I Want to Buy My First Candle-Making Raw Materials Separately Instead of a Kit — What Specifications Should I Check for Each Ingredient?
Aktie
What do I check on the fragrance oil? Three: the candle load percentage, the flash point and the vanillin or discolouration note. Across CSI's 107 fragrance-oil pages, 81 state a load percentage, 51 mention a flash point but only 18 give a measured value, and 62 say something about discolouration.
And the jar, wick and dye? Jar: fill capacity in grams, a diameter, and a hot-pour limit. Wick: a stated diameter — only two CSI wick pages have one. Dye: a dosage — no CSI dye page states one, so dye is dosed by test, from a drop upwards.
Is buying separately cheaper than a kit? Not like for like. A ₹2,492 separate order buys seven repeatable 150 g candles plus three spare jars; the ₹4,130 Candle Making Kit for Beginners buys a wider set of experiments — two waxes, four 15 g oils, two dyes, a mould, a thermometer and a scale — and one jar. Different purchases, not better and worse.
- The straight answer
- The thirteen fields, and who publishes them
- Wax: the five fields that set your whole process
- Fragrance oil: three fields, and the one that is usually a threshold
- Jar and wick: the four fields that are mostly blank
- What no page states — and what to do instead
- The costed first order, and how it compares with a kit
- FAQ
The thirteen fields, and who publishes them
When you buy a kit, someone else has already resolved the compatibility questions and you inherit the result without seeing the reasoning. When you buy separately, every compatibility question is yours, and each one is answered by a specific published number. There are thirteen of them. Learn the list once and every product page in the category becomes readable in about four minutes.
| # | Material | Field | What it decides for you | Published on CSI pages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wax | Maximum fragrance load | The ceiling of your recipe, in grams of oil per candle | 3 candle waxes state one: 13%, 10%, 13% |
| 2 | Wax | Melting point | Whether your melting method and thermometer range are adequate | Stated on CSI 464, CSI 468, Eco Soy 400, both paraffins |
| 3 | Wax | Fragrance-add temperature | When the oil goes in — the single biggest process variable | Stated on Luxury Soy Wax Chunks and Eco Soy CSI 400 |
| 4 | Wax | Pour temperature | Surface finish, adhesion to glass, wet spots | Stated on Chunks, CSI 464, CSI 468 |
| 5 | Wax | Cure guidance | When you are allowed to judge the candle | Stated on Luxury Soy Wax Chunks (min 48 h, ideally 1–2 weeks) |
| 6 | Fragrance oil | Candle load percentage | Your starting dose, and whether soy and paraffin differ | 81 of 107 pages state at least one percentage |
| 7 | Fragrance oil | Flash point | How hot the wax may be when the oil goes in | 51 pages mention one; only 18 give a measured value |
| 8 | Fragrance oil | Vanillin / discolouration | Whether a white candle will stay white | 62 of 107 pages say something; 18 give a number |
| 9 | Jar | Fill capacity in grams | Every gram of wax and oil in the recipe | Many state grams; many state only millilitres |
| 10 | Jar | Diameter | The wick bracket you will test | Stated as a width, outer rim or base on many jars; absent on votives |
| 11 | Jar | Hot-pour limit | Whether your pour temperature is safe for that glass | Stated as "up to 85°C" on the 150 g and apothecary jars |
| 12 | Wick | Stated diameter or jar-size wording | Where to start the bracket | 2 of 7 wick pages state a diameter |
| 13 | Dye | Dosage | How much colour per 100 g of wax | 0 of 15 dye pages state a number; 6 mica pages say "Just a sprinkle is all you need!" |
Read the right-hand column as a map of where your own testing has to happen. Fields 1 to 5 are mostly answerable by reading. Fields 6 to 8 are usually answerable by reading. Fields 9 to 11 are partly answerable by reading and partly by weighing. Fields 12 and 13 are almost never answerable by reading, which is why the wick and the dye are the two things you should buy in the smallest pack available on a first order.
Wax: the five fields that set your whole process
Wax is the material to be fussiest about, because its published numbers propagate into everything else. The load ceiling fixes how much oil you may buy. The add temperature fixes whether you need a thermometer at all — you do. The pour temperature interacts with the jar's hot-pour limit. And the cure guidance decides when you are allowed to have an opinion about your own candle.
| Wax | 1 kg price | Load | Melt point | Add temp | Pour temp | Cure | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | ₹599 | 8–13%, 10% recommended | Not stated | 80–90°C | 70–80°C | Min 48 h, ideally 1–2 weeks | 4 / 5 |
| Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 | ₹650 | Up to 13% | 50–53°C | Not stated | 58–60°C | Not stated | 3 / 5 |
| Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 | ₹507.40 | Up to 10% | 80–90°C | Not stated | 80–90°C | Not stated | 3 / 5 |
| Eco Soy CSI 400 | ₹399 | Not stated | 37.8°C (100°F) | 85°C, stir 2 minutes | Not stated | Not stated | 2 / 5 |
| Natural Soy Pearl Wax | ₹450 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 0 / 5 |
| Soy Pillar Wax | ₹600 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 0 / 5 |
| Size | Price | Per kg | 150g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ₹299 | ₹598 | ≈3 |
| 1 kg | ₹599 | ₹599 | ≈7 |
| 5 kg | ₹2,995 | ₹599 | ≈36 |
| 10 kg | ₹5,999 | ₹599.90 | ≈72 |
Fragrance oil: three fields, and the one that is usually a threshold
Fragrance oil is where a beginner's money disappears fastest, so read three fields and ignore the adjectives. The candle load percentage tells you the dose. The flash point tells you how hot the wax may be when the oil goes in. The vanillin or discolouration note tells you whether a white candle stays white — and it is the field most often left out of tutorials.
The flash point needs care. Of CSI's 107 fragrance-oil pages, 51 mention one, but 32 of those give only the template line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)". That is a threshold, not a measured value, and turning it into a number would be an invention. Only 18 pages state a measured figure, and one — Zesty Lemon — explicitly says "Flashpoint: Available on request / SDS". Documentation is available on request via WhatsApp; no certificate is published on the page.
| Oil | Stated candle load | Stated flash point | Stated vanillin / discolouration | 50 g price | Oil per 150 g candle at 8% |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vanilla Bean | Up to 10% soy · up to 6% paraffin | 203°C | "Vanillin Content: 2.5% (Potential discoloration…)" | ₹410 | ₹98.40 |
| Sandalwood | Up to 10% soy · up to 6% paraffin | 203°C | "0% vanillin - no discolouration" | ₹271.40 | ₹65.14 |
| British Rose | Up to 10% soy · up to 6% paraffin | 192°C | "0% vanillin - no discolouration" | ₹212.40 | ₹50.98 |
| Eucalyptus Spearmint | Up to 10% soy · up to 6% paraffin | 199°C | "0% vanillin - no discolouration" | ₹212.40 | ₹50.98 |
| Jasmine | Up to 10% soy · up to 6% paraffin | 185°C | "0% vanillin - no discolouration" | ₹230 | ₹55.20 |
| Gardenia | Up to 10% soy · up to 6% paraffin | 98°C — with a working warning | Page addresses discolouration in its own FAQ | ₹223.02 | ₹53.52 |
The Gardenia row is the one to study. Its page states a flash point of 98°C and tells you to add the oil to wax "at a temperature below 98°C". Set that against a wax whose page asks for fragrance at 80–90°C and the two numbers are compatible but close — which is precisely the kind of interaction you can only see if you read both pages before you buy. An oil with a 203°C flash point gives you a wide working margin; one at 98°C gives you a narrow one and a thermometer becomes non-negotiable.
| Size | Price | Per 100g | 150g candles @ 8% |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 gm | ₹130 | ₹866.67 | ≈1 |
| 50 gm | ₹410 | ₹820 | ≈4 |
| 100 gm | ₹790 | ₹790 | ≈8 |
| 500 gm | ₹3,840 | ₹768 | ≈41 |
| 1 kg | ₹7,646 | ₹764.60 | ≈83 |
Jar and wick: the four fields that are mostly blank
Containers and wicks are where the published record thins out, and where a scale and a ruler start earning their keep. Three fields matter on a jar. Fill capacity in grams is the one your recipe uses — and a large number of listings, CSI's included, give capacity in millilitres instead, which is a volume and not a mass. Diameter sets your wick bracket, and is published inconsistently: some pages give a width, some an outer rim plus a base figure, some nothing. Hot-pour limit is the field most beginners have never heard of, and it is the one that protects the glass.
| Container | Fill capacity | Diameter | Hot-pour limit | Price | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) | "150g fill capacity" | "outer diameter 7cm"; base ≈6.5 cm | "up to 85°C" | ₹944 / 10 | 3 / 3 |
| Apothecary Glass Candle Jar with Dome Lid | "~500 g - 700 g (2 sizes)" | Outer rim ≈10 cm | "up to 85°C" | ₹212.40 / ₹250 | 3 / 3 |
| Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid | "Capacity: 120 gm" | "6 cm diameter" | Not stated | ₹47.20 each | 2 / 3 |
| White Matte Glass Jar | "fill weight of 200 ml" — a volume | "width 7 cm" | Not stated | ₹354 / 5 | 1 / 3 |
| Ceramic Jar for Candle Making | "Fill Weight: 180 grams" | Not stated | Not stated | ₹129.80 | 1 / 3 |
| White Matte Votive Jar 70 gram | "Capacity: ~70g wax fill" | Not stated | Not stated | ₹159.30 / 5 | 1 / 3 |
| Size | Price | Per piece | Single-wick candles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pack of 10 | ₹944 | ₹94.40 | ≈10 |
| Pack of 20 | ₹1,888 | ₹94.40 | ≈20 |
What no page states — and what to do instead
Buying separately means meeting the edge of the published record, so it is worth knowing exactly where that edge is. The list below is not a criticism of any supplier; it is the state of the category. Everything in the left column was checked against the product pages and is genuinely absent, and everything in the right column is what a careful maker does instead.
| Not stated anywhere | How common | What to do instead |
|---|---|---|
| Fragrance-oil shelf life | 0 of 107 pages | Buy 50 g and 100 g bottles while learning; a 1 kg bottle of an unproven oil is a commitment, not a saving |
| Fragrance-oil storage instructions | 0 of 107 pages | Keep bottles closed, out of sunlight and away from heat as ordinary practice — not as a quoted specification |
| Dye dosage in grams or drops | 0 of 15 dye pages | Start with a single drop or shaving per 100 g of wax and step up; one CSI customer notes it is "concentrated" and a little gives a pastel shade |
| Wick diameter, on most wick pages | 5 of 7 pages silent | Bracket three sizes in identical jars and burn-test — the method is in the kit-wick guide |
| Lab, GC-MS or third-party test data | 0 of 107 pages | Judge with your own cured burn test; request documentation on WhatsApp if you need it for a buyer |
| A certificate number for an IFRA claim | No page gives one | Read the page's own wording, and ask for documentation rather than assuming a certificate is attached |
| Fill weight in grams on the millilitre-rated jars | Many listings | Weigh one filled jar once per jar model, and write the number on the shelf |
| Burn time or throw distance in square feet | 0 of 107 pages | Measure your own: minutes to a full melt pool, and throw scored at 30 and 120 minutes |
The costed first order, and how it compares with a kit
Here is the separate-buy order the thirteen fields produce. It is built around the two best-documented products above, aimed at seven 150 g candles at an 8% load, and deliberately narrow: one wax, one scent, one jar, one wick size.
| Item | Pack | Price | Why this pack |
|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Soy Wax Chunks | 1 kg | ₹599 | Seven candles need 966 g; ₹599 is the whole kilo |
| Vanilla Bean Fragrance Oil | 100 gm | ₹790 | Seven candles need 84 g; the 50 g bottle would cover four |
| Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid | Pack of 10 | ₹944 | Seven to pour, three spare — ₹94.40 each |
| Eco Candle Wicks · Thin (C1) | 10 wicks | ₹59 | The undocumented field, bought in the smallest pack |
| Candle Wick Stickers | 1 sheet · 40 | ₹100 | ₹2.50 each; keeps the wick still while the wax sets |
| Materials subtotal | ₹2,492 | What the seven candles consume | |
| Pen Thermometer | 1 | ₹354 | Add and pour temperatures are specifications, not suggestions |
| Candle Making Weighing Scale | 1 | ₹354 | Load is a weight percentage — weigh, never measure by eye |
| First-order total | ₹3,200 | The two instruments are bought once and reused forever |
Now the honest comparison. The Candle Making Kit for Beginners at ₹4,130 lists Luxury Soy Wax 500 g, Pillar Soy Wax 500 g, four 15 g fragrance oils, two liquid dyes, a pillar mould, a silicone spatula, wick stickers, a wick straw and centering device, a thermometer and a weighing scale — and one jar. The separate order at ₹3,200 buys fewer kinds of thing and ten of the same jar. Neither is the better purchase in general; they answer different questions. The kit answers "what do I enjoy making?" The separate order answers "can I make the same candle twice?" At the stage where you are worried about wasting money, the second question is the one that pays.
CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials, not finished candles — and also sells the kit this page compares itself with. It would be simpler to tell you the kit is always right, or that buying separately is always cheaper. Neither is true. What is true is that a maker who can reproduce one candle buys materials for years, and a maker who cannot stops after the first disappointing jar.
Every price, pack size and specification here comes from live CSI stock in September 2026 and links to the product page, where current pricing always takes precedence. Wax loads, temperatures and cure guidance are quoted only where the page states them, and the scores out of five are counts of those statements — not judgements of quality. Fragrance flash points are quoted only from the 18 pages that give a measured value; the template line "Flash point > 93°C" is reported as a threshold and never converted into a number. Where a page mentions IFRA, this guide says it mentions it; no certificate, amendment or category number is published on any page, and documentation is supplied on request. No page in the range states a shelf life, a storage instruction or a dye dosage, and this guide says so rather than supplying one.
For a specification a page does not state, bulk pricing, GST invoicing, or MSDS and IFRA documentation, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.
Frequently asked questions
- My kit came with a wick — does it match my jar and wax?
- Container soy, pillar soy or a blend — which do I need?
- Glass jar candles: what should I decide first?
- Should I buy a kit or buy supplies separately?
- How to verify wax quality before you buy in India
- At what temperature should I add fragrance to candle wax?
- How to choose the right candle wax
Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; wording is unedited.
Figures verified September 2026: Waxes, 1 kg — Eco Soy CSI 400 ₹399 (melt point stated "100°F (37.8°C)", fragrance added at 85°C with a 2-minute stir, "Fragrance Add Temperature 80 to 90 degrees", "Recommended Wick Eco Wicks"), Natural Soy Pearl Wax ₹450 (nothing stated), Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 ₹507.40 ("Fragrance Load Up to 10%", "Melting Point 80°C – 90°C", "Pour Temperature 80°C – 90°C"), Luxury Soy Wax Chunks ₹599 ("up to 13% fragrance load capacity", "Recommended fragrance load: 8% to 13% of total wax weight", "10% Recommended", "Recommended fragrance add temp 80-90°C", "Recommended pour temp 75-80°C" and "Pour at 70-80°C", "cure for a minimum of 48 hours (ideally 1-2 weeks) before performing burn tests"; no melting point stated), Soy Pillar Wax ₹600 (nothing stated), Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 ₹650 ("Fragrance Load Up to 13%", "Melting Point 50°C – 53°C", "Pour Temperature 58°C – 60°C"); also Chunks 5 kg ₹2,995 and 10 kg ₹5,999. Fragrance oils — Vanilla Bean 15 gm ₹130, 50 gm ₹410, 100 gm ₹790, 500 gm ₹3,840, 1 kg ₹7,646, stated "Recommended Fragrance Load: Up to 10% for soy wax Up to 6% for paraffin wax", "Cure Time: 48–72 hours for soy wax", "Flashpoint: 203°C", "Vanillin Content: 2.5% (Potential discoloration; test with lighter waxes or consider adding color stabilizers)", "Wick Recommendations: Cotton or wooden wicks for a steady and even burn. Wick testing is recommended"; Sandalwood 50 gm ₹271.40 ("Flashpoint 203°C", "0% vanillin - no discolouration"); British Rose 50 gm ₹212.40 ("Flashpoint 192°C"); Eucalyptus Spearmint 50 gm ₹212.40 ("Flashpoint 199°C"); Jasmine 50 gm ₹230 ("Flashpoint 185°C"); Gardenia 50 gm ₹223.02 ("Flashpoint 98°C", with the page's own instruction to add below that temperature). Coverage counts across 107 fragrance-oil pages: 81 state a usage percentage, 51 mention a flash point, 18 give a measured value, 32 give only the threshold "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)", 62 mention vanillin or discolouration, 0 state a shelf life, 0 state storage instructions, 0 publish lab or GC-MS data, and no page gives an IFRA certificate, amendment or category number. Containers — Clear Glass Jar with Golden Lid (150 gram) ₹944 / 10 and ₹1,888 / 20, stated "150g fill capacity", "Height 8cm, outer diameter 7cm", base diameter approximately 6.5 cm, "Safe for hot pour up to 85°C"; Apothecary Glass Candle Jar ₹212.40 (500 g) and ₹250 (700 g), stated fill "~500 g - 700 g", outer rim approximately 10 cm, hot pour up to 85°C; Amber Shiny Glass Jar with Black Lid ₹47.20 each, "Capacity: 120 gm", "6 cm diameter, 6.5 cm height"; White Matte Glass Jar ₹354 / 5, "fill weight of 200 ml", "Height 8 cm width 7 cm"; Ceramic Jar for Candle Making ₹129.80, "Fill Weight: 180 grams"; White Matte Votive Jar 70 gram ₹159.30 / 5, "Capacity: ~70g wax fill". Wicks — Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) ₹59 / 10 at ₹5.90 each flat to 1,000 pieces; 2 of 7 wick pages state a diameter ("designed specifically for 2 inch diameters"; "engineered for large-diameter candles exceeding 8 cm"). Dyes — liquid dye from ₹236 / 15 ml; 0 of 15 dye pages state a dosage; 6 mica pages state only "Just a sprinkle is all you need!". Tools — Pen Thermometer ₹354, Candle Making Weighing Scale ₹354, Candle Wick Stickers ₹100 / 40. Kit compared: Candle Making Kit for Beginners ₹4,130, contents as published. Assumptions, labelled as such: the 8% default load is this guide's conservative starting point, not a page specification; load is calculated as a percentage of finished candle weight (150 g at 8% = 138 g wax + 12 g oil), while the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page expresses its 8–13% as a share of total wax weight; the 3–5% wastage figure is a planning allowance; the 14–21 day cure is a working judgement and the only published cure guidance quoted is the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks minimum of 48 hours, ideally one to two weeks; the ~5 mm trim and the 2–3 hour melt-pool target are standard practice rather than published specifications. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.