Can You Use Soap Fragrance Oil in Candles?

Can You Use Soap Fragrance Oil in Candles?

 

92 CSI oils · 72 publish a candle range Soap 3–5% · candles up to 10–13% GST invoicing · MSDS & IFRA on request
CSI fragrance oil guides
One concentrate, one rate per format — and the soap rate is the wrong one for wax.
★★★★★
"I have purchased this fragrance and it is amazing..their quality is extremely good…"
Lalitha JaganAug 2024
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"My customer was very happy with this apple cinnamon fragrance. As soon as they entered their home this smell is warmth and pleasing. And I got many orders who visited their home, as they also loved the smell."
PREETHI PRASATHVerified buyer · May 2026
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"The fragrance was really amazing"
Akanksha SharmaVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Roasted Coffee Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Absolutely loved it!! Smells so perfect!! Go for itt! Packing is done very carefully and happy for that!❤️"
Kavitha murthyOct 2025
Fresh Strawberries Fragrance Oil
★★★★☆
"Fragrance is awesome. Hot throw is also very good after burn candle."
AkanshaVerified buyer · Dec 2025
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Good quality"
Ana FernandesVerified buyer · Nov 2024
Gold Mica
★★★★★
"I have purchased this fragrance and it is amazing..their quality is extremely good…"
Lalitha JaganAug 2024
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"My customer was very happy with this apple cinnamon fragrance. As soon as they entered their home this smell is warmth and pleasing. And I got many orders who visited their home, as they also loved the smell."
PREETHI PRASATHVerified buyer · May 2026
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"The fragrance was really amazing"
Akanksha SharmaVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Roasted Coffee Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Absolutely loved it!! Smells so perfect!! Go for itt! Packing is done very carefully and happy for that!❤️"
Kavitha murthyOct 2025
Fresh Strawberries Fragrance Oil
★★★★☆
"Fragrance is awesome. Hot throw is also very good after burn candle."
AkanshaVerified buyer · Dec 2025
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Good quality"
Ana FernandesVerified buyer · Nov 2024
Gold Mica
Reviews collected and published through Judge.me on candlemakingsuppliesindia.store. Wording is unedited. One is below five stars and two are not recorded as a verified purchase — shown as recorded.
✓ Every percentage quoted from a live product page ✓ Unpublished figures flagged, never guessed ✓ Bulk pricing and documentation on WhatsApp
Candle Supplier Guides · Fragrance Oil
Usually the same concentrate — but the soap number and the candle number are different, they are shares of different things, and only one of them has to survive a wick.
3% vs 10%
melt-and-pour soap and candles, from the maximum usage table on one CSI oil page · CSI live pricing, September 2026
Quick answers — read this first
Can I use soap fragrance oil in candles? Usually yes, if it is neat concentrate and a candle percentage is published for it. Use the candle number, never the soap one. Royal Apricot publishes 10% for candles against 5% cold-process soap and 3% melt and pour. If it is already blended into a carrier, keep it for soap.

Why are the soap and candle percentages different? Because they are shares of different things and the formats ask different things of the oil. Soap counts against the base or the base oils; candles count against wax weight. Dose 200 g of wax at a 3% soap rate and you add 6 g where the standard unit uses 16 g.

Does “soap safe” mean candle safe? No. Soap safe says the oil holds up chemically and is offered within IFRA-assessed rates for a skin product. It says nothing about staying dissolved in crystallising soy, climbing a wick, or burning cleanly. Those are separate questions with separate tests.

Will a vanilla soap oil discolour my candle? Probably, if it carries vanillin — Cinnamon Vanilla publishes 2.5% with a moderate discolouration note. In soap a vanilla stabiliser helps; in wax there is no equivalent. Yellowing is cosmetic, not a burn or safety issue.
The short answer
Neat soap oil with a published candle rate: yes — use that candle rate, typically 6–10% of wax weight, and prove it in a 50 g pour first.
Neat soap oil with no candle rate: unqualified, not unsafe. Ask the supplier in writing, then test at 6% against a control jar before you buy a kilo.
A soap fragrance already blended into a carrier: no. Keep it for soap — the carrier is liquid the wax lattice has to hold on top of the fragrance, and it has nowhere to go.
Grams of one fragrance oil used in one batch of each format, at the maximum rates its page publishes The lowest percentage uses the most oilOne oil, one batch of each format, at the maximum rates the Royal Apricotpage publishes. Bar length = grams of oil. Batch sizes are this page’s own.Cold-process soap — 5% of 1 kg base oils50 g of oilMelt-and-pour soap — 3% of 1 kg base30 g of oilRoom spray or linen mist — 5% of 500 g base25 g of oilCandle — 8% of 200 g of wax16 g of oilBody cream, leave-on — 3% of a 200 g jar6 g of oil
What it shows: one fragrance oil dosed into one batch of five different products at the maximum rates its own page publishes. The soap rows use the lowest percentages on that page and the largest quantities of oil, because the percentage is a share of a different thing every time. Deliberately left out: the price of any soap or spray base — CSI sells fragrance concentrate, not finished bases, and does not publish a base cost — and any rate for a soap oil bought from another supplier, which only that supplier can tell you.
Straight answer
Can you use soap fragrance oil in candles?
In most cases yes, because there is no separate chemical called soap fragrance oil — there is fragrance concentrate, and a usage rate for every format it suits. CSI runs one page per oil with all those rates on it: the Royal Apricot page publishes a maximum recommended usage table listing cold-process soap 5%, melt-and-pour soap 3%, candles in soy, paraffin and blends 10%, room sprays 5%, solid perfume 15% and extrait 25%, described as maximum recommended percentages by weight. So the question is not whether the liquid is allowed in wax; it is whether you know the candle number and whether the bottle is neat. Two traps follow. The first is the denominator: candle percentages are shares of wax weight, soap percentages are shares of the base or the base oils, and batch sizes differ, so a 1 kg cold-process batch at 5% takes 50 g of oil while a 200 g candle at 8% takes 16 g — the lower percentage uses more oil, which is why soap makers underestimate what a candle line will consume. The second is what “soap safe” proves: that an oil survives a strongly alkaline batter and is offered within IFRA-assessed rates for a skin product. It proves nothing about staying inside a crystallising wax lattice at the 10% ceiling on CSI 464 or the 13% ceiling on Luxury Soy Wax Chunks, nothing about climbing a wick, and nothing about burning cleanly. Vanillin crosses both lines and behaves differently on each — Cinnamon Vanilla publishes 2.5%, which browns soap and yellows white wax, and while several CSI pages note that a vanilla stabiliser helps in soap, there is no equivalent for wax. If the bottle came from a soap-only supplier with no candle figure, treat it as unqualified rather than unsafe: ask for the rate and the flash point in writing, pour one 50 g jar at 6% alongside a control, check the top at 72 hours and burn at day fourteen.
One line: It is usually the same concentrate — but use the candle percentage, remember it is a share of wax weight, and understand that surviving soap proves nothing about surviving a wick.
Short version: if it is a neat fragrance oil, usually yes — but only at the candle percentage, and only if a candle percentage is published for it. “Soap safe” is a statement about a bar that never catches fire. A wick puts everything in the pool through a flame. CSI lists 92 fragrance oils and 72 of those pages publish a candle usage range alongside the soap one.
Shop fragrance oils — 15 g from ₹68.44

Most of the time it is the same bottle with a different label

There is no separate chemical called soap fragrance oil. There is fragrance concentrate, and there are usage rates for each thing you might put it in.

A soap supplier and a candle supplier are frequently buying the same concentrate from the same perfumery house and printing a different usage line on the bottle. CSI does not run two catalogues for this reason: one oil page carries the rates for every format it suits. The Royal Apricot page publishes a maximum recommended usage table with ten rows on it — extrait 25%, eau de parfum 20%, solid perfume 15%, leave-on body products 3%, cold-process soap 5%, melt-and-pour soap 3%, candles in soy, paraffin and blends 10%, room sprays 5%, reed diffusers with a base 25% — and describes those as maximum recommended percentages by weight.

So the honest first answer is: probably yes, if the bottle is neat concentrate and the page tells you what a candle can take. The Fresh Strawberries page runs the same logic in the other direction — it lists candles at 6–9% of total wax weight, wax melts at 8–12%, reed diffusers 10–30% of base, room sprays 8–15% of base, and soap as per IFRA rates, describing it as suitable for melt-and-pour and cold-process soap within those rates. Same liquid, five jobs, five numbers.

The trouble starts when the bottle in your hand came from a soap-only supplier and carries only a soap number, or no number at all. Then you are not looking at a different chemical — you are looking at an unanswered question, and this page is about how to answer it before you commit a batch of wax.

What the bottle is telling you
Four situations, and what each one allows
What you have What is inside Can it go into wax? What to do first
A CSI oil page with a candle line Neat concentrate Yes Use the candle percentage, not the soap one
A soap oil with a candle percentage from its own supplier Neat concentrate Probably Prove it in a 50 g pour first
A soap oil with only a soap percentage Usually neat, unconfirmed Unknown Ask the supplier for the candle rate in writing
A “soap fragrance” already blended into a carrier Mostly carrier No Keep it for soap
You used the soap number in a candle and the jar smells like half a candle. On the Royal Apricot page cold-process soap tops out at 5% and melt-and-pour at 3%, while candles run to 10%. Dose 200 g of wax at the melt-and-pour rate and you have added 6 g of oil where the standard unit uses 16 g — under 40% of a normal load. It is not a bad oil. It is the right oil at the wrong number, and the fix costs nothing but a recalculation.

The percentages are shares of completely different things

Five percent of soap and eight percent of wax are not comparable quantities. One of them is three times the other.

Every fragrance percentage is a fraction, and the number underneath the line changes with the format. In candles, this series and CSI’s product pages both count fragrance as a share of wax weight — “13% of total wax weight” on Luxury Soy Wax Chunks, “up to 10%” on Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464. In cold-process soap the usual denominator is the weight of the base oils in the recipe; in melt-and-pour it is the weight of the base; in a room spray it is the weight of the spray base. Batch sizes differ too, and that is where the intuition breaks.

Work one batch of each and the ranking inverts. A 1 kg cold-process soap batch at the published 5% maximum takes 50 g of oil. A 1 kg melt-and-pour batch at 3% takes 30 g. A 200 g candle at 8% of wax takes 16 g. The soap rows have the lower percentages and the larger appetite, which is exactly why a soap maker’s instinct — “this oil goes a long way, I barely use any” — is wrong when they walk over to the wax pot. They have never measured it per batch.

One oil, one batch of each
Royal Apricot at its own published maximums, priced at the 1 kg rate
Format Published maximum Batch used here Grams of oil Cost of the oil
Cold-process soap 5% of base oils 1 kg of base oils 50 g ₹183.35
Melt-and-pour soap 3% of base 1 kg of base 30 g ₹110.01
Room spray or linen mist 5% of base 500 g of base 25 g ₹91.68
Candle 10% of wax weight 200 g of wax at 8% 16 g ₹58.67
Body cream, leave-on 3% a 200 g jar 6 g ₹22.00
Priced above: Royal Apricot at the 1 kg rate of ₹3.67 a gram (₹3,667.00 the kilo). The percentages are the page’s own maximum recommended rates by weight; the batch sizes are this page’s, chosen to be recognisable, not CSI’s. CSI sells fragrance concentrate, not finished soap or spray bases, so no base cost is included in any row — the oil line is the only part CSI can price.
WRITE THE DENOMINATOR ON THE BOTTLE
When you decant an oil into a working bottle, write two things on the tape: the oil name and the phrase “candles: X% of WAX weight”. Not “8%”. The word that goes missing is the one underneath the line, and it goes missing about a month after you decant, when you are pouring at eleven at night before a market. A weighing scale at ₹354.00 settles the rest; only two are in stock at the moment, so check before you count on it.

What “soap safe” proves, and what it does not

A bar of soap never has to survive being set on fire.

If a supplier tells you an oil is soap safe, they are usually telling you three useful things: it does not seize or rice the batter into an unworkable mess, it survives the high pH of fresh soap without collapsing into nothing, and it is offered at a rate assessed against IFRA standards for a rinse-off or leave-on product. All three are real. None of them is a statement about candles.

Here is the asymmetry that matters. Soap is a chemical test; a candle is a thermal one. Soap batter is strongly alkaline while it saponifies and then settles down, and the fragrance has to hold its character through that. A candle asks nothing about pH at all. What a candle asks is whether the oil stays dissolved in a crystallising wax for weeks at 30–40°C, whether it climbs a wick at a steady rate, and whether it burns cleanly in a flame with no soot. An oil can pass the first test perfectly and fail all three of the second.

Two different survival tests
What each format actually demands of the same oil
Demand Soap Candle
Chemical environment Strongly alkaline while it saponifies Neutral — pH is irrelevant
Thermal stress Warm for hours in cold process, hotter in melt and pour Added at 80–90°C, then a flame for hours
Physical binding Held in a solid fat matrix Held in a crystallising wax lattice, ceiling 10–13%
Delivery route Water and friction on the skin A wick drawing liquid up into a flame
Discolouration shows as Browning of the bar Yellowing of white wax
Time to judge Cure 4–6 weeks in cold process (general practice) 14–21 days before the throw settles
Flash point matters? Not to the maker Yes, for storage and handling

Read the last row carefully, because it is the one that trips experienced soap makers. A flash point is a transport, storage and handling property — it is not the temperature at which an oil burns away, and it does not rank hot throw. Soap makers have generally never needed to look at it. Candle makers do, because the oil is being added to a pot at 80–90°C and stored in an Indian workshop that can sit above 40°C in May. CSI publishes a numeric flash point on 16 of its 92 oil pages: Gardenia Tuberose at 98°C and Palo Santo at 93°C are the low ones, and where a figure is that close to the add window the sensible move is to add at the bottom of the 80–90°C band. Where no figure is published, ask on WhatsApp rather than assuming.

The CSI principle
Soap safe is a statement about skin. Candle suitable is a statement about fire.
The two tests share a bottle and nothing else. An oil that survives saponification beautifully can still separate out of setting soy, and an oil that throws superbly from a melt pool can still ruin a batch of cold-process batter.

Trace, seizing and the things soap pages warn about

The warnings on a soap page are real. They are just warnings about a different problem.

CSI’s own Lavender Fragrance Oil page is a good example of an honest cross-format note. It says the oil can be used in soap but will accelerate trace — the batter thickens quickly once the fragrance goes in — and advises working fast, having the mould ready before adding fragrance, considering a room-temperature recipe for more working time, and that it is not recommended for beginners making cold-process soap. That is a specific, useful warning, and it has exactly no bearing on what the same oil does in wax, where its published candle rate is 6–10% of total wax weight and 16 g costs ₹83.54 at the 1 kg rate.

The reverse also holds. Oils that are easy in soap are not automatically easy in wax. Floral and spice materials commonly accelerate trace; heavy vanilla and resin materials commonly discolour; citrus materials commonly fade. Only the second of those three shows up in a candle at all, and it shows up differently. If you have been keeping notes on your soap line, those notes will not transfer. Start a second notebook.

You assumed a soap oil that behaved perfectly would behave perfectly in wax, and the jar developed a wet ring. Soy holds fragrance inside a crystal lattice, and the lattice has a limit — that is what “up to 10% of total wax weight” means. An oil formulated with a heavy carrier or a high proportion of materials that do not co-crystallise with soy will be pushed out as the jar sets, and in a Mumbai August at 30–33°C with high humidity it happens faster than in a test pour you did in January. If a candle sweats, drop the load by two percentage points and re-test before you blame the wax.
If you run both lines: oils that publish a candle range and a soap line on the same page are the ones worth standardising on. Blue Ocean is described as working across candles at up to 10%, wax melts, diffusers, room sprays, soaps and body products, with 0% vanillin and a 143°C flash point — 16 g in a 200 g candle is ₹79.30. Gilli Mitti Patchouli states 6–10% across all wax types and suitability for soy, beeswax, paraffin and soap.
Browse all 92 fragrance oils

Vanillin: soap browns, wax yellows, and only soap has a fix

This is the one place where the soap world has a tool the candle world does not.

Vanillin is the material that gives vanilla, tonka, benzoin and many gourmand accords their character, and it darkens over time when it meets air and light. CSI publishes vanillin figures where they are known: British Rose at 0% and described as safe for white wax, Blue Ocean at 0%, Cinnamon Vanilla at 2.5% with a moderate discolouration note, Vanilla Bean at 2.5% with advice to test with lighter wax, Gardenia Tuberose at 0.2% with a minimal risk note. In a candle this is cosmetic only. A cream or amber tone in white soy wax does not change the burn, the throw or the safety of the candle — it changes the photograph.

In soap, the same material browns the bar, and the soap trade has a countermeasure. Several CSI oil pages that carry heavy vanilla say so explicitly: the Vanilla Orange Blossom page notes that moderate to significant discolouration is possible from the high vanilla, tonka and honey content, that white or light-coloured wax and soap may brown noticeably over time, and that a vanilla stabiliser helps reduce browning in soap. The Khamrah Qahwa page says much the same and adds that in cold process you should expect strong browning and always test a small batch first.

Note what those pages do not say: that a vanilla stabiliser fixes wax. There is no equivalent move on the candle side. If you are pouring a vanilla-heavy oil into white wax, your options are to accept the tone, to colour the candle deliberately so the shift is invisible, to choose an amber or brown jar, or to choose a 0% vanillin oil. Planning for it is free. Discovering it three weeks after a wedding order has shipped is not.

Published vanillin and what it means per format
CSI figures, and the practical consequence on each line
Oil Vanillin (page) In white wax In white soap 16 g in a 200 g candle
British Rose 0% No yellowing stated No browning expected ₹49.09
Blue Ocean 0% No discolouration stated No browning expected ₹79.30
Gardenia Tuberose 0.2% Minimal risk; test Minimal risk; test ₹69.31
Cinnamon Vanilla 2.5% Moderate yellowing Expect browning ₹72.88
Vanilla Bean 2.5% Test with lighter wax Expect browning ₹122.34
Priced above: each oil at its 1 kg per-gram rate — British Rose ₹3,068.00 the kilo, Blue Ocean ₹4,956.00, Gardenia Tuberose ₹4,332.00 for 1000 gm, Cinnamon Vanilla ₹4,554.80, Vanilla Bean ₹7,646.00. Vanillin figures and discolouration wording are quoted from each live product page. Cinnamon Vanilla publishes a maximum of up to 13% of total wax weight, so at the top of its own range 26 g of it in a 200 g candle costs ₹118.42 — but the wax page governs too, and on CSI 464 the lower figure is 10%.

You already own a soap oil. Here is how to qualify it

Four steps, about two hundred rupees, and a fortnight of leaving it alone.
1
Get the candle number in writing before you get the wax out. Message the supplier and ask for two things: the recommended candle load as a percentage of wax weight, and the flash point. If they cannot supply either, treat the oil as unqualified rather than unsafe, and understand that you are now doing the supplier’s testing at your own cost. For CSI oils, both are on the page where they exist, and WhatsApp +91 7397976926 covers the rest along with MSDS and IFRA documentation.
2
Pour one 50 g jar at 6%, not at the soap rate. Six per cent is the bottom of the range most CSI oil pages publish for soy, so it is the fair first attempt: 50 g of wax and 3 g of oil, weighed. Melt, add the fragrance at 80–90°C, stir slowly for two full minutes, pour at 75–80°C. With Fresh Strawberries as the reference oil that jar is ₹35.99 in wax and fragrance. Pour a second identical jar with an oil you already trust, so you have something to compare against rather than a memory.
3
Look at the top at 24 hours and again at 72 hours. You are looking for separation, not for scent. A film, beads around the wick, oily patches or a surface that stays tacky means the oil is not staying inside the wax, and no amount of curing will fix that — drop two percentage points and pour again, or stop. A clean, even, matt top at 72 hours means you can carry on. In a 38–42°C Delhi workshop, do this check in the coolest part of the day so you are not reading the room instead of the wax.
4
Cure fourteen days, then burn both jars on separate days. Some oil pages give a cure of 24 to 48 hours and that is a fair statement of when a candle can first be lit. Soy throw keeps developing well past it — the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page itself asks for a minimum of 48 hours and ideally one to two weeks, and 14–21 days is standard practice for soy container candles. Burn each jar two hours in the same closed room, note soot on the glass, flame height and whether the pool reaches the edge. Judge the scent in the second hour. Only then decide whether to buy the kilo.
You skipped the control jar. Testing one unknown oil on its own tells you almost nothing, because you have no way to separate an oil problem from a wick problem, a wax problem or a room that was simply too big. Two jars poured the same hour from the same melt, with the same wick, differing only in the fragrance, turns a vague impression into an answer. This is the single cheapest habit in candle making and the one most often skipped when a festive deadline is close.

What it costs on each line, and why “it goes further in soap” misleads

Per bar, soap is cheap. Per kilogram of oil, it is not.

Take 1 kg of Royal Apricot at ₹3,667.00 and spend it two ways. In candles at the standard 16 g per 200 g jar it makes 62 candles and the fragrance line of each is ₹58.67. In cold-process soap at the page maximum of 5% it scents 20 kg of base oils, which at a hundred-gram bar is roughly 200 bars, so the fragrance line of each bar is about ₹18.34. The bar looks far cheaper, and per unit it is — but that is because a bar is smaller and a candle is expected to scent a room for forty hours. Per kilogram of oil the money goes at the same rate. What differs is how many finished units you have to sell to recover it.

The fragrance line of one 200 g candle
Oils that publish both a candle range and soap suitability, at the 1 kg rate
Oil Candle range (page) Per gram at 1 kg 16 g at 8% Soap line on the page
British Rose Soy up to 10%, paraffin up to 6% ₹3.07 ₹49.09 Not stated — ask on WhatsApp
Fresh Strawberries 6–9% of wax weight ₹3.54 ₹56.64 As per IFRA, melt-and-pour and cold process
Royal Apricot 7–10%, max 10% ₹3.67 ₹58.67 Up to 5% cold process, 3% melt and pour
Mango Coconut 6–10% of wax weight ₹3.96 ₹63.42 Body products as per IFRA, including soap
Blue Ocean Up to 10%, soy and blends ₹4.96 ₹79.30 Listed among its formats
Gilli Mitti Patchouli 6–10% across all wax types ₹8.96 ₹143.36 Suitable for soy, beeswax, paraffin and soap
Cinnamon Vanilla Up to 13% of wax weight ₹4.55 ₹72.88 Listed among its formats
Priced above: the 1 kg pack of each oil in September 2026. A whole candle at 8% in Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 with an Eco Candle Wick Thin (C1) at ₹5.90 comes to ₹166.05 with Royal Apricot and ₹164.02 with Fresh Strawberries, before jar, label and box. Where the soap column says “not stated”, that is exactly what it means — the page does not publish a soap rate, so ask rather than assume. The 20 kg and 200-bar figures in the paragraph above are illustrative arithmetic from the page maximum, not a recipe.

Running one oil across a soap line and a candle line

One shortlist, two notebooks, and a hard rule about the pouring jug.

Plenty of Indian makers sell both, especially in the gifting season, and a shared fragrance is genuinely good business: one hamper with a matching candle and bar reads as a collection rather than as two products in a box. The buying logic is simple enough. Standardise on oils whose pages publish both numbers, buy the 1 kg pack of two or three of them rather than 100 g of eight, and keep your range narrow enough that you are never out of stock of your bestseller in the week before Diwali. Diwali 2026 falls on 8 November 2026, so candles want to be poured by around mid-October to allow a 14–21 day cure plus transit, and cold-process soap wants to have been made considerably earlier than that.

The operational rules are where money is actually lost. Keep separate equipment or clean scrupulously between lines: a CSI Pro Mixer at ₹349.00 is sold for candle, diffuser and soap work, which is convenient and also exactly how a trace of yesterday’s spice oil ends up in today’s aquatic candle. Wipe down a pouring jug between fragrances with Isopropyl Alcohol Spray at ₹383.00 for 150 ML. Store oil bottles capped and out of sunlight — an Indian workshop shelf in May can sit above 40°C, and heat and light cost you top notes on both lines.

One more honest note. If you are choosing which line to develop first, candles are the easier business to start and soap is the harder one to do safely, because cold-process soap involves handling a caustic material and a long cure. CSI’s soap-making materials sit in their own Soap Making Raw Materials collection rather than among the candle supplies, and nothing on this page should be read as instruction in soap making — it is about what a fragrance oil does when it crosses between the two.

An oil that survives soap has proved it can survive chemistry. It has not proved it can survive a flame.
— CandleMakingSuppliesIndia
ONE BOTTLE, TWO LABELS
If you decant a shared oil into two working bottles, label them with the format and the rate — “SOAP 5% of base oils” on one, “CANDLE 8% of wax” on the other — even though the liquid is identical. It feels pedantic for about a week, and then it saves you a batch. The same trick applies to your recipe sheets: never write a bare percentage anywhere in your production notes without the word that follows it.
Why trust this guide

CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials — wax, fragrance oils, wicks, jars and tools — and it sells the same fragrance concentrate to soap makers and candle makers, which is precisely why this page can afford to be blunt about what crosses over and what does not. The answer that costs CSI money is the one at the top: if you already own a neat soap oil with a published candle rate, you do not need to buy a new bottle, you need to recalculate the percentage. The answer that costs a maker money is the opposite mistake — dosing a candle at a soap rate, blaming the wax or the wick, and rewicking three times to fix an arithmetic error.

Every percentage, vanillin figure and flash point on this page is quoted from the live CSI product page for that oil in September 2026, and every rupee figure is a live variant price or arithmetic from one, inclusive of taxes. Where a page does not publish something it is said plainly rather than estimated: CSI does not publish a soap rate for every oil, publishes a numeric flash point on 16 of its 92 oil pages, and does not sell or price finished soap or spray bases, so no base cost appears in any table here. Batch sizes used in the worked examples are this page’s own, chosen to be recognisable; the 20 kg and 200-bar arithmetic is illustrative. Cold-process cure times, trace behaviour by fragrance family and the 14–21 day soy cure are general craft practice, stated as such. Nothing here is advice about making soap, and no claim is made that any fragrance oil is safe on skin.

For bulk pricing, GST invoicing, MSDS and IFRA documentation, or the candle percentage on an oil whose page does not print one, message CSI on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926. If the bottle came from another supplier, send a photo of the label and the usage instructions — whether it is neat concentrate or a pre-diluted blend is usually clear from the wording, and that single fact decides the whole question.

Frequently asked questions

Is soap fragrance oil the same as candle fragrance oil?
Usually it is the same concentrate with a different usage line printed on it. On CSI pages one oil carries every rate: Royal Apricot lists 5% cold-process soap, 3% melt and pour and 10% candles on the same table. The exception is a “soap fragrance” already diluted into a carrier, which does not belong in wax.
What percentage should I use if only a soap rate is printed?
Do not scale the soap figure — it is a share of a different thing. Ask the supplier for the candle rate in writing, then start at 6% of wax weight, the bottom of the range most CSI soy oils publish, in a 50 g test pour. Whichever is lower, the wax page ceiling or the oil page range, governs the final number.
My soap oil separated out of the candle. What went wrong?
Soy sets by crystallising and the lattice holds only so much liquid — that is what “up to 10% of total wax weight” means. An oil with a heavy carrier, or one dosed above the lower of the two published ceilings, gets pushed out as the jar cools and appears as a film, beads round the wick or wet patches on the glass. Drop two percentage points and re-pour.
Will my candle brown the way my soap does?
It will tone rather than brown, and only if the oil carries vanillin. CSI publishes the figures where they are known — 0% on British Rose, 2.5% on Vanilla Bean. A vanilla stabiliser is a soap tool; there is no wax equivalent, so plan the colour, the jar or the oil instead.
Can I use the same oil in a soap and a candle for a gift set?
Yes, and it is a good reason to standardise on oils that publish both numbers. Use each format’s own rate, keep separate working bottles labelled with the format, and clean shared equipment between lines. For Diwali on 8 November 2026, pour candles by about mid-October for a 14–21 day cure plus transit.
Does a high flash point mean the oil is better for candles?
No. Flash point is a storage, transport and handling figure, not a measure of throw and not the temperature at which fragrance burns off. It matters because the add window is 80–90°C: where a page publishes a low figure such as 98°C on Gardenia Tuberose, add at the bottom of that window.
One oil, the right number
Same bottle, two production lines, two percentages — and only one of them faces a flame.
Oils that publish a candle range and a soap line together: Royal Apricot from ₹183.00 for 50 g, Fresh Strawberries from ₹113.28 for 15 gm, Blue Ocean from ₹247.00 for 50 gm. Soap materials sit in their own collection. Bulk pricing, GST invoicing and MSDS or IFRA documentation on request.
Shop fragrance oils Ask about an oil on WhatsApp
Editorial standards & sources
About this guide: Written by the CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA team. The structure of the answer holds for any supplier anywhere: fragrance concentrate is sold once and dosed differently per format, the percentage is always a share of something that changes with the format, and a claim of soap suitability is a chemical claim rather than a thermal one. Only the specific rates change from supplier to supplier, so read the page for the bottle actually in front of you.

Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me. Wording is unedited. One is below five stars and two are not recorded as a verified purchase — shown as recorded. Not recorded by Judge.me as a verified purchase, so shown without a verified-buyer badge: Lalitha Jagan, Kavitha murthy. No location is shown against any review because Judge.me does not store one.

Figures verified September 2026 (CSI live pricing). Costing unit for this series: 200 g of wax plus 16 g of fragrance oil at 8% of wax weight, 216 g poured, with one Eco Candle Wick Thin (C1) at ₹5.90 where a whole-candle cost is given. Wax: Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 at ₹507.40/kg (1 kg pack), so 200 g is ₹101.48 and 50 g is ₹25.37. Oils priced at 1 kg: Royal Apricot ₹3,667.00 (₹3.67/g), Fresh Strawberries ₹3,540.00 (₹3.54/g), British Rose ₹3,068.00, Blue Ocean ₹4,956.00, Mango Coconut ₹3,964.00, Lavender ₹5,221.00, Cinnamon Vanilla ₹4,554.80, Vanilla Bean ₹7,646.00, Gilli Mitti Patchouli ₹8,960.00, Gardenia Tuberose ₹4,332.00 for 1000 gm. Whole candle at 8% in CSI 464 with a C1 wick: ₹166.05 with Royal Apricot, ₹164.02 with Fresh Strawberries. The 50 g qualification pour at 6% with Fresh Strawberries is ₹35.99. Usage rates per format, vanillin percentages, flash points and discolouration wording are quoted from each live oil page; the Royal Apricot maximum usage table supplies the 5%, 3%, 10%, 5%, 15% and 25% figures used in the diagram and tables. Batch sizes in the worked examples — 1 kg of soap base, 500 g of spray base, a 200 g body cream jar — are this page’s own, chosen to be recognisable, and the 20 kg of base oils and roughly 200 bars from one kilogram of oil is illustrative arithmetic. Trace acceleration wording is from the Lavender product page; cold-process cure times and the behaviour of fragrance families in soap are general craft practice. Other prices used: CSI Pro Mixer ₹349.00, Isopropyl Alcohol Spray ₹383.00 for 150 ML, Candle Making Weighing Scale ₹354.00. Diwali 2026 is 8 November 2026. Prices include taxes. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.
Zurück zum Blog