at day 14, one kept as reference — needs 555 g of wax and 44.4 g of oil at an 8% house load. At CSI's listed prices that is a 50 g bottle (₹270 for Lavender), ₹281.61 of Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464, ₹17.70 of Eco Candle Wicks and ₹141.60 of glass: about ₹710.91 of materials, plus a fortnight of waiting and your own labour. Run that twelve times a year and launches cost you ₹8,530.92 before a single new candle sells.
Should a balanced fragrance library have two florals?
Only if the two pages describe genuinely different things, and only once your own sales show the floral direction turning over. In this six, Lavender is filed as "Floral / Herbal / Fresh" with a herbal green heart and soft musk base, while British Rose is a single-note fresh dewy rose with green undertones and 0% vanillin — different enough to be two answers rather than one. Two oils whose pages name the same material are one slot wearing two labels.
When should I retire a permanent fragrance from my range?
Score it annually on four tests: turnover (under 100 g a month — fewer than seven candles — is failing), cover drift (more than six months sitting in the bottle), overlap creep (two or more shared notes with another slot after a re-read of the pages), and production friction (rejects or complaints attributable to that scent alone). Fail two of four and it becomes a made-to-order scent at the 100 g rung, or it goes. The replacement must pass the same three-jar evaluation first.
Six slots, six numbers, one quarterly order
₹27,177.40 holds 3.4 months of cover in every slot — and ₹1,699.20 of that is saved by one division.
British Rose 1 kg ₹3,068 (192°C, 0% vanillin) · Roasted Coffee 1 kg ₹3,738 (~191–193°C, vanillin present) · Mango Coconut 1 kg ₹3,964 (page states no load, flash point or vanillin) · Lavender 1 kg ₹5,221 (stated 6–10% for candles) · Palo Santo 1 kg ₹6,018 (93°C, 0% vanillin, flat at ₹6.018 a gram) · Sage and Cedarwood as two 500 gm packs ₹5,168.40 (190°C, 0% vanillin). Message us for recurring quarterly volumes, GST invoicing and documentation.
Shop fragrance oils Price a six-slot library on WhatsApp
Editorial standards & sources
About this guide: Written by the CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA team. Product recommendations reflect the CSI range; the months-of-cover method, the reorder-point formula, the evaluation costing and the four retirement tests apply to any supplier's range.

Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; wording is unedited.

Figures verified September 2026: Lavender — 15 gm ₹105.02, 50 gm ₹270, 100 gm ₹540, 500 gm ₹2,620, 1 kg ₹5,221. British Rose — 15 gm ₹94.40, 50 gm ₹212.40, 100 gm ₹342.20, 500 gm ₹1,593, 1 kg ₹3,068. Roasted Coffee — 15 gm ₹93.22, 50 gm ₹230, 100 gm ₹390, 500 gm ₹1,890, 1 kg ₹3,738. Mango Coconut — 15 gm ₹93.22, 50 gm ₹250, 100 gm ₹500, 500 gm ₹1,982, 1 kg ₹3,964. Sage and Cedarwood — 50 gm ₹354, 100 gm ₹696.20, 500 gm ₹2,584.20, 1 kg ₹6,867.60. Palo Santo — 15 gm ₹106.20, 50 gm ₹300.90, 100 gm ₹601.80, 500 gm ₹3,009, 1 kg ₹6,018. Six-slot totals: 100 g each ₹3,070.20 (600 g); 500 g each ₹13,678.20 (3,000 g); 1 kg each ₹28,876.60 (6,000 g); cheapest 1,000 g route ₹27,177.40 (five kilos plus two 500 gm packs of Sage and Cedarwood), a ₹1,699.20 saving. Evaluation costing uses Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 1 kg ₹507.40 (₹0.5074 a gram), Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) 10 wicks ₹59 (₹5.90 each), Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid pack of 5 ₹236 (₹47.20 each) and a 50 gm Lavender bottle at ₹270: 555 g of wax ₹281.61 + 3 wicks ₹17.70 + 3 jars ₹141.60 + oil ₹270 = ₹710.91; × 12 = ₹8,530.92. Also named: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks (stated 8–13%, 10% recommended). Planning assumptions, labelled: fragrance load is a percentage of total wax weight, so a 200 g-class candle with a 185 g wax fill at 8% takes 14.8 g of oil and weighs about 199.8 g poured; on the finished-candle convention used elsewhere in this corpus, a 200 g candle at 8% is 16 g of oil and 184 g of wax. Candle counts are pack size ÷ 14.8 g with no wastage allowance; allow 3–5% for spills and top-ups when planning production. Monthly volumes of 10, 20 and 40 candles per slot are illustrative. The reorder point (grams a month ÷ 30 × lead-time days, plus one week's grams as a buffer) uses the reader's own observed lead time — seven days is used only as a worked example and CSI publishes no lead time. The 23-month cash-recovery figure compares ₹24,107.20 of extra cash tied up against ₹1,042 a month of blended per-gram saving at 120 candles a month. Cure is taken as 14 days in line with standard practice for soy containers; the oil pages state 48–72 hours for soy as the minimum before burn testing. Stated specifications as published on product pages: Lavender 6–10% candles and 10–15% wax melts, no flash point or vanillin stated; British Rose up to 10% soy (cure 48–72 h), up to 6% paraffin (cure 24–48 h), up to 12% melts, 10–30% diffusers, 8–15% room sprays, flashpoint 192°C, 0% vanillin; Roasted Coffee 6–10% soy (cure 48–72 h), 6–8% paraffin (cure 24–48 h), flashpoint ~191–193°C, vanillin "Present" with a stated white-wax caution; Mango Coconut no load, flash point or vanillin stated; Sage and Cedarwood up to 10% soy, up to 6% paraffin, cure 48–72 h and 24–48 h, flashpoint 190°C, vanillin 0%; Palo Santo up to 10% soy, up to 6% paraffin, cure 48–72 h and 24–48 h, flashpoint 93°C, vanillin 0%. No page in the CSI fragrance range states a shelf life or storage condition, and none is claimed here. CSI publishes no demand, popularity or sell-through data for any scent, and none is implied anywhere on this page. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.
Back to blog