Professional-Grade Fragrance Oils for Scented Candles
शेयर करना
How many CSI oils score five out of five? Sixteen of 107. Thirteen of those also have every listed size in stock: British Rose, Eucalyptus Spearmint, Roasted Coffee, Jasmine, Gardenia, Verbena, Sandalwood, Ylang Ylang Flower, Cinnamon, Palo Santo, Neroli, Vanilla Bean and Dark Vanilla.
Why does a flash point matter to a candle maker? Because your wax page tells you to add fragrance at a temperature, and three of the eighteen measured values sit inside or below that band. Neroli states 85°C and Luxury Soy Wax Chunks state an add temperature of 80–90°C. That is a real decision, not a formality.
Does a high score mean a better-smelling oil? No. It means a candle you can reproduce and a batch you can explain. Scent is still your burn test.
The five fields a specification needs
Here is the test that separates a professional page from a poetic one. Take the listing and write a single line a new employee could follow without asking you anything: wax, oil, load, add temperature, stir, pour temperature, wick, jar, cure. Every number in it comes either from a product page or from a decision you had to make and record. The more the page supplies, the fewer places two batches can diverge without you knowing why.
| Field | What it lets you write in the spec | What you do without it | Pages stating it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. A candle fragrance load | "Load: 8% of finished candle weight" — and a defensible ceiling | Guess, then run a load ladder of three or four jars | 81 |
| 2. A wax-specific load, soy and paraffin named | One spec per wax, not one spec for everything | Assume the soy number applies to paraffin, which it usually does not | 52 |
| 3. A measured flash point | "Add at 80°C, below the stated flash point of 85°C" | Add blind, or default low and lose blend-in quality | 18 |
| 4. A vanillin or discolouration statement | "White wax approved" or "amber glass only" — a packaging decision | Find out three weeks later, in finished stock | 61 |
| 5. A cure time | "Do not burn-test before day 3; do not dispatch before day 21" | Judge the candle too early and reject a good oil | 63 |
Nearly everything states a load of some kind, and most candle-focused pages state a cure time and a discolouration line. The measured flash point is the rare one — 18 pages of 107 — and it is the one with a genuine operational consequence, which is why it gets a section of its own below. Note that 32 further pages state only the shared line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)": a threshold for a different application, not a measured value for yours, so we do not count it.
107 pages, scored
Every listed fragrance-oil page was read and scored on the five fields. The thirteen below are the ones that state all five and have every listed size in stock, so you can shortlist, trial and produce from the same product without ever changing what you are buying. Three more pages score five but fail on availability: Blue Ocean has one of its five sizes out of stock, Sage and Cedarwood lists four sizes rather than five, and Vetiver has its 1 kg pack sold out.
| Oil | Measured flash point, verbatim | 1 kg | 100 g | Oil per 200 g candle at 8% |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Rose | "Flashpoint 192°C" | ₹3,068 | ₹342.20 | ₹49.09 |
| Eucalyptus Spearmint | "Flashpoint 199°C" | ₹3,068 | ₹354 | ₹49.09 |
| Roasted Coffee | "Flashpoint ~191-193°C" | ₹3,738 | ₹390 | ₹59.81 |
| Jasmine | "Flashpoint 185°C" | ₹3,923 | ₹430 | ₹62.77 |
| Gardenia | "Flashpoint 98°C" | ₹4,332 | ₹433 | ₹69.31 |
| Verbena | "Flashpoint: 200°C" | ₹4,720 | ₹590 | ₹75.52 |
| Sandalwood | "Flashpoint 203°C" | ₹5,026.80 | ₹502.68 | ₹80.43 |
| Cinnamon | "Flashpoint: 193°C" | ₹5,310 | ₹590 | ₹84.96 |
| Ylang Ylang Flower | "Flashpoint: 193°C" | ₹5,310 | ₹590 | ₹84.96 |
| Palo Santo | "Flashpoint: 93°C" | ₹6,018 | ₹601.80 | ₹96.29 |
| Neroli | "Flashpoint: 85°C" | ₹6,655.20 | ₹665.52 | ₹106.48 |
| Vanilla Bean | "Flashpoint: 203°C" | ₹7,646 | ₹790 | ₹122.34 |
| Dark Vanilla | "Flashpoint ~191-193°C" | ₹7,646 | ₹790 | ₹122.34 |
One result on that table deserves comment, because it is the strongest argument in this whole guide. The joint-cheapest kilo on the list is also one of the best-documented pages in the range. British Rose at ₹3,068 a kilo states a measured flash point of 192°C, a soy and a paraffin load, "0% vanillin - no discolouration", a cure time, and — notably — rates its own strength as "Moderate" rather than reaching for a superlative. Disclosure and price are not correlated here, which means you do not have to buy up the range to buy a page you can work from.
The production spec card, filled in
This is what the five fields buy you. Below are three complete specification lines, built only from what the product pages state plus the two decisions you have to make yourself. Print one per oil, keep it with the batch records, and hand it to whoever pours when you are not there. Nothing in the "from the page" columns is our opinion; the italic entries are the decisions the pages leave to you.
| Specification line | British Rose | Cinnamon | Neroli |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wax (your decision) | Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | Luxury Soy Wax Chunks |
| Load, from the oil page | "Up to 10% for soy wax" · "Up to 6% for paraffin wax" | "Up to 10% for soy wax Up to 6% for paraffin wax" | "Up to 10% for soy wax Up to 6% for paraffin wax" |
| Ceiling that governs · load used | 10% (the oil's, below the wax's 13%) · 8% = 184 g wax, 16 g oil | 10% · 8% = 184 g wax, 16 g oil | 10% · 8% = 184 g wax, 16 g oil |
| Add temperature, from the wax page | 80–90°C, stir 2 minutes | 80–90°C, stir 2 minutes | 80–90°C, stir 2 minutes |
| Measured flash point, from the oil page | 192°C — no conflict | 193°C — no conflict | 85°C — conflicts with the band |
| Add temperature actually used | 85°C | 85°C | 80°C, below the stated flash point |
| Pour temperature, from the wax page | 70–80°C | 70–80°C | 70–80°C |
| Discolouration, from the oil page | "0% vanillin - no discolouration" | "Vanillin Content: 0% (No risk of discoloration)" | "Vanillin Content: 0% (No risk of discoloration)" |
| Glass decision that follows | White wax in clear glass is safe | White wax in clear glass is safe | White wax in clear glass is safe |
| Cure, from the oil page | "a cure time of 48-72 hours" in soy; 24–48 hours in paraffin | "Cure Time: 48–72 hours for soy wax 24–48 hours for paraffin wax" | "Cure Time: 48–72 hours for soy wax 24–48 hours for paraffin wax" |
| Cure used before dispatch | 21 days | 21 days | 21 days |
| Oil cost per 200 g candle | ₹49.09 | ₹84.96 | ₹106.48 |
| Wax + oil per 200 g candle | ₹159.31 | ₹195.18 | ₹216.70 |
Look at the Neroli column. Its page states a flash point of 85°C; the wax page states that fragrance goes in at 80–90°C. Those two bands overlap, so an operator following the wax instruction at the top of its range would be adding the oil at or above its stated flash point. The spec card catches that before the first pour, and the fix is a single number: add at 80°C. That is the entire value of a stated field. On British Rose and Cinnamon, both comfortably above 190°C, the question never arises — and knowing that it does not arise is also worth something.
Four oils that score five out of five
Four families, four price points, four fully documented pages, all with the complete 15 g to 1 kg ladder in stock. Each card shows every pack size, the listed price per kilo at each, and how many 200 g candles at 8% each pack makes — the 15 g row shows zero because 15 g is under the 16 g a single candle needs.
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹94.40 | ₹6,293.33 | ≈0 |
| 50 gm | ₹212.40 | ₹4,248 | ≈3 |
| 100 gm | ₹342.20 | ₹3,422 | ≈6 |
| 500 gm | ₹1,593 | ₹3,186 | ≈31 |
| 1 kg | ₹3,068 | ₹3,068 | ≈62 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹106.20 | ₹7,080 | ≈0 |
| 50 gm | ₹330.40 | ₹6,608 | ≈3 |
| 100 gm | ₹590 | ₹5,900 | ≈6 |
| 500 gm | ₹2,950 | ₹5,900 | ≈31 |
| 1 kg | ₹5,310 | ₹5,310 | ≈62 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹118 | ₹7,866.67 | ≈0 |
| 50 gm | ₹342.20 | ₹6,844 | ≈3 |
| 100 gm | ₹665.52 | ₹6,655.20 | ≈6 |
| 500 gm | ₹3,327.60 | ₹6,655.20 | ≈31 |
| 1 kg | ₹6,655.20 | ₹6,655.20 | ≈62 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹106.20 | ₹7,080 | ≈0 |
| 50 gm | ₹330.40 | ₹6,608 | ≈3 |
| 100 gm | ₹590 | ₹5,900 | ≈6 |
| 500 gm | ₹2,714 | ₹5,428 | ≈31 |
| 1 kg | ₹5,310 | ₹5,310 | ≈62 |
Flash point against your add temperature
A flash point is the lowest temperature at which a liquid gives off enough vapour to form an ignitable mixture in air. For a candle maker it is a process boundary rather than a scare story. Your wax page tells you to add fragrance at a temperature; if that reaches the oil's stated flash point you are working at the edge of a measured number, and you should move. The rule is conservative and simple: add below the stated flash point, at the lowest temperature in your wax page's band that still lets the oil blend in fully.
| Oil | Stated flash point | Against an 80–90°C add band | Practical instruction |
|---|---|---|---|
| Neroli | "Flashpoint: 85°C" | Inside the band | Add at 80°C. Do not follow the top of the band. |
| Palo Santo | "Flashpoint: 93°C" | Just above the band | Add at 80–85°C and keep a margin. |
| Gardenia | "Flashpoint 98°C" | Just above the band | The page itself says: "ensure you add this oil to your wax at a temperature below 98°". |
| Cinnamon Vanilla | "Flashpoint 270°F" | Well clear | The page also gives 132°C in brackets. No conflict. |
| Citronella | "Flash Point: 270°F" | Well clear | No conflict at any CSI wax add temperature. |
| Blue Ocean | "Flashpoint 143°C (290°F)" | Well clear | Its page notes "standard handling precautions apply". |
| Jasmine | "Flashpoint 185°C" | Well clear | Page calls it "one of the most technically reliable oils in the CSI range". |
| Sage and Cedarwood | "Flashpoint: 190°C" | Well clear | Four sizes listed rather than five. |
| British Rose | "Flashpoint 192°C" | Well clear | Page: "comfortable working temperature margins". |
| Cinnamon · Ylang Ylang Flower | "Flashpoint: 193°C" | Well clear | No conflict. |
| Dark Vanilla · Roasted Coffee | "Flashpoint ~191-193°C" | Well clear | Stated as an approximate range; treat the lower figure as the working number. |
| Eucalyptus Spearmint | "Flashpoint 199°C" | Well clear | No conflict. |
| Verbena | "Flashpoint: 200°C" | Well clear | No conflict. |
| Sandalwood · Vanilla Bean | "Flashpoint 203°C" / "Flashpoint: 203°C" | Well clear | No conflict. |
| Vetiver | "Flashpoint 206°C" | Well clear | Highest measured value listed; 1 kg pack currently sold out. |
The add band used above is the one the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page states — fragrance in at 80–90°C, pour at 70–80°C. Eco Soy CSI 400 states 80–90°C with 85°C named and a two-minute stir. Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 runs much cooler — a stated melting point of 50–53°C and a pour at 58–60°C — which removes the conflict entirely and is one practical reason a low-flash-point oil may suit a coconut-soy build better than a hot soy one. Check your own wax page; the numbers differ, and the lower of the two always governs.
What even a 5/5 page will not tell you
A perfect score means the page gave you five numbers. It does not mean it told you everything, and a guide that stopped here would be selling a false sense of completeness. Here is what is absent from every page in the range, including the thirteen best.
| Not stated anywhere | Why buyers want it | What to do instead |
|---|---|---|
| Burn hours and scent persistence | To print a figure on a label | Measure your own: weigh, burn three hours, weigh again, divide |
| Shelf life, expiry or storage instructions | To plan stock rotation | Keep bottles closed and out of heat and sun; re-test before a big run |
| GC-MS, lab reports or third-party testing | To satisfy a corporate buyer | Ask for the SDS and run your own four-batch repeatability record |
| IFRA certificate, amendment or category numbers | To answer a stockist's compliance question | Pages state IFRA compliance in words only; request documentation directly |
| Batch or lot numbers and batch test data | To trace a complaint | Record your own batch numbers against bottle sizes and purchase dates |
| Allergen declarations or an ingredient list | For labelling and disclosure | Ask before you commit to a label claim; do not infer one |
Two of those rows deserve particular care. No CSI page states an IFRA certificate number, amendment number, category number or assessment date — the wording is always a compliance statement plus an in-house usage table, and 36 of the 107 pages do not mention IFRA at all. And only two pages mention an SDS; none attaches one. The correct move is not to assume and not to despair, but to ask, in writing, for the specific oil you are about to buy in quantity. A supplier's willingness to say "the page does not state that" is itself a data point, and choosing a supplier on that basis is the subject of how to choose a reliable fragrance oil supplier.
Using an oil that scores badly — on purpose
Twenty-four pages state none of the five fields, and some carry scents your customers will love. A low score is not a veto; it is a bill. Here is how to write the missing specification yourself, in five steps and one weekend, so a 0/5 oil ends up as well documented in your files as a 5/5 one.
CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials; we do not blend fragrance oil and we do not sell finished candles. This page scores our own listings and publishes the result, including the 24 pages that state none of the five fields and the 32 that are missing a flash point. We would sell more by calling the whole range professional-grade. We would also be telling you something that no standard, test or certifying body supports.
Every price, pack size and quoted sentence comes from live CSI stock in September 2026 and links to the product page, where current pricing always takes precedence. Flash points are quoted only from the 18 pages that state a measured value; the shared line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" appears on 32 further pages and is a threshold for alcohol-based products, not a measured value, so it is excluded. Loads, vanillin lines and cure times are quoted only where the page states them. Loads are formulation guidance, not regulatory limits.
For the MSDS or IFRA documentation on a specific oil, for bulk pricing above the listed 1 kg packs, or for GST invoicing, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926. If a document does not exist for a given oil, we will say so.
Frequently asked questions
- High-performance fragrance oils for commercial candle making
- Long-lasting candle fragrance oils in India
- Best fragrance oils for professional candle makers
- How to tell if a candle fragrance oil is good quality
- What should I look for when buying candle fragrance oil?
- Best temperature for adding fragrance oil to soy wax
- Which candle fragrances are least likely to discolour white wax?
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; one longer review is shortened with an ellipsis and otherwise unedited.
Figures verified September 2026: All 107 listed CSI fragrance-oil descriptions were read and scored on five fields — a stated candle fragrance load (81 pages), a wax-specific load naming both soy and paraffin with percentages (52), a measured flash point (18), a vanillin or discolouration statement (61) and a stated cure time (63). Score distribution: 5/5 on 16 pages, 4/5 on 32, 3/5 on 13, 2/5 on 6, 1/5 on 16 and 0/5 on 24. Of the 16 scoring 5/5, three fail an availability check — Blue Ocean has one of five sizes sold out, Sage and Cedarwood lists four sizes, and Vetiver's 1 kg pack is sold out — leaving 13. All flash points quoted are verbatim from the 18 pages that state a measured value; the shared line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" on 32 further pages is a threshold, not a measured value, and is excluded. 1 kg prices used: British Rose ₹3,068, Eucalyptus Spearmint ₹3,068, Roasted Coffee ₹3,738, Jasmine ₹3,923, Gardenia ₹4,332, Verbena ₹4,720, Sandalwood ₹5,026.80, Cinnamon ₹5,310, Ylang Ylang Flower ₹5,310, Palo Santo ₹6,018, Neroli ₹6,655.20, Vanilla Bean ₹7,646, Dark Vanilla ₹7,646. 100 g prices used: ₹342.20, ₹354, ₹390, ₹430, ₹433, ₹590, ₹502.68, ₹590, ₹590, ₹601.80, ₹665.52, ₹790, ₹790 — total ₹7,069.20. Candle maths assumes fragrance load as a percentage of finished candle weight: a 200 g candle at 8% = 184 g wax + 16 g oil; oil cost = 1 kg price ÷ 1,000 × 16. Wax cost uses Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 1 kg ₹599, giving ₹110.22 for 184 g, so wax + oil per candle is ₹159.31 (British Rose), ₹195.18 (Cinnamon) and ₹216.70 (Neroli). Stated wax temperatures and loads: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 8–13% with 10% recommended, fragrance added at 80–90°C, poured at 70–80°C; Eco Soy CSI 400 fragrance at 80–90°C (85°C) with a two-minute stir; Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 melt 50–53°C, pour 58–60°C, up to 13%; Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 up to 10%. Loads are formulation limits, not regulatory limits. No CSI page states an IFRA certificate, amendment or category number, a shelf life, a storage instruction, burn hours, scent persistence, GC-MS or third-party lab data, batch numbers or an allergen declaration; 36 of 107 pages do not mention IFRA at all and only 2 mention an SDS. Scores were taken from a structured extract of each page's text; where an extract misses a line the product page itself is authoritative, so treat a score as a shortlisting aid rather than a verdict on an oil. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.