I Want to Build a Professional Candle Formula — How Should I Match Fragrance Oil, Wax, Fragrance Load, Wick, Vessel Diameter, Cure Time and Burn Testing?

I Want to Build a Professional Candle Formula — How Should I Match Fragrance Oil, Wax, Fragrance Load, Wick, Vessel Diameter, Cure Time and Burn Testing?

 

Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 10 kg ₹5,999 · states 8-13% Sandalwood 1 kg ₹5,026.80 · states 10% in soy Stocked in India · ships nationwide
CSI performance guides · the formula card
Seven decisions, one sheet of paper, one version number. That is the whole difference between a candle that worked once and a candle you can sell every month.
★★★★★
"Quality of fragrance is very good. Cold through and hot though both are perfect."
Priyanka PurohitVerified buyer · Sep 2026
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Ordered soy wax, fragrance oils, wax and thermometer — everything was great quality!…"
RenuVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Gilli Mitti Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"…I found the ingredients to be of good quality. The wax quality especially has been top notch.…"
SraddhaVerified buyer · Mar 2025
Gardenia Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I have purchased this fragrance and it is amazing..their quality is extremely good…"
Lalitha JaganAug 2024
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Product quality is too good and the nature of the supplier is really helpful."
Chanpreet kaurMay 2024
Candle Making Kit
★★★★★
"Very good"
Tina Lynette Lazaro MogantiVerified buyer · Dec 2025
Black Matte Glass Jar
★★★★★
"Quality of fragrance is very good. Cold through and hot though both are perfect."
Priyanka PurohitVerified buyer · Sep 2026
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Ordered soy wax, fragrance oils, wax and thermometer — everything was great quality!…"
RenuVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Gilli Mitti Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"…I found the ingredients to be of good quality. The wax quality especially has been top notch.…"
SraddhaVerified buyer · Mar 2025
Gardenia Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I have purchased this fragrance and it is amazing..their quality is extremely good…"
Lalitha JaganAug 2024
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Product quality is too good and the nature of the supplier is really helpful."
Chanpreet kaurMay 2024
Candle Making Kit
★★★★★
"Very good"
Tina Lynette Lazaro MogantiVerified buyer · Dec 2025
Black Matte Glass Jar
Reviews collected and published through Judge.me on candlemakingsuppliesindia.store. Two longer reviews are shortened with an ellipsis; wording is otherwise unedited.
✓ Stated loads, temperatures and diameters quoted per page ✓ Blanks named as blanks ✓ Bulk pricing, GST invoicing & documentation on WhatsApp
Candle Business Guides · Deep Buyer Questions
Decide them in the order that makes each decision constrain the next, write all seven on one card with a version number, and treat any change to any one of them as a new card that owes you a fresh burn test. This is the last post in the CSI fragrance series, and it is the one that ties the other ninety-nine together into a single documented sheet — with a worked example costed to the paisa.
7
decisions on one formula card — vessel diameter, wax, fragrance oil, load, wick, cure, burn test. Lock all seven and you own a recipe; leave one loose and you own a batch. The worked card below is a 150 g candle with ₹262.73 of materials · CSI live pricing, September 2026
Quick answers — read this first
What order do I decide them in? Vessel → wax → oil → load → wick → cure → burn test. Vessel first because its diameter and its stated hot-pour limit constrain everything after it; wick second-to-last because it can only be chosen once the diameter, the wax and the load are fixed. Choosing the oil first is the commonest way to end up with a formula that cannot be built.

How do I set the load? Take the lower of the two published figures — your wax page's and your oil page's. Luxury Soy Wax Chunks state 8–13%; the Sandalwood page states up to 10% for soy wax. The card's load is therefore 10%: 15 g of oil and 135 g of wax in a 150 g candle.

What does the card cost to build? A six-jar wick bracket at ₹1,576.37 and fourteen days. What it costs to break is the same again, every time you change one input — which is exactly why the card has a version number.

What is the single most useful line on it? The conflict check. The 150 g jar states "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C"; CSI 464 states a pour of 80–90°C. Two correct pages, one incompatible pairing — and a card is where you catch it before a thousand jars are filled.
The short answer
A formula is a set of constraints, not a set of preferences. The vessel's stated diameter fixes the pool area and the wick family; its stated hot-pour limit fixes which waxes you may use; the wax's stated load and the oil's stated load together fix the ceiling; the load fixes the grams. Every arrow points one way.
The card carries seven inputs and four acceptance criteria. Inputs: vessel, wax, oil, load, wick, cure days, pour and add temperatures. Criteria: full pool to the glass in 2–3 hours, no soot or mushrooming, clean surface at day 28, and a throw score you would sell. No criterion, no card.
One change voids the card. A new jar diameter, a new wax, a new oil, a new load or a new wick each produce a new version number and a new bracket — ₹1,576.37 of materials at this card's costs. That price is the reason to change one thing at a time.
The seven decisions, in the order that makes each one constrain the next 1 VESSEL7 cm rim · 150 ghot pour ≤ 85°C 2 WAXstates 8-13%pour 70-80°C 3 OILstates 10% soyFP 203°C · 0% vanillin 4 LOADlower of the two10% = 15 g + 135 g 5 WICKno diameter statedbracket C1 vs C2 6 CURElongest publishedfigure: 14 days 7 BURN TEST4 written criteriapass or re-version Each box constrains everything to its right: Vessel diameter 6.5–7 cm → pool area 33.2–38.5 cm² → which wick family is even eligible Vessel hot-pour limit 85°C → excludes any wax whose stated pour temperature runs above it Wax 8–13% and oil "up to 10%" → governing load 10% → 15 g of oil, 135 g of wax, ₹156.39 of material Oil flash point 203°C → comfortable margin against the wax's stated 80–90°C add temperature Change any one box and every box to its right is unproven again. Version the card, re-run the test.
The card in one picture. The order is not a preference — it is a dependency chain: the vessel's stated diameter and hot-pour limit narrow the wax choice, the wax and the oil together fix the load, the load and the diameter together decide the wick, and only then can a cure and a burn test mean anything. Every figure in the boxes is quoted from a CSI product page; the two blanks — the wick's diameter guidance and, on many oils, a flash point — are the fields your own bracket and your own SDS request have to fill.
Straight answer
How do I match fragrance oil, wax, load, wick, vessel diameter, cure time and burn testing into one professional formula?
Decide them in dependency order — vessel, wax, oil, load, wick, cure, burn test — and write all seven on one card with a version number. Start with the vessel because it constrains the most: the 150 g golden-lid jar states a 7 cm outer diameter, a 6.5 cm base, a 150 g fill and "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C", which gives a full pool of 33.2–38.5 cm² and immediately rules out any wax whose stated pour temperature runs above 85°C. That makes Luxury Soy Wax Chunks the compatible choice at ₹0.5999 per gram, with its page stating 8–13% (10% recommended), fragrance in at 80–90°C, a pour at 70–80°C and a cure of at least 48 hours, ideally one to two weeks. Then the oil: Sandalwood states "Up to 10% for soy wax", a measured flashpoint of 203°C and "Vanillin content 0%". The load is the lower of the two published figures — 10%, so 15 g of oil and 135 g of wax. The wick cannot be read off a page, because the Eco Candle Wicks page publishes no diameter guidance: bracket C1 against C2 over six jars for ₹1,576.37 and keep the smaller wick that reaches the glass in two to three hours cleanly. Cure 14 days — the longest figure your two pages publish. Then the burn test, against four criteria written before the pour. Total materials: ₹262.73 per candle, ₹2,65,728 for a thousand from listed packs. And the rule that makes it a formula rather than a note: one change to one input voids the card, raises the version number and buys another bracket.
One line: vessel constrains wax, wax and oil constrain load, load and diameter constrain wick, and the version number is what stops last month's candle from quietly becoming a different product.
The whole worked card in one order: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 1 kg ₹599, Sandalwood 100 gm ₹502.68, Eco Candle Wicks C1 ₹59 for 10 and C2 ₹188.80 for 20, 150 g golden-lid jars ₹944 for 10 — enough for the six-jar bracket and a spare.
Shop candle wax

The formula card

A recipe tells you what went in. A formula card tells you what may not change without a test — which is the only part anyone can actually run a business on.

One sheet, three blocks. The inputs are the seven decisions plus the two temperatures. The acceptance criteria are written before the pour and are what the card is measured against forever. The control block is the version number, the date, the signature and — the field most cards miss — the source of every number, so that in eight months you can tell which figures came off a product page and which ones you decided yourself.

Formula Card · template and worked entry
Nine input fields, four criteria, four control fields — and where each figure came from
Field Worked entry Source of the figure
1 · Vessel and diameter Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) · "Height 8cm, outer diameter 7cm", base "Approximately 6.5 cm", "150g fill capacity", "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C" Product page, verbatim
2 · Wax Luxury Soy Wax Chunks, 135 g per candle, ₹0.5999/g at 10 kg pricing Product page and live price
3 · Fragrance oil Sandalwood Fragrance Oil, 15 g per candle, ₹5.0268/g at 1 kg pricing Product page and live price
4 · Load, and the two figures it came from 10% of the finished candle. Wax page states 8–13%; oil page states "Up to 10% for soy wax". Governing figure = the lower Both product pages; the choice is ours and it is written down
5 · Wick Eco Candle Wicks Thick (C2), one per candle, ₹9.44 at 100. Chosen by bracket — the page states no diameter guidance Our six-jar bracket, not a page
6 · Cure 14 days, lidded, in a closed carton at room temperature. Wax page: "minimum of 48 hours (ideally 1-2 weeks)". Oil page: 48–72 hours. We take the longest Both pages; the 14-day choice is ours
7 · Burn test Two jars per batch, up to three hours per burn, one scent per session, closed room Our protocol
8 · Add temperature 82–86°C, inside the page's stated 80–90°C and well below the oil's stated 203°C flash point. Stir two full minutes Wax page band; the narrower working window is ours
9 · Pour temperature 74–78°C, inside the page's stated 70–80°C and below the jar's stated 85°C hot-pour limit Wax page and jar page
Criterion A Full melt pool reaching the glass all round in 2–3 hours Written before the pour
Criterion B No soot, no mushrooming, pool depth under about a centimetre Written before the pour
Criterion C Unlit control jar shows a clean surface and no colour shift at day 28 Written before the pour
Criterion D Cold throw at day 14 and hot throw at 30 and 120 minutes scored 1–5, at or above the incumbent Written before the pour
Version v1.0 · 14 September 2026 · signed Control
Materials per candle ₹262.73 — wax ₹80.99, oil ₹75.40, jar ₹94.40, wick ₹9.44, sticker ₹2.50 Arithmetic from live prices
Voids this card Any change to fields 1–5, or to the load. Cure and temperatures may be tightened within the stated bands without a new version; loosened, they cannot Control
Documents held SDS and IFRA documentation requested on WhatsApp and filed against this card Control
The "source" column is the one that earns its keep
Six months from now somebody — a new hire, a stockist, or you at the end of a long week — will ask why the load is 10% and not 13%. If the card says only "10%", the argument is opinion. If it says "wax page states 8–13%, oil page states up to 10%, governing figure is the lower", the argument is over in ten seconds. The same applies to every blank: writing "flash point not published — SDS requested" is a real entry, and it is far better than a number somebody guessed and everybody later trusted.

The order you must decide them in

Almost everyone starts with the fragrance, because the fragrance is the fun part. It is also the least constraining decision on the card.

A formula is a dependency chain. Some decisions restrict many others; some restrict almost nothing. Deciding in the wrong order means discovering halfway through that your beautiful oil cannot be poured at the temperature your jar allows, or that the vessel you designed the label for needs a wick family you do not stock. The table below is the order, with what each step closes off.

The dependency chain
What each decision constrains, and what goes wrong if you take it out of order
Order Decision What it constrains What goes wrong if you decide it later
1 Vessel — diameter, fill weight, hot-pour limit Pool area, wick family, candle size, price point, packaging You qualify a recipe in one jar and re-qualify everything when the real jar arrives
2 Wax The load ceiling, the add and pour temperatures, the set behaviour, the cure length You choose a wax whose stated pour temperature is incompatible with the jar's stated limit
3 Fragrance oil The second load figure, the discolouration risk, the flash-point margin, the price per candle You fall in love with an oil whose stated load is below the one your recipe card already promises
4 Load Grams of oil and wax, cost per candle, how hard the wick has to work You set a load before you know which of the two published figures is lower, and overshoot it
5 Wick Whether the pool ever reaches the glass; soot; pool depth You pick a wick from a memory of a different jar and spend the bracket twice
6 Cure When the candle may be judged, and how much stock sits in cartons You judge at day 3, re-wick a candle that was correct, and ship a sooting one
7 Burn test Nothing — it is the measurement, not an input You run it without written criteria, and the result becomes whatever the room feels like that day
The out-of-order mistake that costs the most: choosing the vessel last. It happens because the jar feels like packaging rather than formulation, and it is the single most expensive reordering error on the card. Pool area goes with the square of the diameter, so the jar is not a container — it is the release surface. A recipe proven in a stated 6 cm jar (28.3 cm²) moved into a stated 7 cm jar (38.5 cm²) is a candle with 36% more evaporating surface and a wick that is now probably wrong. Decide the jar, then everything else. The arithmetic is worked through in what to change for stronger hot throw without raising load.

The worked card, step by step

One candle, seven decisions, every number sourced. This is the same worked example the card above records, built in front of you so that you can substitute your own vessel and follow the same logic.

1
Vessel: the 150 g golden-lid jar — 7 cm rim, 6.5 cm base, 85°C limitIts page states "Height 8cm, outer diameter 7cm", a base diameter of "Approximately 6.5 cm", a "150g fill capacity" and "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C". Pool area at the base is 33.2 cm² and at the rim 38.5 cm² — π × (d ÷ 2)². Two consequences follow immediately: the candle is a 150 g candle, and the pour must stay under 85°C. Cost: ₹94.40 each at ₹944 per 10.
2
Wax: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks, because its stated pour fits under the jar's limitThe page states "Recommended fragrance load: 8% to 13% of total wax weight" with "10% Recommended", "Recommended fragrance add temp 80-90°C", a pour of "70-80°C" (its details table words this as 75–80°C) and a cure of "a minimum of 48 hours (ideally 1-2 weeks) before performing burn tests". A 70–80°C pour sits comfortably under the jar's stated 85°C. CSI 468 at a stated 58–60°C would also fit; CSI 464 at a stated 80–90°C would not, at the top of its band. Cost: ₹0.5999 per gram at 10 kg pricing.
3
Oil: Sandalwood, chosen partly because its page leaves nothing to guessStated candle load "Up to 10% for soy wax" with a cure of 48–72 hours; a measured "Flashpoint 203°C"; "Vanillin content 0%" and no discolouration in white or neutral wax; and a profile block describing a warm, creamy sandalwood with subtle earthy depth. The 203°C flash point leaves a wide margin against an 80–90°C add temperature, and the 0% vanillin figure means a pale wax and a clear jar are a documented pairing rather than a hope. Cost: ₹5.0268 per gram at 1 kg pricing.
4
Load: 10%, because you owe the lower of the two published figuresThe wax says up to 13%; the oil says up to 10%. The card's load is 10%, and that is not a compromise — it is the number both materials support. On a 150 g candle that is 15 g of oil and 135 g of wax: ₹75.40 of oil and ₹80.99 of wax, ₹156.39 of material in the fragrance-and-wax half of the candle. Note the convention: this series measures load as a share of the finished candle, while the Chunks page words its range as a share of total wax weight — on a 150 g candle at these percentages the two land within a gram of each other, and the card records which convention it used.
5
Wick: bracketed, not looked up — C1 against C2 over six jarsThis is the one field no page can fill. The Eco Candle Wicks page states no diameter guidance; C1 and C2 exist only as variant names. Two other wick pages do publish something and both rule themselves out at 6.5 cm: Cotton Braided Wicks Ready Made are "engineered for large-diameter candles exceeding 8 cm", and Eco Candle Wicks Loose are "designed specifically for 2 inch diameters" — about 5.1 cm. So pour three jars on C1 and three on C2, change nothing else, and keep the smaller wick that reaches the glass in two to three hours without soot. The bracket costs ₹1,576.37 of materials and the wick difference across it is ₹21.24.
6
Cure: 14 days — the longest figure your two pages publishThe oil page says 48–72 hours for soy; the wax page says a minimum of 48 hours and ideally one to two weeks. Take the longest, take the top of it, and write it down: 14 days, lids on, in a closed carton, at room temperature, out of sunlight. Hold one unlit jar to day 28 as the cosmetic control. At 1,000 candles a month, fourteen days of cure is about ₹1,22,606.63 of materials sitting in cartons — a real cost, and the reason to run a rolling cure rather than a monthly pause.
7
Burn test: against the four criteria, written before the pourBurn each test jar for up to three hours, one scent per session, in the same closed room with no competing scent. Record: minutes to a full pool reaching the glass, flame height, soot, mushrooming, pool depth, and throw at 30 and 120 minutes on a 1–5 scale. Pass on all four criteria and the card becomes v1.0 and goes into production. Fail on any one and you change one field, raise the version number, and run the bracket again — never two fields, however tempting.
The card, costed · one 150 g candle at a 10% load
Every line, its rate, and what the same card costs at six jars and at a thousand
Line Per candle Rate Cost × 6 (a bracket) × 1,000
Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 135 g ₹0.5999/g at 10 kg ₹80.99 ₹485.92 135 kg → ₹83,986 (14 × 10 kg)
Sandalwood Fragrance Oil 15 g ₹5.0268/g at 1 kg ₹75.40 ₹452.41 15 kg → ₹75,402 (15 × 1 kg)
150 g golden-lid jar 1 ₹94.40 at pack of 10 ₹94.40 ₹566.40 ₹94,400
Eco Candle Wicks Thick (C2) 1 ₹9.44 at 100 ₹9.44 ₹56.64 ₹9,440
Candle Wick Sticker 1 ₹2.50 at 40 ₹2.50 ₹15 ₹2,500
Total ₹262.73 ₹1,576.37 ₹2,65,728 from listed packs
Worked out above: 150 g candle at a 10% load = 15 g oil + 135 g wax. Wax 135 × ₹0.5999 = ₹80.99; oil 15 × ₹5.0268 = ₹75.40; jar ₹944 ÷ 10 = ₹94.40; wick ₹944 ÷ 100 = ₹9.44; sticker ₹100 ÷ 40 = ₹2.50. The thousand-candle column buys 14 × 10 kg of Chunks at ₹5,999 = ₹83,986 (140 kg against 135 kg needed, a ~3.7% planning allowance) and 15 × 1 kg of Sandalwood at ₹5,026.80 = ₹75,402, because 1 kg is the largest listed fragrance pack. Pool areas are π × (stated diameter ÷ 2)²: 6.5 cm = 33.18 cm², 7 cm = 38.48 cm².
1
Field 1 · the vessel that starts the chain
Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram)
The reason this jar makes a good first field on a card is that it publishes the three things a formula needs from a vessel: a dimension ("Height 8cm, outer diameter 7cm" with a base of "Approximately 6.5 cm"), a fill capacity in grams ("150g fill capacity" — not millilitres, which most of the 200 ml jars use), and a thermal limit ("Safe for hot pour up to 85°C"). Those give you a pool area of 33.2–38.5 cm², a candle weight you can do arithmetic on, and an immediate filter on which waxes are eligible. It is listed in packs of 10 and 20 at a flat ₹94.40 each, so a six-jar bracket and a first small batch come from the same pack.
Size Price Per piece
Pack of 10 ₹944 ₹94.40
Pack of 20 ₹1,888 ₹94.40
₹94.40 per jar — 36% of the card's materials, and the field that constrains all six others Buy the 150 g golden-lid jar
2
Field 2 · the wax with the fullest published specification
Luxury Soy Wax Chunks for Jar / Container Candles
Four published figures, which is what makes it easy to build a card on: a fragrance load of 8% to 13% with 10% recommended, fragrance added at 80–90°C, a pour at 70–80°C (75–80°C in its details table), and a cure of a minimum of 48 hours, ideally one to two weeks, before performing burn tests. The pour band is what qualifies it for an 85°C-limited jar. The honest blank: its page states no melting point, so nothing on the card can claim one. Price is flat per kilo from 1 kg to 10 kg — ₹599 against ₹599.90 at 10 kg — so a bracket costs the same per gram as production does, which removes one excuse for testing small and scaling on hope.
Size Price Per kg 150g candles @ 10%
500 g ₹299 ₹598 ≈3
1 kg ₹599 ₹599 ≈7
5 kg ₹2,995 ₹599 ≈37
10 kg ₹5,999 ₹599.90 ≈74
₹80.99 of wax per 150 g candle at a 10% load Buy Luxury Soy Chunks
3
Field 3 · the oil that fills four fields at once
Sandalwood Fragrance Oil
One product page supplies four of the card's entries: the stated candle load ("Up to 10% for soy wax", and "Up to 6% for paraffin wax"), a stated cure (48–72 hours for soy), a measured flash point ("Flashpoint 203°C") and a vanillin figure ("Vanillin content 0% - no discolouration", described as safe for white, frosted and neutral wax). For a clear jar and a pale wax that last entry is the difference between a designed product and a risk. Sandalwood is also the family that carries Indian occasion demand — festive, wedding and corporate gifting — which makes it a sensible scent to build a first documented card around. It ships from 15 gm for the screen to 1 kg for production.
Size Price Per 100g
15 gm ₹93.22 ₹621.47
50 gm ₹271.40 ₹542.80
100 gm ₹502.68 ₹502.68
500 gm ₹2,513.40 ₹502.68
1 kg ₹5,026.80 ₹502.68
₹75.40 of fragrance per 150 g candle at a 10% load, 1 kg pricing Buy Sandalwood

Where published numbers conflict

Two correct product pages can describe a pairing that cannot be built. Finding that out is most of what a card is for.

Nothing in this section is a fault in any product. It is what happens when specifications written independently meet in one candle — and it is the reason a card is a cross-check rather than a shopping list. Four conflicts come up repeatedly, and all four are resolved the same way: take the more conservative number and write down why.

Four conflicts, and the rule that settles each
What collides, the published figures, and what the card should record
Conflict The two published figures Resolution What goes on the card
Wax pour temperature vs jar hot-pour limit CSI 464: "Pour Temperature 80°C – 90°C". The 150 g jars: "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C" The vessel wins. Either pour at the bottom of the wax's band and stay under 85°C, or choose a wax whose stated band fits entirely — Chunks at 70–80°C, or CSI 468 at 58–60°C "Pour 74–78°C · jar limit 85°C · wax band 70–80°C"
Wax load ceiling vs oil load figure Chunks: "8% to 13%". Sandalwood: "Up to 10% for soy wax" The lower figure governs, always "Load 10% · wax 13% · oil 10% · governing = oil"
Oil flash point vs wax add temperature Palo Santo: "Flashpoint: 93°C". Chunks: add at 80–90°C Add at the bottom of the wax's band, log the actual reading, and read what a flash point does and does not tell you before deciding. Where a page publishes no flash point, write "not published — SDS requested" "Add 82–86°C · oil FP 203°C (stated) · margin wide"
Cure figures that differ Chunks: "minimum of 48 hours (ideally 1-2 weeks)". Most oil pages: "48–72 hours" for soy Take the longest published figure and its upper bound. Standard practice for soy containers is 14–21 days "Cure 14 days · wax ideally 1–2 weeks · oil 48–72 h"
Blanks are not conflicts, and they must not be filled in from somewhere else. Four fields are commonly blank and each has a correct entry. A wax with no stated load: cap conservatively and write "not stated — 8% by our test". A wick with no stated diameter: write "chosen by bracket, 14 Sept 2026". An oil with no stated flash point — and 56 of 107 CSI fragrance pages state none, while a further group state only "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)", which is a threshold for alcohol-based formats rather than a measurement — write "not published — ask CSI for the SDS figure". And storage: no CSI oil page states a storage instruction or a shelf life, so anything you write there is your own good practice and should say so. A card with four honest blanks is stronger than a card with four borrowed numbers.
The CSI principle
A formula is not the list of things in the candle. It is the list of things that may not change without a burn test — and the version number that proves none of them did.
Ninety-nine posts in this series answered one question each. All of them collapse into one sheet of paper: seven fields, four criteria, one signature, and the discipline to raise the version number instead of quietly editing the old one.

What voids a card, and what a re-test costs

The version number is not admin. It is the price tag on changing your mind.

Every change is legitimate; what is not legitimate is changing something and keeping the old card. The table prices each change at this card's own numbers, so the cost of a decision is visible at the moment you take it. A bracket here is six jars — ₹1,576.37 — and a two-jar confirmation is ₹525.46.

Change control · what each change voids and what it costs to re-prove
Seven changes, the version they produce, and the re-test they oblige
Change New version What is now unproven Re-test needed Cost of re-proving
Same everything, new production batch v1.0 unchanged Nothing — but the batch record is new Two jars from the batch, burned after cure ₹525.46
New fragrance oil, same wax, jar, wick, load v2.0 The load (the new oil's figure may be lower), the wick, the cure, the colour behaviour Full bracket at two loads ₹1,576.37
Load changed by two points v1.1 The wick and the surface behaviour Bracket at the new load, plus an unlit jar to day 28 ₹1,576.37
New wick size, everything else fixed v1.2 Pool time, soot, pool depth Bracket, old wick against new ₹1,576.37
New wax v3.0 Everything except the jar — load ceiling, pour temperature, set behaviour, wick Full bracket, and re-check the pour against the jar's stated limit ₹1,576.37 plus a new wax pack
New jar diameter v4.0 Pool area, wick, fill weight, cost per candle, and the hot-pour limit Full bracket in the new jar ₹1,576.37 plus a jar pack
Cure shortened below the card's figure Not a version — a deviation All four acceptance criteria Do not ship it as the same product The batch

Two things follow from reading that table honestly. First, a new oil is a bigger change than a new load, because it moves the governing figure, the colour risk and the flash-point margin all at once — which is why new scents deserve a staged qualification rather than a swap. Second, the cheapest possible change is no change: a stable card running for six months on the same materials is worth more than a slightly better candle you cannot reproduce. If you are qualifying a new scent at volume, the four-gate version of this is in how to test a new fragrance before a 1,000-candle batch.

From the card to a thousand candles

A card that cannot be turned into a purchase order in five minutes is not finished.

The last job of a formula card is arithmetic: multiply the per-candle grams by the month's volume, round up to listed packs, and you have an order. Below is this card at a thousand candles, with the two places the listed range runs out named plainly.

Card v1.0 × 1,000 candles · CSI live pricing, September 2026
What to order, from which listed packs, and where the ladder stops
Line Needed Ordered as Cost Note
Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 135 kg (140.4 kg with a 4% allowance) 14 × 10 kg at ₹5,999 ₹83,986 10 kg is the largest listed pack; there is no 25 kg or 100 kg listing
Sandalwood Fragrance Oil 15 kg 15 × 1 kg at ₹5,026.80 ₹75,402 1 kg is the largest listed fragrance pack; there is no 5 kg or 10 kg listing
Eco Candle Wicks Thick (C2) 1,000 1 × 1000 at ₹9,440 ₹9,440 ₹9.44 each — flat from 10 wicks to 1,000
150 g golden-lid jars 1,000 50 × pack of 20 at ₹1,888 ₹94,400 ₹94.40 each — flat between the pack of 10 and the pack of 20
Candle wick stickers 1,000 25 × 40-sticker sheets at ₹100 ₹2,500 The 100-sticker sheet is currently sold out
Total ₹2,65,728 ₹265.73 per candle against the card's ₹262.73 of consumed material — the difference is the wax allowance

Two honest caveats before you place it. Those listed per-unit prices are the ceiling for these quantities: recurring monthly volumes and anything above the largest listed pack are quoted separately on WhatsApp, along with GST invoicing and the SDS or IFRA documentation you should be filing against the card — and we will not tell you in advance what that quote will be. And add a working-capital line: at 1,000 candles a month a fourteen-day cure means about ₹1,22,606.63 of finished stock sitting in cartons at any time, which is a number your cash flow needs even though no supplier invoices you for it.

One hundred posts, seven fields. Everything else in candle making is a comment on one of them.
— CandleMakingSuppliesIndia
Card signed and ready to scale? A thousand candles on this card needs 135 kg of wax and 15 kg of fragrance oil — above the largest listed packs of both, at ₹2,65,728 of listed materials. Send the monthly volume and cadence for bulk pricing, GST invoicing and documentation.
Order in bulk on WhatsApp
Why trust this guide

CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials, not finished candles, and the most useful thing we can tell a maker at the end of a hundred-post series is stop buying and start documenting. Nothing on this card requires a new product. It requires a sheet of paper, six test jars and a fortnight. We sell the wax and the oil, and we are telling you that the thing standing between a candle that worked once and a business is a version number.

Every price, dimension and specification here comes from live CSI stock in September 2026 and links to the product page, where current pricing and specification always take precedence. Loads, add and pour temperatures, hot-pour limits, flash points, vanillin figures, cure times and diameters are quoted only where the product page states them, and the blanks are named: the Chunks page states no melting point, the Eco Candle Wicks page states no diameter guidance, and no CSI oil page states a storage instruction or a shelf life. Stated loads are formulation guidance published per material — not regulatory limits and not interchangeable between waxes. Pool areas are calculated from stated diameters and describe the area a full pool can reach, not a burn result. The burn test, the bracket and the acceptance criteria are protocols for you to run; no pool time, throw score or pass rate on this page is a measurement we are reporting.

For help cross-checking a formula against a specific jar and wax, for bulk pricing above the listed packs, GST invoicing, or SDS and IFRA documentation to file against a card, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.

Frequently asked questions

What should a professional candle formula actually contain?
Seven inputs, four acceptance criteria and a version number. The inputs are the vessel and its diameter, the wax, the fragrance oil, the load, the wick, the cure length and the burn-test protocol, plus the add and pour temperatures you actually used. The criteria are written before the pour: a full pool to the glass in 2–3 hours, no soot or mushrooming, a clean unlit jar at day 28, and a throw score you would sell. Add one column recording where each number came from — product page, or your own test — and the card can be defended by anyone.
In what order should I choose wax, fragrance, wick and jar?
Vessel, wax, oil, load, wick, cure, burn test. The vessel constrains the most — its diameter fixes the pool area and therefore the wick family, its stated fill fixes the candle size, and its stated hot-pour limit filters the waxes. Wax next, because it sets the load ceiling and the temperatures. Oil third, because it supplies the second load figure. The wick is fifth because it can only be chosen once diameter, wax and load are fixed. Choosing the jar last is the most expensive reordering mistake available.
How do I decide the fragrance load when the wax and the oil state different figures?
Use the lower of the two, and record both. Luxury Soy Wax Chunks state 8–13% with 10% recommended; the Sandalwood page states "Up to 10% for soy wax" — so the card's load is 10%, which on a 150 g candle is 15 g of oil and 135 g of wax. Where one page states nothing, cap at the figure that is published and start at 8%. Never exceed a stated figure, and never average two figures together.
How do I choose a wick size if the wick page does not state a diameter?
By bracket, and you write that on the card. The Eco Candle Wicks page publishes no diameter guidance — C1 and C2 are variant names — so pour three jars on each, change nothing else, and keep the smaller wick that reaches the glass in two to three hours with no soot or mushrooming. Two CSI wick pages do publish a statement: Cotton Braided Wicks Ready Made for "large-diameter candles exceeding 8 cm" and Eco Candle Wicks Loose for "2 inch diameters". The bracket costs ₹1,576.37.
Does changing the jar mean I have to test everything again?
Yes, and it is the change people most often think they can skip. Pool area goes with the square of the diameter: a stated 6 cm jar gives 28.3 cm² and a stated 7 cm jar 38.5 cm², so the same wax, oil and load behave differently and your wick verdict no longer applies. A new jar also brings a new stated hot-pour limit and a new fill weight, which changes the load in grams and the cost per candle. Raise the version number, re-run the bracket at ₹1,576.37, and re-check the pour temperature against the new jar's stated limit.
How long should the cure be on a professional formula?
Take the longest figure your own materials publish and its upper bound. The Chunks page states a minimum of 48 hours, ideally one to two weeks, before performing burn tests; many oil pages state 48–72 hours for soy. This card records 14 days, lidded, in a closed carton, with one unlit jar held to day 28 as the cosmetic control. Standard practice for soy container candles is 14–21 days. At 1,000 candles a month, fourteen days of cure is about ₹1,22,606.63 of stock in cartons — run a rolling cure and you pay that once.
The last post in the series
Seven fields, four criteria, one version number — and ₹262.73 of materials you can reproduce every month.
Luxury Soy Wax Chunks from ₹299/500 g with a stated 8–13% load, an 80–90°C add and a 70–80°C pour. Sandalwood from ₹93.22/15 gm stating up to 10% in soy, a 203°C flash point and 0% vanillin. Eco Candle Wicks from ₹59 for 10 in C1 and C2. Clear Glass Jars with Golden Lid at ₹944 per 10, stating a 7 cm outer diameter, a 150 g fill and an 85°C hot-pour limit. Cotton Braided Wicks Ready Made at ₹120 for 10 for diameters over 8 cm. Message us for bulk pricing, GST invoicing and documentation to file against your card.
Shop candle wax Order in bulk on WhatsApp
Editorial standards & sources
About this guide: Written by the CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA team. Product recommendations reflect the CSI range; the formula card, the dependency order, the conflict rules and the change-control table apply to any supplier's materials. The bracket, the burn test and the acceptance criteria are protocols for the reader to run — no pool time, throw score or pass rate on this page is a measurement we are reporting.

Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; two longer reviews are shortened with an ellipsis and otherwise unedited.

Figures verified September 2026: Card v1.0 = a 150 g candle at a 10% load (15 g oil + 135 g wax). Vessel — Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram), page states "Height 8cm, outer diameter 7cm", base diameter "Approximately 6.5 cm", "150g fill capacity" and "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C"; pack of 10 ₹944 and pack of 20 ₹1,888 (₹94.40 each). Wax — Luxury Soy Wax Chunks 500 g ₹299, 1 kg ₹599, 5 kg ₹2,995, 10 kg ₹5,999 (₹0.5999/g); page states "up to 13% fragrance load capacity", "Recommended fragrance load: 8% to 13% of total wax weight", "10% Recommended", "Recommended fragrance add temp 80-90°C", "Recommended pour temp 75-80°C" and "Pour at 70-80°C into your prepared containers with wicks in place", and "Allow candles to cure for a minimum of 48 hours (ideally 1-2 weeks) before performing burn tests"; the page states no melting point. Oil — Sandalwood Fragrance Oil 15 gm ₹93.22, 50 gm ₹271.40, 100 gm ₹502.68, 500 gm ₹2,513.40, 1 kg ₹5,026.80 (₹5.0268/g); page states "Up to 10% for soy wax" and "Up to 6% for paraffin wax" with cure 48–72 hours for soy, "Flashpoint 203°C", and "Vanillin content 0% - no discolouration, safe for white and neutral wax". Wick — Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) ₹59/10 to ₹5,900/1000 (₹5.90 each) and Thick (C2) ₹188.80/20 to ₹9,440/1000 (₹9.44 each), the 10-wick C2 pack currently sold out; the page states no diameter guidance, and C1/C2 appear only as variant names. Cotton Braided Wicks Ready Made ₹120/10 to ₹12,000/1000 (₹12 each), page states "engineered for large-diameter candles exceeding 8 cm" and a wick height of 10.16 cm. Eco Candle Wicks Loose page states "designed specifically for 2 inch diameters". Candle Wick Stickers 40 for ₹100 (₹2.50 each); the 100-sticker sheet is currently sold out. Other waxes cross-referenced: Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 1 kg ₹507.40, 10 kg ₹5,074, page states "Fragrance Load Up to 10%", "Melting Point 80°C – 90°C" and "Pour Temperature 80°C – 90°C"; Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 1 kg ₹650, 10 kg ₹6,370, page states "Fragrance Load Up to 13%", "Melting Point 50°C – 53°C" and "Pour Temperature 58°C – 60°C". Palo Santo page states "Flashpoint: 93°C". Card arithmetic: wax 135 g × ₹0.5999 = ₹80.99; oil 15 g × ₹5.0268 = ₹75.40; jar ₹94.40; wick ₹9.44; sticker ₹2.50; total ₹262.73 per candle. A six-jar bracket is 6 × ₹262.73 = ₹1,576.37 and a two-jar confirmation 2 × ₹262.73 = ₹525.46; the C1-to-C2 wick difference across six jars is ₹21.24. One thousand candles: 135 kg of wax (140.4 kg with a 4% planning allowance) bought as 14 × 10 kg = ₹83,986 for 140 kg; 15 kg of oil bought as 15 × 1 kg = ₹75,402; 1,000 C2 wicks ₹9,440; 1,000 jars ₹94,400; 1,000 stickers ₹2,500; total ₹2,65,728, or ₹265.73 per candle. Fourteen days of cure on 1,000 candles = ₹262.73 × 1,000 × 14 ÷ 30 = ₹1,22,606.63 of stock held. Pool areas are calculated as π × (stated diameter ÷ 2)²: 6.5 cm = 33.18 cm², 7 cm = 38.48 cm², 6 cm = 28.27 cm². Load is measured as a share of the finished candle; where the Chunks page words its range as a share of total wax weight, the two conventions differ by under a gram at these percentages on a 150 g candle. Flash-point coverage across the 107 CSI fragrance pages: 18 state a measured value, 32 state only "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" — a threshold for alcohol-based products, not a measurement — and 56 state none; no page states a storage instruction, storage temperature, expiry or shelf life, and no page publishes an IFRA certificate, amendment, category number or date. Cure of 14–21 days for soy containers reflects standard practice. No 25 kg or 100 kg wax pack and no 5 kg or 10 kg fragrance oil pack is listed; listed per-unit prices are the ceiling for those quantities, and larger or recurring volumes are quoted on WhatsApp. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.
Zurück zum Blog