How to Choose a Candle Fragrance Oil

How to Choose a Candle Fragrance Oil

 

A 5-gate method, not a favourites list Samples from ₹68.44 · 92 oils to filter GST invoicing · MSDS & IFRA on request
CSI fragrance oil guides
Choosing a fragrance oil is a filtering problem, not a taste problem — and the filter has five gates.
★★★★★
"In past five years of testing and searching for the best candle fragrance…you can go for the minimum percentage in candle still it will give amazing smell"
Emma BecharaJun 2026
British Rose Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I have purchased this fragrance and it is amazing..their quality is extremely good…"
Lalitha JaganAug 2024
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Fresh and soothing"
Yashvi ShahVerified buyer · Jul 2025
Blue Ocean Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"The fragrance was really amazing"
Akanksha SharmaVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Roasted Coffee Fragrance Oil
★★★☆☆
"Warm comforting fragrance"
M AVerified buyer · Sep 2025
Autumn Fragrance Oil
★★★★☆
"Will buy more.. wonderful"
Punam SarmaVerified buyer · Dec 2024
Cinnamon Vanilla Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"In past five years of testing and searching for the best candle fragrance…you can go for the minimum percentage in candle still it will give amazing smell"
Emma BecharaJun 2026
British Rose Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"I have purchased this fragrance and it is amazing..their quality is extremely good…"
Lalitha JaganAug 2024
Apple Cinnamon Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Fresh and soothing"
Yashvi ShahVerified buyer · Jul 2025
Blue Ocean Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"The fragrance was really amazing"
Akanksha SharmaVerified buyer · Jul 2026
Roasted Coffee Fragrance Oil
★★★☆☆
"Warm comforting fragrance"
M AVerified buyer · Sep 2025
Autumn Fragrance Oil
★★★★☆
"Will buy more.. wonderful"
Punam SarmaVerified buyer · Dec 2024
Cinnamon Vanilla Fragrance Oil
Reviews collected and published through Judge.me on candlemakingsuppliesindia.store. One longer review is shortened with an ellipsis; wording is otherwise unedited. Two are below five stars and two are not recorded as a verified purchase — shown as recorded.
✓ Live prices, taxes included ✓ Method works with any supplier’s oils ✓ Unpublished specs flagged, never guessed
Candle Supplier Guides · Fragrance Oils
A repeatable five-gate method for picking a fragrance oil — format, family, published specification, cost at your load, and a 15 g sample test that ends the argument.
15 g
the sample that settles the decision — from ₹68.44 · one 200 g soy candle at 7%, with a gram left for the blotter · CSI live pricing, September 2026
Quick answers — read this first
What is the first thing to check on a fragrance oil page? The candle usage range — the percentage of total wax weight the page says the oil is made to carry. 72 of CSI’s 92 oil pages print one. If it is missing, ask on WhatsApp before you buy, never estimate it.

Does the same oil have different loads for candles and wax melts? Yes, and it is the most common mix-up. Apple Cinnamon states 6–10% of wax weight for soy candles but 10–15% for wax melts and 10–30% for reed diffusers. Read the line for the format you are actually making.

How much should I spend testing a new oil? About ₹205.32 for three 15 g samples. Each 15 g makes one 200 g soy candle at 7%. A finished tester in CSI 464 with a Thin (C1) wick costs roughly ₹150.33 in materials.

How do I compare two oils on price? Per gram, then per candle — never per bottle. At an example rate of ₹3.07/g, a 200 g candle at 8% carries ₹49.09 of oil; the same candle at 10% carries ₹61.36. Multiply by your monthly output before you decide.
The short answer
The method: Format first, then family, then the four lines the page must print, then cost at your load, then a 15 g sample burned after a proper cure. Decide in that order and the catalogue shrinks from 92 to a handful.
The hard gate: A stated candle usage range. 72 of 92 CSI oil pages have one, 58 also give a family or note pyramid, 46 state IFRA certification and 16 print a numeric flash point.
The number that decides: Oil cost per candle — per-gram rate × grams poured. At ₹3.07/g that is ₹49.09 in a 200 g candle at 8%, and ₹4,908.80 across 100 candles.
How many of CSI’s 92 fragrance oil pages survive each gate of the selection method What each gate leaves standingBar width = number of the 92 CSI oil pages that still qualify.Each gate is cumulative: it keeps only what passed the one above.All CSI fragrance oil pages92…that state a candle usage range72…and a family or note pyramid58…and an IFRA claim46…and a numeric flash point4Only the first gate is non-negotiable. Decide which of the restyour product genuinely needs before you narrow to four oils.
Cumulative: each bar counts only the pages that also cleared every gate above it. Across the full catalogue 16 pages print a numeric flash point, but just four of those also print a usage range, a family and an IFRA claim. The chart is a map of what to ask for, not a quality ranking — a thin page is normal, and one WhatsApp message usually fills it in.
Straight answer
How do you choose a candle fragrance oil?
Filter, do not browse. Work through five gates in order. Gate one — format: decide whether you are making a candle, a wax melt, a reed diffuser or a room spray before you look at any oil, because the same page states different loads for each; Apple Cinnamon says 6–10% of wax weight for soy candles and 10–15% for wax melts. Gate two — family: choose the fragrance family from the room, the season and the buyer, not from what smells nicest in the bottle. Gate three — what the page prints: a candle usage range (72 of CSI’s 92 pages have one), a family or note pyramid (58), an IFRA claim (46) and a numeric flash point (16). Insist on the usage range; treat the rest as preferences and ask on WhatsApp for anything missing rather than estimating it. Gate four — cost at your load: per-gram rate multiplied by grams poured, so at an example rate of ₹3.07/g a 200 g candle at 8% carries ₹49.09 of oil and 100 of them carry ₹4,908.80. Gate five — the 15 g sample: buy three at about ₹205.32, pour one 200 g tester from each in the same wax, jar and wick, cure them, and burn them in a real room. The wax ceiling and the oil range both apply throughout and the lower one governs — CSI 464 states up to 10%, so an oil rated to 13% still pours at 10% in that wax.
One line: Format, family, published specification, cost at your load, 15 g sample — in that order, and the lower of the wax and oil ceilings always wins.
Run the method on real samples. 15 g bottles start at ₹68.44; three of them is about ₹205.32 and gives you three finished testers. Pour all three in the same wax — Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 from ₹260.00 — so the oil is the only thing that changes.
Browse fragrance oils

The five gates, in one table

Choosing is not about finding the best oil. It is about removing the ones that cannot work for you, in an order that saves money.

Most people choose a fragrance oil the wrong way round: they fall for a name, buy a bottle, pour it, and then discover the load they needed, the discolouration they did not want, or the fact that the page was describing a wax melt. The method below reverses that. It spends its first four gates on information that is free — the product page, your own arithmetic — and only reaches the expensive gate, a physical sample, once the catalogue has shrunk from 92 oils to three or four candidates. Nothing in it is specific to CSI; it works on any supplier’s catalogue, and it works better on a thin page than a thick one, because it tells you exactly what to go and ask for.

The method
Five gates, what each one costs you, and what it eliminates
Gate The question What it costs What it removes
1 · Format Candle, wax melt, reed diffuser or room spray? Nothing Every oil whose page states a range for a different format than the one you are making
2 · Family What does the room, the season and the buyer want? Nothing Whole families you are not selling this quarter — usually 60–70% of the catalogue
3 · Specification Does the page print a candle usage range, and what else? Nothing Pages that publish no load; 20 of CSI’s 92 fall here
4 · Cost at your load What does this oil add to one candle at the load you actually pour? Ten minutes with a calculator Oils that cannot survive your retail price, however good they smell
5 · Sample Does it work in your wax, your jar and your wick after a real cure? About ₹205.32 for three 15 g bottles, plus wax and wicks The last two or three candidates, leaving one

The order matters more than any individual gate. Sampling first is what beginners do and it is the single most expensive habit in Indian candle making, because a sample only answers "do I like this", which you could have guessed, while gates one to four answer "can I actually sell this", which you could not. The funnel below shows what the specification gate alone does to a 92-product catalogue.

Gate 1: decide the format before you look at a single scent

One bottle, four different percentages. Reading the wrong one is the most common error on this page.

A fragrance oil page usually states loads for several products, and they are not interchangeable. Lavender Fragrance Oil states 6–10% of total wax weight for candles, 10–15% for wax melts, 10–30% of the diffuser base for reed diffusers and 8–15% of the spray base for room sprays. Citrus Lemon and Apple Cinnamon state the same four bands. Blue Ocean and Sandalwood state up to 12% for wax melts against up to 10% in soy candles.

The reason is mechanical, not commercial. A candle has to burn: the oil has to dissolve into the wax, travel up a wick and vaporise in a flame without flooding it or pooling on the surface. A wax melt never burns — it only warms — so it can carry more oil without a wick to drown. A reed diffuser has no heat at all and relies on capillary action and evaporation, so it needs several times the concentration to register in a room. Copy a diffuser percentage into a candle and you get a wick that drowns, a surface that weeps and a candle that smells weaker, not stronger.

72 of the 92 CSI oil pages state a candle range, and most of those state ranges for the other formats as well. British Rose prints all of them on one page: soy candles up to 10%, paraffin up to 6%, wax melts up to 12%, reed diffusers 10–30% of the base and room sprays 8–15% of the base. If you make more than one product, note that an oil which is excellent in one can be ordinary in another — one CSI reviewer reports exactly this, liking a fragrance but getting low throw from a reed diffuser formula built at 10% oil. That is a formulation question for the diffuser base, not a verdict on the oil.

IF YOU MAKE TWO FORMATS

Pick oils whose page states a range for both of your formats, and write both numbers on the bottle in marker pen the day it arrives. It takes ten seconds and it removes the single most common cause of a ruined batch: pouring a wax melt percentage into a candle three months later, when the page is no longer open in front of you. If your second format is a reed diffuser, the base matters as much as the oil — CSI has live guides to reed diffuser bases and how long a base should last.

Gate 2: choose the family from the room, the season and the buyer

Nobody buys a fragrance family. They buy a candle for a room they already have in mind.

Fifty-eight of the 92 CSI pages state a family, a note pyramid or both. Use them as a map, not as a recommendation — this guide deliberately does not tell you which family is best, because that depends entirely on who is buying. What it can give you is the three questions that turn a preference into a decision.

Which room, and how big is it?

A 10x12 ft Indian bedroom with the door shut is a very different acoustic for a scent than an open-plan living-and-dining space in a 2BHK with a fan running. Small closed rooms forgive a light fragrance and punish a heavy one; large open rooms do the reverse. If your product photographs show a bedside table, you are selling into the first case. The live CSI guides to small bedrooms and large living rooms go through the trade-off in detail.

Which months will it actually sell in?

India has a fragrance calendar and it is not the northern-hemisphere one. Fresh, citrus and aquatic families carry April to June, when a Delhi or Ahmedabad room sits above 35°C and anything heavy reads as cloying. Earthy and green families own the monsoon. Gourmands, spice and woods take over from Rakhi through Diwali and into the December wedding season. Buying a spiced gourmand in March is not wrong, but it is capital sitting still for six months.

Is the buyer keeping it or giving it?

A candle someone buys for themselves can be polarising — that is the point of it. A candle bought as a Diwali hamper, a wedding favour or a corporate gift cannot be, because the giver is guessing on the recipient’s behalf and will default to something safe. Gifting pushes you towards the broadly liked middle of a family and away from its edges, and it also pushes you towards oils that will not discolour a white candle before it is opened.

The CSI principle
Choose the room first, the family second, the bottle last.
An oil that is wrong for the room cannot be rescued by load, wick or cure. An oil that is right for the room usually survives all three being slightly off.

Gate 3: the four lines the page has to print

One of these four is a hard requirement. The other three are preferences you should price consciously.

Run your two or three candidate families through this gate and most of them will fall out. The counts below are for CSI’s catalogue as pulled on 12 September 2026; the shape is similar across the industry, and thin pages are normal rather than suspicious. What matters is knowing which missing line you can live with.

The candle usage range — non-negotiable

72 of 92 pages print one. This is the supplier telling you how much of the bottle the formulation is built to carry in wax, expressed as a percentage of wax weight — so 8% of a 200 g pour is 16 g of oil, going into 200 g of wax, for 216 g in the jar. Two things follow. First, your wax has its own stated maximum, and when the two disagree the lower one governs: Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 states up to 10%, Luxury Soy Wax Chunks and Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 state up to 13%, and Eco Soy CSI 400 does not publish a figure at all. Second, if the oil page prints nothing, do not estimate. Ask on WhatsApp for the candle range before you buy — it is a one-line question and it takes a minute.

The family or note pyramid — near-essential if you sell online

58 of 92 give one. You need it less for pouring than for selling: the note pyramid is the raw material of your product description, your label copy and your Instagram caption. Without it you are describing a smell you have only met once, which tends to produce the same four adjectives on every SKU. Where a page gives no notes, a 15 g sample and your own nose will fill the gap — but that is a cost, and it belongs in gate five rather than being waved away.

The IFRA claim — ask for the document, do not infer it

46 of 92 state IFRA certification. The right way to read that line is exactly as written: the page states it. It is not a safety guarantee you can pass on to a customer, and it is not a claim that the oil is safe on skin or around children. If you need it for a corporate buyer, a marketplace listing or an export enquiry, request the actual documentation — MSDS and IFRA paperwork is available from CSI on request on WhatsApp +91 7397976926, for the specific oil you are buying. CSI has a live page on buying IFRA certified oils in India.

The flash point — a handling number, not a quality score

Only 16 of 92 print a numeric flash point, and it is the line most often misread. It is the temperature at which the liquid gives off enough vapour to ignite near a flame: a transport, storage and handling property used to classify shipments. It does not rank hot throw and it is not the temperature at which fragrance "burns off" in a candle. It changes exactly one thing in your process — the add temperature. Most stated figures sit far above the usual 80–90°C window: Vetiver at 206°C, Sandalwood at 203°C, British Rose at 192°C. A few sit close to it or inside it: Palo Santo at 93°C, Gardenia Tuberose at 98°C and Neroli at 85°C. With those, add at the bottom of the window and stir straight away.

The page is thin and you fill the gaps yourself. Twenty CSI oil pages publish no candle percentage; some publish no family and no flash point either. The failure is not the thin page — it is assuming a number. A maker who guesses 10% on an unpublished oil, pours 20 g into a 200 g candle and finds oil beading on the surface a week later has lost a batch to an assumption, not to a product. The fix costs one WhatsApp message. Send the product name and ask for the candle usage range, the flash point and whether it contains vanillin; if an answer is not available, start at 6%, cure fully, and step up in 1% increments across separate test candles.
You take the oil page’s cure line as the whole story. Most CSI oil pages that mention cure give 48–72 hours for soy. That is the point at which a candle can reasonably be test-burned, and it is useful — it means you can get a first reading in three days rather than three weeks. It is not the point at which the scent has finished developing. General practice for soy container candles is that throw keeps building for 14–21 days, and the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page itself says to cure for a minimum of 48 hours and ideally one to two weeks before burn testing. Use 48–72 hours to screen out an obvious failure; use 14 days before you decide an oil is weak. CSI has a live guide to why the 14-day cure exists.

Gate 4: cost the oil in one candle, not in one bottle

A bottle price tells you nothing. A per-gram rate multiplied by the grams you actually pour tells you everything.

Two oils sitting next to each other at ₹212.40 and ₹170.00 for 50 gm look almost identical. At 1 kg the same two are ₹3.07/g and ₹2.83/g, and across a hundred 200 g candles at 8% that gap is ₹377.60. Neither number is visible on the shelf. You get it by doing one multiplication: per-gram rate × wax weight × load. That is the whole of gate four, and it is the gate that decides whether a scent you like can survive your retail price.

Start with grams. The convention on CSI’s product pages is a percentage of wax weight, so a 200 g pour at 8% takes 16 g of oil into 200 g of wax — 216 g in the jar, not 200 g. Get that wrong and every cost below is understated by about 8%. The table uses Eucalyptus Spearmint at its 1 kg rate of ₹3.07/g as a worked example; substitute your own oil’s rate and the shape of the answer does not change.

Worked at ₹3.07/g · September 2026
Grams of oil and rupees of oil in one candle, by wax weight and load
Wax in the jar 6% 8% 10%
100 g 6 g · ₹18.41 8 g · ₹24.54 10 g · ₹30.68
150 g 9 g · ₹27.61 12 g · ₹36.82 15 g · ₹46.02
200 g 12 g · ₹36.82 16 g · ₹49.09 20 g · ₹61.36
250 g 15 g · ₹46.02 20 g · ₹61.36 25 g · ₹76.70
Priced above: Eucalyptus Spearmint Fragrance Oil 1 kg ₹3,068.00 (₹3.07/g). Loads are percentages of wax weight, as CSI’s oil and wax pages state them. Wax, wick, jar, dye and packaging are excluded — this table is the fragrance line only.

Now widen it. The per-gram rate at 1 kg across CSI’s in-stock oils runs from about ₹2.83/g to ₹24.06/g — a factor of more than eight. That spread does not track hot throw, and nothing on the store publishes a comparison that would let anyone claim it does. It tracks the raw materials in the blend: a citrus and a mass-market floral are cheap to build, a perfume-inspired composition carrying oud, tonka and resins is not.

1 kg rates · in-stock oils · September 2026
What the same 200 g candle at 8% costs in fragrance, across the price range
Oil Stated candle range Per gram at 1 kg 16 g in a 200 g candle
Citrus Lemon Soy 6–10% ₹2.83 ₹45.31
Eucalyptus Spearmint Soy up to 10% ₹3.07 ₹49.09
British Rose Soy up to 10% ₹3.07 ₹49.09
Woody Oud Soy 6–10% ₹4.53 ₹72.50
Japanese Cherry Blossom 6–13% ₹4.84 ₹77.47
Sandalwood Soy up to 10% ₹5.03 ₹80.43
Lavender 6–10% ₹5.22 ₹83.54
Neroli Soy up to 10% ₹6.66 ₹106.48
Club De Nuit Intense inspired 7–10% ₹24.06 ₹384.90
Priced above: 1 kg packs, taxes included — Citrus Lemon ₹2,832.00, Eucalyptus Spearmint ₹3,068.00, British Rose ₹3,068.00, Woody Oud ₹4,531.20, Japanese Cherry Blossom ₹4,842.00, Sandalwood ₹5,026.80, Lavender ₹5,221.00, Neroli ₹6,655.20, Club De Nuit Intense inspired ₹24,056.00. Candle ranges are quoted from each product page. Smaller packs cost more per gram — that difference is priced in the next section.

Read the last column against your selling price rather than against each other. A 200 g candle retailing at ₹899.00 carries the top of that table comfortably; the same candle at ₹499.00 does not. And the arithmetic scales brutally: at ₹3.07/g, 100 candles of 200 g at 8% is 1.6 kg of oil and ₹4,908.80 of fragrance. At the other end of the table the same run is ₹38,489.60. That is the difference between a fragrance line you can ignore and one you have to plan around.

Comparing bottle prices instead of per-gram rates. A 50 gm bottle at ₹271.40 and a 50 gm bottle at ₹170.00 are not ₹101.40 apart in any sense that matters — they are ₹5.03/g and ₹2.83/g apart, which is what you will pay every month for as long as the oil is in your range. Build one spreadsheet column called “rupees per gram at the size I actually buy”, fill it in once for every candidate, and never compare bottles again.
Buying 1 kg because the per-gram rate is lowest. It is, and that is exactly how makers end up with three-quarters of a kilogram of an oil their customers did not want. Eucalyptus Spearmint costs ₹3.07/g at 1 kg and ₹4.56/g at 15 gm, so the sample carries roughly a ₹22.42 premium on 15 grams. That premium is the cheapest insurance in candle making. Buy the kilogram after gate five, not before it — the 1 kg pack is ₹2,999.56 more than the sample, and it is the wrong ₹2,999.56 to lose.
Buy the size that matches the gate you are at. 15 gm to answer “does this work in my wax”, 100 gm to pour a small launch batch, 500 gm or 1 kg once it is selling. On Eucalyptus Spearmint that ladder runs ₹68.44 · ₹354.00 · ₹1,652.00 · ₹3,068.00, or ₹4.56/g · ₹3.54/g · ₹3.30/g · ₹3.07/g. Moving from the 100 gm rate to the 1 kg rate saves about ₹3,776.00 across 500 candles at 16 g each — but only on an oil you have already proved.
Compare sizes and per-gram rates

Gate 5: the 15 g sample that ends the argument

Everything before this gate is reading. This gate is the only one that produces evidence.

By now the catalogue should be down to three or four oils that suit your format, sit in a family your buyer wants, publish the lines you need and cost what you can afford. The sample decides between them — and it only decides cleanly if the sample is controlled. Three testers poured in three different waxes, at three different loads, in three different jars, tell you nothing about the oils. They tell you about the differences you introduced. One variable changes: the oil.

A 15 gm bottle is sized for exactly this. At 7% it fills one 200 g candle with a gram spare for a blotter; at 8% it fills one 180 g candle. Three of them is ₹205.32, five is ₹342.20. A complete tester — 200 g of Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 at the 1 kg rate, one Eco Candle Wick Thin (C1) at ₹5.90, and 14 g of oil at the example rate — comes to about ₹150.33 in materials. Three of those is under the price of one 500 gm bottle bought on a hunch.

1
1. Buy three 15 g bottles and nothing elseThree candidates, one bottle each, about ₹205.32. Resist the fourth and fifth — a panel of five scents burned on the same evening stops being a comparison and becomes a headache. If a candidate’s smallest pack is 50 g rather than 15 g, that is still cheaper than being wrong at 1 kg. Order all three together so they arrive in one consignment and cure on the same clock.
2
2. Pour identical testers, changing only the oilSame wax, same jar, same wick, same load, same add temperature, same day. CSI 464 states up to 10% and its page gives 80–90°C as the working range for melting and pouring; Luxury Soy Wax Chunks takes fragrance at 80–90°C, stirred slowly for two full minutes, and pours at 75–80°C. Pick one wax and stay in it. Weigh the oil on a scale, never by eye — a digital scale and a pen thermometer at ₹354.00 are what make this a test rather than an anecdote. Label each jar with the oil, the load and the date before you pour the next one.
3
3. Cure for 14 days, and smell them cold on the wayMost CSI oil pages that state a cure window give 48–72 hours for soy, and that is a real reading — it is the earliest point at which an obvious failure shows itself. It is not the finish line. General practice for soy container candles is that throw keeps building for 14–21 days, and the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page itself asks for a minimum of 48 hours and ideally one to two weeks before burn testing. Smell all three cold at 48 hours, at 7 days and at 14 days, and write one line each time. A scent that is quiet at 48 hours and strong at 14 days is common; a scent that never moves is your answer.
4
4. Burn them in the room they are meant for, and score themNot on the workbench with the fan off. In the actual room, at the actual distance, for a two-hour and then a four-hour burn. Record the melt pool, whether the wick mushrooms or drowns, whether the surface stays even, and whether anyone in the next room notices without being asked — that last one is the only hot-throw test that has ever mattered commercially. CSI has a live guide to running a controlled burn test between two oils.

One more control worth the fifteen minutes: pour a fourth jar with no fragrance at all. It costs about ₹101.48 of wax plus a ₹5.90 wick and it settles the argument you will otherwise have with yourself about whether the wick is wrong or the oil is weak. If the unscented control burns cleanly and the scented ones tunnel, the load is fighting the wick; if all four behave the same way, the wick is simply the wrong size for the jar. CSI’s live wick guide by diameter is the place to fix the second case.

MAKE THE SAMPLE SURVIVE AN INDIAN SUMMER

Testers poured in Delhi or Ahmedabad in May, and testers poured in a Mumbai monsoon, are not comparing the same thing as testers poured in December. Heat softens the surface and speeds evaporation off the top of a jar; humidity gets into an open bottle every time you unscrew it. Keep the samples capped, out of direct sun, away from a window, and burn all three in the same room on the same evening — the comparison is what you are protecting, not the candles.

The decision sheet: one page, three candidates, one answer

If the choice still feels like a matter of taste at the end, the sheet was not filled in.

Write the five gates down the left of a page and your candidates across the top. Fill in every cell before you smell anything. The worked example below takes a real brief — a fresh, clean scent for a 200 g soy jar candle retailing around ₹899.00, poured in CSI 464 at 8% — and runs three in-stock CSI oils through it. Notice that two of the three have a blank cell, and that a blank is not a disqualification. It is a question for WhatsApp and a note in your file.

Worked example · a fresh scent for a 200 g soy jar
The decision sheet, filled in from what the three pages publish
Gate Eucalyptus Spearmint Citrus Lemon Verbena
1 · Format Candle range stated Candle range stated Candle range stated
2 · Family Fresh / Herbal / Spa Citrus / Fresh / Vibrant Not published — ask on WhatsApp
3 · Candle load Soy up to 10%, paraffin up to 6% Soy 6–10%, paraffin 6–8% Soy up to 10%, paraffin up to 6%
3 · Flash point 199°C Not published — ask on WhatsApp 200°C
3 · Vanillin 0% — no discolouration stated Approximately 0% stated 0% — no discolouration risk stated
3 · IFRA Page states IFRA certification Not stated — ask on WhatsApp Not stated — ask on WhatsApp
4 · Cost, 16 g at 8% ₹49.09 ₹45.31 ₹75.52
4 · 15 gm sample ₹68.44 ₹81.42 ₹106.20
5 · Sample Your cold throw and burn notes Your cold throw and burn notes Your cold throw and burn notes
Priced above: 15 gm packs — Eucalyptus Spearmint ₹68.44, Citrus Lemon ₹81.42, Verbena ₹106.20; cost at 8% uses each oil’s 1 kg rate (₹3.07/g, ₹2.83/g, ₹4.72/g) on 16 g of oil in a 200 g pour. Every specification in the table is quoted from the product page as published in September 2026; a blank means the page does not publish it and is marked as such rather than estimated.

Three things fall out of a sheet like that. First, all three clear the hard gate, so this is a real choice rather than a rescue. Second, the fragrance line at 8% differs by ₹30.21 per candle between the cheapest and the dearest, which on 300 candles a month is ₹9,062.40 — worth knowing, not worth deciding on alone. Third, two columns print a family and two print a flash point, but only one prints both — and if you sell online the family is the line you will miss most, because it is the one that writes your product description.

The ceiling rule sits over the whole sheet. Your wax has a stated maximum and the oil has a stated range, and the lower of the two governs every time. CSI 464 states up to 10%, so an oil rated to 13% is still a 10% oil in that wax. Luxury Soy Wax Chunks and Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 state up to 13%, so with an oil rated 6–10% the oil governs instead. Eco Soy CSI 400 does not publish a figure — with that wax, the oil page is your only ceiling, and it is worth a WhatsApp message before a large batch. Japanese Cherry Blossom is the widest range on the list at 6–13%, and even that becomes 10% the moment you pour it into CSI 464.

The oil you can defend on paper and prove in a jar is the one to buy. Everything else is a preference wearing a spec sheet.
— CandleMakingSuppliesIndia
Why trust this guide

CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA sells raw materials — wax, fragrance oils, wicks, jars and tools — not finished candles, so the honest thing to say on a page like this is that the method above will regularly tell you to buy less than you were about to. Gate four exists to stop a 1 kg order that should have been a 15 gm order, and gate five exists to make you spend ₹205.32 before you spend ₹3,068.00. It will also, sometimes, tell you that the cheapest oil in the table is the right one: Citrus Lemon at ₹2.83/g is not a compromise in a citrus candle, it is simply what a citrus composition costs to build.

Every price on this page is a live CSI variant price or a rate calculated from one, taken in September 2026, taxes included; the product pages are authoritative if they disagree. Every specification — candle usage range, flash point, vanillin, IFRA statement, family — is quoted from the product page it appears on, and where a page does not publish a figure this guide says “not published” rather than estimating it. The counts of what CSI’s 92 oil pages publish were taken from the live pages in September 2026 and will drift as pages are updated. The percentages throughout are percentages of wax weight, which is how CSI’s wax and oil pages state them.

For a specification a page does not print, for MSDS and IFRA documentation, for GST invoicing or for bulk pricing above the listed pack sizes, message CSI on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926 with the product name. A single question — “what is the candle usage range and the flash point for this oil” — is faster than any inference, and it is the correct last step of gate three.

Frequently asked questions

How do I choose a fragrance oil for candle making?
In five gates, in order: format, family, what the page publishes, cost at your load, and a 15 g sample. Only the last one costs money, and by the time you reach it the shortlist is three oils rather than ninety-two. The one non-negotiable line is a stated candle usage range; 72 of CSI’s 92 oil pages print one.
What percentage of fragrance oil should I use in soy wax?
Whichever is lower — the wax’s stated maximum or the oil page’s stated range. Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 states up to 10% of total wax weight; Luxury Soy Wax Chunks and Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 state up to 13%; most oil pages sit at 6–10%. In practice that means 8% is a sensible starting load in soy and 10% is the usual working ceiling. The percentage is of wax weight, so 8% of a 200 g pour is 16 g of oil.
Is a more expensive fragrance oil stronger?
Not by itself, and nothing published on CSI’s store ranks one oil above another for throw. Per-gram rates at 1 kg run from about ₹2.83/g to ₹24.06/g, and that spread tracks what is in the blend — citrus and simple florals are cheap to build, oud, tonka and resinous perfume compositions are not. Strength in a finished candle depends on load, wax, wick, cure and the room. Test, do not assume.
How many candles can I make from a 15 g sample?
One. At 7% of wax weight a 15 g bottle fills a single 200 g candle with a gram left over for a blotter; at 8% it fills a 180 g candle. That is the point of the size — it is a decision, not a batch. A complete tester in CSI 464 with a Thin (C1) wick costs about ₹150.33 in materials.
What should I do if the product page does not state a fragrance load?
Ask before you buy. Twenty of CSI’s 92 oil pages publish no candle percentage, which is normal across the industry rather than a warning sign. Message WhatsApp +91 7397976926 with the product name and ask for the candle usage range, the flash point and the vanillin content. If no figure is available, start at 6%, cure fully, and step up 1% at a time across separate test candles.
Does a high flash point mean a better fragrance oil?
No. Flash point is a transport, storage and handling property — the temperature at which a liquid gives off enough vapour to ignite near a flame. It does not rank throw and it is not the temperature at which fragrance “burns off” in wax. It changes one thing: your add temperature. Most stated figures sit far above the usual 80–90°C window — Sandalwood at 203°C, British Rose at 192°C — but a few sit close to it, such as Neroli at 85°C and Palo Santo at 93°C, and with those you add at the bottom of the window and stir immediately.
Run the method
Four gates are free. The fifth costs about ₹205.32.
Read the page, do the multiplication, then buy three 15 gm bottles from ₹68.44 and pour three identical testers in Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 from ₹260.00 with Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) at ₹5.90 each. Ask on WhatsApp for any specification a page does not publish — MSDS and IFRA documentation and GST invoicing are available on request.
Shop fragrance oils — samples from ₹68.44 Ask for a spec before you buy
Editorial standards & sources
About this guide: Written by the CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA team. The five-gate method is not specific to CSI: any supplier’s catalogue can be filtered by format, family, published specification and cost per candle before a sample is bought, and the rule that the lower of the wax ceiling and the oil range governs applies to every wax and every oil. What is specific to CSI here is the data — the live prices, pack sizes and the counts of what its 92 oil pages publish.

Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me. One longer review is shortened with an ellipsis; wording is otherwise unedited. Two are below five stars and two are not recorded as a verified purchase — shown as recorded. Not recorded by Judge.me as a verified purchase, so shown without a verified-buyer badge: Emma Bechara, Lalitha Jagan. No location is shown against any review because Judge.me does not store one.

Figures verified September 2026 (CSI live pricing). Fragrance oil prices (per pack, taxes included, September 2026): Eucalyptus Spearmint 15 gm ₹68.44, 100 gm ₹354.00, 500 gm ₹1,652.00, 1 kg ₹3,068.00 (₹3.07/g); Citrus Lemon 15 gm ₹81.42, 50 gm ₹170.00, 1 kg ₹2,832.00 (₹2.83/g); British Rose 50 gm ₹212.40, 1 kg ₹3,068.00 (₹3.07/g); Woody Oud 1 kg ₹4,531.20 (₹4.53/g); Japanese Cherry Blossom 1 kg ₹4,842.00 (₹4.84/g); Sandalwood 50 gm ₹271.40, 1 kg ₹5,026.80 (₹5.03/g); Lavender 1 kg ₹5,221.00 (₹5.22/g); Neroli 1 kg ₹6,655.20 (₹6.66/g); Verbena 15 gm ₹106.20, 1 kg ₹4,720.00 (₹4.72/g); Club De Nuit Intense inspired 1kg ₹24,056.00 (₹24.06/g). Wax and wick: Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 500 g ₹260.00, 1 kg ₹507.40; Eco Candle Wicks Thin (C1) 100 wicks ₹590.00 (₹5.90 each). Specifications quoted from product pages: Eucalyptus Spearmint soy up to 10%, paraffin up to 6%, flash point 199°C, 0% vanillin, IFRA certification stated; Citrus Lemon soy 6–10%, paraffin 6–8%, approximately 0% vanillin, wax melts 10–15%, reed diffusers 10–30%, room sprays 8–15%; Verbena soy up to 10%, paraffin up to 6%, flash point 200°C, 0% vanillin; British Rose soy up to 10%, paraffin up to 6%, wax melts up to 12%, reed diffusers 10–30%, room sprays 8–15%, flash point 192°C, 0% vanillin, soy cure 48–72 hours and paraffin cure 24–48 hours; Blue Ocean candles up to 10% in soy, paraffin and natural blends, wax melts up to 12%, flash point 143°C, 0% vanillin; Sandalwood soy up to 10%, paraffin up to 6%, wax melts up to 12%, flash point 203°C, 0% vanillin; Apple Cinnamon soy 6–10%, paraffin 6–8%, wax melts 10–15%, reed diffusers 10–30%, room sprays 8–15%; Lavender candles 6–10%, wax melts 10–15%, reed diffusers 10–30%, room sprays 8–15%; Japanese Cherry Blossom 6–13%; Neroli soy up to 10%, flash point 85°C; Palo Santo soy up to 10%, flash point 93°C; Gardenia Tuberose flash point 98°C; Vetiver flash point 206°C; Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 up to 10% of total wax weight, 80–90°C given as the working range for melting and pouring; Luxury Soy Wax Chunks up to 13%, fragrance added at 80–90°C and stirred slowly for two minutes, poured at 75–80°C, cured a minimum of 48 hours and ideally one to two weeks; Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 up to 13%; Eco Soy CSI 400 fragrance load not published. Counts taken from CSI’s 92 live fragrance oil pages in September 2026: 72 state a candle usage range, 58 a family or note pyramid, 46 an IFRA certification claim, 16 a numeric flash point, 17 a numeric vanillin figure and 53 a discolouration note; 54 state a soy cure window and all of them give 48–72 hours. Costing unit (illustrative): 200 g of wax plus fragrance at a percentage of wax weight — 16 g at 8% — with the oil priced at its 1 kg pack; a complete tester adds one Eco Candle Wick Thin (C1) at ₹5.90 and 200 g of CSI 464 at the 1 kg rate. The ₹899.00 and ₹499.00 retail prices used for comparison are illustrative. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.
Zurück zum Blog