I Already Bought Fragrance Oils I Love but Haven't Chosen Wax Yet — How Do I Select a Candle Wax That Gives Those Fragrances a Good Chance of Performing?
Share
What if the oil wants 13%? Then a 10% wax is the constraint, not the oil. Cinnamon Vanilla states "Up to 13% of total wax weight"; only Luxury Soy Wax Chunks and CSI 468 publish a ceiling that high.
Does the flash point matter? Only where the page actually states one — 18 CSI oil pages give a measured value. Neroli states "Flashpoint: 85°C" and Gardenia states 98°C with an instruction to add below it. Those two want a wax with a low stated pour temperature.
Should I buy a 5 kg bag? No. Buy 500 g of two candidate waxes — ₹260 and ₹325 at CSI's listed 500 g prices — and audition them on the oils you already have. The bag size is the last decision, not the first.
Two ceilings, one working number
A fragrance load is not a single fact about a candle. It is the overlap of two separate published claims. The oil's page tells you the proportion the fragrance is formulated to sit at in wax. The wax's page tells you the proportion the wax is formulated to hold. Neither number knows about the other, and the one that matters to you is the smaller of the pair — the same way a bridge's weight limit does not rise because your lorry is light.
This matters most to someone who bought oils first, because the oil you already own can be the binding constraint. Buying a wax that states 13% does not make a 9% oil into a 13% oil. Conversely, buying a beautiful oil that states 13% and pairing it with a wax that states 10% wastes the headroom you paid for. Once you see it as an overlap, the shopping decision becomes mechanical.
| Your oil states | Wax states 13% (Chunks, CSI 468) | Wax states 10% (CSI 464) | Wax states nothing (Eco Soy 400, Soy Pearl) | Where to start your first pour |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 13% (e.g. Cinnamon Vanilla) | 13% — full headroom | 10% — wax is the limit | No published wax figure; the oil's 13% is all you have | 8%, then step up in a repeat batch |
| Up to 10% for soy (e.g. British Rose, Sandalwood) | 10% — oil is the limit | 10% — both agree | 10% from the oil page | 8%, with 10% as the documented ceiling |
| 6–10% (e.g. Citrus Lemon) | 10% — oil is the limit | 10% — both agree | 10% from the oil page | 8%, the mid-point of the oil's own range |
| 6–9% (e.g. Fresh Strawberries) | 9% — oil is the limit | 9% — oil is the limit | 9% from the oil page | 8%, near the top of the oil's own range |
| Nothing stated (26 of 107 pages) | 13% from the wax page | 10% from the wax page | No published figure at all on either side | 8%, and say so in your log as your decision |
What your oil page already told you
Before you shop for wax, spend five minutes with the oils you own. Most CSI oil pages carry a short usage block, and the useful thing about it is that it states different numbers for different waxes — which is precisely the information a wax-shopper needs. Here are seven oils, quoted, with what 16 g of each costs inside a 200 g candle at an 8% load.
| Oil | Stated soy / candle load | Stated paraffin load | Stated wax-melt load | Stated flash point | 100 g price | Oil in a 200 g candle at 8% |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citrus Lemon | 6–10% for soy wax candles | 6–8% | 10–15% | Not stated | ₹300 | ₹48 |
| British Rose | Up to 10% for soy wax | Up to 6% | Up to 12% | Flashpoint 192°C | ₹342.20 | ₹54.75 |
| Fresh Strawberries | 6–9% for candles | Not stated | 8–12% | Not stated | ₹377.60 | ₹60.42 |
| Gardenia | Up to 10% for soy wax | Up to 6% | Not stated | Flashpoint 98°C — "add to wax below this temperature" | ₹433 | ₹69.28 |
| Cinnamon Vanilla | Up to 13% of total wax weight | Covered by the same figure across "soy, paraffin, and natural wax blends" | Not stated | Flashpoint 270°F (132°C) | ₹483.80 | ₹77.41 |
| Sandalwood | Up to 10% for soy wax | Up to 6% | Up to 12% | Flashpoint 203°C | ₹502.68 | ₹80.43 |
| Neroli | Up to 10% for soy wax | Up to 6% | Not stated | Flashpoint: 85°C | ₹665.52 | ₹106.48 |
Two things in that table should change how you shop. First, the spread in oil cost per candle is ₹58.48 between the cheapest and the dearest of these seven — larger than the spread in wax cost per candle across CSI's entire soy range. If your oils are already bought, that money is spent; what is still in your hands is not wasting it in a wax that cannot hold the load the oil wants. Second, look at the wax-melt column: where a page states a melt figure it is almost always higher than the candle figure. That is a clue about how format changes dosing, and it is worked through in the candles-and-wax-melts guide.
Flash point vs the wax's add temperature
A flash point is the temperature at which a liquid gives off enough vapour to ignite in the presence of a flame. In candle making it is not a burn-safety rating for the finished candle — it is a handling number for the hot stage, and its practical use is simple: do not add the oil to wax that is hotter than the oil's stated flash point, and where an oil states a low one, prefer a wax whose published working temperature is low.
Be careful how you read CSI's range here, because the pages are not uniform. 18 pages state a measured value. A further group states only the threshold line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)", which is a perfume-grade template statement and not a measurement — it cannot be turned into a number. And 56 pages state nothing at all, in which case there is no published figure and the honest move is to work cool, ask for documentation, and not guess from a similar scent.
| Oil (stated flash point) | CSI 468 · pour 58–60°C | Luxury Soy Chunks · add 80–90°C, pour 70–80°C | Eco Soy CSI 400 · add 80–90°C (85°C) | CSI 464 · page states 80–90°C |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neroli — 85°C | 25°C of margin | Add at the low end and log it | The stated 85°C add temperature equals the stated flash point | The stated band reaches above it |
| Palo Santo — 93°C | Comfortable | Comfortable | Comfortable, with 8°C of margin | Band top is 3°C below it |
| Gardenia — 98°C, "add to wax below this temperature" | Comfortable | Comfortable | Comfortable | Comfortable |
| Blue Ocean — 143°C (290°F) | No constraint | No constraint | No constraint | No constraint |
| Eucalyptus Spearmint — 199°C | No constraint | No constraint | No constraint | No constraint |
| A page that states none (56 of 107) | Safest default | Work at the low end of the band | Work at the low end of the band | Work at the low end of the band |
The wax shortlist for oils you already own
Four container waxes cover almost every oil in the catalogue. Each card is written from the oil's point of view: what this wax lets your fragrance do, what it publishes, and what it leaves to you. Prices per kilo are flat or nearly flat across pack sizes on most of them, so the 500 g bag is not a penalty — it is just a smaller audition.
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹299 | ₹598 | ≈2 |
| 1 kg | ₹599 | ₹599 | ≈5 |
| 5 kg | ₹2,995 | ₹599 | ≈27 |
| 10 kg | ₹5,999 | ₹599.90 | ≈54 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹325 | ₹650 | ≈2 |
| 1 kg | ₹650 | ₹650 | ≈5 |
| 5 kg | ₹3,185 | ₹637 | ≈27 |
| 10 kg | ₹6,370 | ₹637 | ≈54 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹260 | ₹520 | ≈2 |
| 1 kg | ₹507.40 | ₹507.40 | ≈5 |
| 5 kg | ₹2,537 | ₹507.40 | ≈27 |
| 10 kg | ₹5,074 | ₹507.40 | ≈54 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 200g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 kg | ₹399 | ₹399 | ≈5 |
| 5 kg | ₹1,996 | ₹399.20 | ≈27 |
The paraffin option, and why it halves your oil bill
Look again at the paraffin column in the oils table. Page after page states a markedly lower figure for paraffin than for soy — "Up to 6% for paraffin wax" against "Up to 10% for soy wax" on British Rose, Sandalwood, Gardenia and Neroli; 6–8% against 6–10% on Citrus Lemon. That is a real, published difference and it has two consequences a beginner should weigh before buying either wax.
The first is money. At the oil's stated soy figure a 200 g candle takes 20 g of oil; at the stated paraffin figure it takes 12 g. On Sandalwood at ₹5.0268 a gram that is ₹100.54 against ₹60.32 per candle — a saving of ₹40.22 on every candle you pour. The second is that it is not a free saving: the wax is a different material, Fully Refined Paraffin Wax Pellets are ₹354 a kilo and Semi Refined Paraffin Wax is ₹220 a kilo, and neither page states a fragrance load at all, so your only published number is the oil's paraffin figure. CSI lists paraffin in 500 g and 1 kg only; there are no bulk paraffin packs.
When your oil page states nothing
Twenty-six of the 107 CSI fragrance-oil pages state no usage percentage, and 56 state no flash point. If the oils you fell in love with are in those groups, you have not bought badly — you have bought something that needs the wax to carry the published numbers instead. In that situation, deliberately choose a wax with the fullest specification, because it is the only part of the pair that will give you figures to work to.
| Situation | What you know | What to buy | What you must do yourself |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oil states a load, wax states a ceiling | Both numbers; work to the lower | Either wax that covers the oil's figure | Burn test, and repeat the winner once |
| Oil states a load, wax silent | The oil's figure only | Wax on price and pour temperature | Hold the oil's number; log it as your ceiling |
| Oil silent, wax states a ceiling | The wax's figure only | Chunks (13%) or CSI 464 (10%) — waxes with published ranges | Start at 8%, move in 1% steps between batches |
| Both silent | Nothing published | Smallest listed packs of both | 8%, one variable at a time, and write everything down |
| Oil page mentions IFRA | That the page mentions it — nothing more | Unaffected; this is not a load figure | Ask for documentation on WhatsApp if you need it |
Two cautions on what a silent page is not. It is not an invitation to copy a number from a similar scent: two vanillas from different suppliers can be formulated at different strengths, and the load on one page tells you nothing about the other. And where a page mentions IFRA, that is a statement the page makes, not a certificate you can cite — if your customers or a marketplace need documentation, ask for it rather than inferring it.
The 500 g wax audition
You own the oils. What you are buying now is evidence about wax, and evidence is cheap at 500 g. Two bags, one oil, one jar, one wick, one load — and the only thing that differs between the two halves of the test is the wax itself.
CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials and does not sell finished candles. We sell the oils and the wax, which is exactly why this page tells you to buy 500 g rather than 5 kg: a maker whose first pour works reorders for years, and a maker who commits to a bag of wax that cannot hold their favourite oil usually blames the oil and stops.
Every load, temperature, flash point and price above is quoted from live CSI product pages in September 2026 and linked, so the listing is always the authority. Flash points are quoted only for the pages that state a measured value; the threshold line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" is not treated as a measurement, and for the pages that state nothing we say nothing. Stated fragrance loads are wax and oil formulation limits, not regulatory limits. Where a page mentions IFRA we describe it as mentioning it; documentation is available on request.
For help matching a specific oil to a specific wax, for bulk pricing, GST invoicing, or MSDS and IFRA documentation on request, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.
Frequently asked questions
- I already bought soy wax — which jar and wick?
- Candles and wax melts: same oils and dyes, different waxes?
- How do I choose wax when fragrance performance is my priority?
- Best temperature for adding fragrance oil to soy wax
- What fragrance load should you use for floral, woody and gourmand oils?
- Soy wax vs paraffin wax — which is better for beginners?
- Why fragrance oils behave differently in wax and soap
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; one longer review is shortened with an ellipsis and otherwise unedited.
Figures verified September 2026: Wax prices and stated specifications — Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 500 g ₹299, 1 kg ₹599, 5 kg ₹2,995, 10 kg ₹5,999; page states "up to 13% fragrance load capacity", "Recommended fragrance load: 8% to 13% of total wax weight", "10% Recommended", "Recommended fragrance add temp 80-90°C" and a pour of 70–80°C (its specification table also states 75–80°C). Premium Coconut Soy Wax CSI 468 500 g ₹325, 1 kg ₹650, 5 kg ₹3,185 (₹637/kg), 10 kg ₹6,370; page states "Fragrance Load Up to 13%", "Melting Point 50°C – 53°C", "Pour Temperature 58°C – 60°C". Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 500 g ₹260 (₹520/kg), 1 kg ₹507.40, 5 kg ₹2,537, 10 kg ₹5,074; page states "Fragrance Load Up to 10%", "Melting Point 80°C – 90°C" and "Pour Temperature 80°C – 90°C". Eco Soy CSI 400 1 kg ₹399, 5 kg ₹1,996; page states "add your fragrance or essential oils at 85°C (185°F), stir gently for 2 minutes, and pour directly" and "Fragrance Add Temperature 80 to 90 degrees", with no stated maximum load. Natural Soy Pearl Wax 1 kg ₹450 states no load or temperatures. Fully Refined Paraffin Wax Pellets 500 g ₹177, 1 kg ₹354; Semi Refined Paraffin Wax 1 kg ₹220 — neither states a fragrance load, and CSI lists no paraffin pack above 1 kg. Fragrance-oil figures, all quoted from the product pages — Citrus Lemon 100 g ₹300, "6-10% for soy wax candles", "6-8% for paraffin wax", "10-15% for wax melts", no flash point stated; British Rose 100 g ₹342.20, "Up to 10% for soy wax", "Up to 6% for paraffin wax", wax melts "up to 12%", "Flashpoint 192°C"; Fresh Strawberries 100 g ₹377.60, "6-9% for candles", "8-12% for wax melts", no flash point stated; Gardenia 100 g ₹433, "Up to 10% for soy wax", "Up to 6% for paraffin wax", "Flashpoint 98°C - add to wax below this temperature"; Cinnamon Vanilla 100 g ₹483.80, "Up to 13% of total wax weight" across "soy, paraffin, and natural wax blends", "Flashpoint 270°F (132°C)"; Sandalwood 100 g ₹502.68, "Up to 10% for soy wax", "Up to 6% for paraffin wax", "Up to 12% for wax melts", "Flashpoint 203°C"; Neroli 100 g ₹665.52, "Up to 10% for soy wax", "Up to 6% for paraffin wax", "Flashpoint: 85°C"; Palo Santo "Flashpoint: 93°C"; Blue Ocean "Flashpoint 143°C (290°F)"; Eucalyptus Spearmint "Flashpoint 199°C". Coverage counts across the 107 saved CSI fragrance-oil pages: 81 state at least one usage percentage and 26 state none; 18 state a measured flash point, around 30 state only the threshold "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)", and 56 state none. Cure times quoted where pages give them: 48–72 hours for soy, 24–48 hours for paraffin. Assumptions, stated as assumptions: load calculated as a share of finished candle weight (200 g at 8% = 184 g wax + 16 g oil; at 10% = 180 g + 20 g; at 13% = 174 g + 26 g); an 8% starting load for every first pour; a 14-day cure judgement for soy containers; a 120 g test jar for the four-candle audition. Stated loads are formulation limits, not regulatory limits, and no figure on this page measures scent throw. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.