Are All Fragrance Oils Safe to Use in Candles?

Are All Fragrance Oils Safe to Use in Candles?

 

Fragrance oils from ₹68.44 / 15g · ₹2,832 / kg 15g trial sizes to 1kg bulk Stocked in India · ships nationwide
CSI decision guides · fragrance oils
"Candle-safe" is not a property a bottle can have on its own. It is a question answered three times: by the supplier, by the documentation, and by your burn test.
★★★★☆
"Hey, the fragrance is so nice. Can’t wait to use in my candles!! A must buy item!!"
S.A.Jun 2024
Jasmine Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"…I found what am looking for strong fragrance in cold throw and hot throw…"
Emma BecharaJun 2026
British Rose Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Good quality wood fragrance oil with a warm, long-lasting scent and strong performance in candles."
Payal PatelVerified buyer · Mar 2026
Woody Oud Fragrance Oil
★★★★☆
"Fragrance is awesome. Hot throw is also very good after burn candle."
AkanshaVerified buyer · Dec 2025
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Fresh and soothing"
Yashvi ShahVerified buyer · Jul 2025
Blue Ocean Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Very good"
Reena BagalVerified buyer · Oct 2025
Sandalwood Fragrance Oil
★★★★☆
"Hey, the fragrance is so nice. Can’t wait to use in my candles!! A must buy item!!"
S.A.Jun 2024
Jasmine Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"…I found what am looking for strong fragrance in cold throw and hot throw…"
Emma BecharaJun 2026
British Rose Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Good quality wood fragrance oil with a warm, long-lasting scent and strong performance in candles."
Payal PatelVerified buyer · Mar 2026
Woody Oud Fragrance Oil
★★★★☆
"Fragrance is awesome. Hot throw is also very good after burn candle."
AkanshaVerified buyer · Dec 2025
Lavender Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Fresh and soothing"
Yashvi ShahVerified buyer · Jul 2025
Blue Ocean Fragrance Oil
★★★★★
"Very good"
Reena BagalVerified buyer · Oct 2025
Sandalwood Fragrance Oil
Reviews collected and published through Judge.me on candlemakingsuppliesindia.store. One longer review is shortened with an ellipsis; wording is otherwise unedited.
✓ Stated applications published per oil ✓ Stated candle load bands per page ✓ SDS & IFRA documentation on WhatsApp
Candle Business Guides · Fragrance Oil vs Other Materials
No — and the honest reason is duller than the question suggests. "Safe to use in candles" is not a property that belongs to a bottle. It is a statement a supplier makes about a specific product, backed by documentation they can send you, and confirmed on your own bench. Three checks, in that order, per oil.
3 checks
the supplier's stated applications for that product · the documentation they can supply on request · your own burn test in your wax, wick and vessel · CSI page text and live pricing, September 2026
Quick answers — read this first
Can I assume any fragrance oil will work in a candle? No. Suitability is stated per product, not per category. 91 of CSI's 107 fragrance-oil pages state applications and 85 name candles; 16 state no applications block at all, and on 9 pages the word "candle" does not appear anywhere. A silent page is a question for the supplier, not a green light and not a warning.

What are the three checks? One, the supplier's stated applications for that exact product and size. Two, the documentation they can provide on request — CSI supplies SDS and IFRA documentation on WhatsApp. Three, your own burn test in your wax, on your wick, in your vessel.

Does a high flash point make an oil safer for candles? No. A flash point is a handling and transport classification measured under a defined test method — not a burn-off temperature and not a quality score. Only 18 of the 107 pages state a measured value; 32 state only a threshold line and 56 state nothing.

What number actually limits me? The wax's stated maximum load, not the oil's. Up to 13% on Luxury Soy Wax Chunks, up to 10% on CSI 464, up to 13% on CSI 468. Where the oil page states a lower band, that lower figure wins.
The short answer
Not all of them, and no supplier can answer it for the whole category: fragrance oils are blends made for different end uses. Some are listed for candles, some for alcohol-based perfumery, some for skin-contact products, many for several at once — each with its own stated use level.
Check the stated applications for the exact product: on CSI pages this is an applications, ideal-for or works-in line. If candles are not named anywhere on the page, ask before you pour rather than assuming either answer.
Ask for the documentation before you sell anything: the SDS and the IFRA documentation. CSI supplies both on request via WhatsApp. No CSI page publishes a certificate number, an amendment number or a category number, so the request is the route — not the listing.
What the 107 CSI fragrance-oil pages state — and what none of them states Scent notes or profile 102 of 107 Applications / ideal-for 91 — of which 85 name candles A usage or load percentage 81 of 107 Any IFRA wording 71 — no certificate or category number on any Vanillin / discolouration 62 of 107 A flash point of any kind 51 — only 18 a measured value Phthalate-free / skin safety 36 of 107 Shelf life or storage 0 of 107 — not stated anywhere; ask for the SDS
Counted across all 107 CSI fragrance-oil product pages in September 2026. Read the bottom bar as carefully as the top one: a listing that says nothing about storage or shelf life is not claiming indefinite stability, and a listing with no flash point is not claiming a high one. Absence of a statement is a reason to ask, never a reason to assume.
Straight answer
Are all fragrance oils safe to use in candles?
No, and anyone who answers yes for an entire category is guessing. Fragrance oils are blends of aroma materials built for particular end uses, and a supplier states which of those uses they stand behind for each product. That statement is the first of three checks, and it is specific: 91 of CSI's 107 fragrance-oil pages state an applications or ideal-for line, 85 of them name candles, 16 state nothing of the kind, and on 9 pages the word "candle" appears nowhere. So the useful question is never "are fragrance oils candle-safe" but "what does the supplier state about this product, and can they send me the documentation?" The second check is that documentation — the Safety Data Sheet and the IFRA documentation, which CSI supplies on request via WhatsApp. Only two of the 107 pages mention an SDS at all and none publishes one, so the request is the route rather than the listing; and because no page publishes a certificate number, an amendment number or a category number, you should never treat the phrase "IFRA compliant" in page copy as a document you have seen. The third check is the only one nobody can do for you: a burn test in your wax, on your wick, in your vessel, at your load, after a proper cure. That is where you find out whether the pool opens, whether the flame behaves, whether the surface stays clean and whether the white wax stays white. Suitability is a claim about the product. Performance is a fact about your candle. You need both, in that order, and the arithmetic that binds them is the load — capped by the wax's stated maximum, not by ambition.
One line: no blanket answer exists — read the stated applications for that exact product, ask CSI for the SDS and IFRA documentation, then let a cured burn test decide.
The cheapest way to run check three is a trial bottle. 15 g sizes from ₹68.44 and 50 g from ₹170, with every CSI oil page publishing whatever it states about applications, load and discolouration — and saying nothing where it states nothing.
Shop fragrance oils

What "candle-safe" actually bundles together

One phrase, three unrelated questions, and most arguments about it are people answering different ones.

When a maker asks whether a fragrance oil is safe for candles, they are usually asking all of the following at once, and the three have different answers from different sources. Separating them is the whole trick.

Three questions inside one phrase
Who answers each one, and what it cannot tell you
The question being asked Where the answer comes from What that source cannot tell you If it is missing
Is this product intended for candles at all? The supplier's stated applications for that exact product and size Nothing about how it will perform in your wax, or at what load it smells best Ask. A silent listing is neither a clearance nor a warning
What documentation exists behind it? The SDS and the IFRA documentation, supplied on request — CSI handles this on WhatsApp Nothing about throw, cure behaviour or wick fit; documentation is not a performance report Request it by exact product name and size before anything is sold
Does it make a good candle? Your own burn test, after a full cure, in your vessel, on your wick Nothing about the first two questions. A candle that burns beautifully has not been documented There is no substitute. Three jars and a fortnight

Notice what each column cannot do. A stated applications line does not promise a strong hot throw. An SDS does not tell you whether your wick will tunnel. And a candle you have burned three times documents nothing for a customer who asks a question. The three checks are not alternatives; they are a sequence.

The failure that costs the most is skipping check one and running check three anyway. A maker buys an oil because the scent is perfect, pours forty candles, and only afterwards notices that the listing describes an alcohol-based perfumery product with no candle application stated. The candles may be fine. But the maker has no statement from the supplier to stand on, no documentation requested, and no way to answer a customer's question except from their own impressions. Read the applications line first, because it takes thirty seconds and it is the only one of the three you cannot generate yourself.

The three checks, in order

Here is the sequence written out as something you can hold a page against. The eight lines below are what a candle maker can actually verify before pouring, marked by where each answer lives. Where a page is silent, the action column is always the same: ask, then test.

Pre-pour check · use this on any supplier's listing
Eight things to establish before an oil meets wax, and where each one comes from
# What to establish Source CSI coverage across 107 oil pages
1 Candles are named in the stated applications Product page 85 of 107 name candles; 91 state applications; 16 state none
2 A candle load band or maximum is stated Product page 81 of 107 state at least one usage percentage; 26 state none
3 Your wax's stated maximum load, and which figure is lower Wax page Chunks up to 13% · CSI 464 up to 10% · CSI 468 up to 13%
4 The add temperature the wax page states Wax page Chunks and Eco Soy CSI 400 state 80–90°C; CSI 468 states 58–60°C pour
5 Any temperature instruction on the oil page itself Product page Gardenia states "add this oil to your wax at a temperature below 98°C"
6 The discolouration position, if you pour white wax Product page 62 of 107 state something about vanillin or discolouration
7 The SDS, requested by exact product and size Supplier, on request Only 2 pages mention an SDS; CSI supplies it on WhatsApp
8 The IFRA documentation, requested the same way Supplier, on request 71 pages use IFRA wording; none publishes a number or a document
What IFRA documentation is for, stated plainly
The International Fragrance Association publishes standards that set maximum use levels for fragrance materials by product category, aimed at consumer safety in finished products. An IFRA document for a fragrance states use levels for that fragrance by category. That is genuinely useful: it is the reason a single bottle carries one percentage for candles and a much lower one for a leave-on body product. What it does not do is tell you anything about hot throw, cure behaviour or wick fit. Ask CSI for it on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926, by exact product name and size. Do not assume a document exists for one oil because another in the range mentions IFRA, and do not treat "IFRA compliant" in marketing copy as a document you have read — the detail is in what an IFRA certificate is.

What the pages state — and what they never state

A supplier's listing is evidence, and like all evidence it is worth knowing its shape. Reading all 107 CSI fragrance-oil pages in September 2026 produces a clear picture of what is documented on the page and what is only available on request. The honest version of that picture includes the gaps, so here they are.

Coverage across 107 CSI fragrance-oil pages · September 2026
What is on the page, what is missing, and what to do about each gap
Specification Pages that state it Pages that state nothing What to do when it is absent
Scent notes or profile 102 5 Buy a 15 g trial and smell it. Nothing replaces that anyway
Applications / ideal-for 91 (85 name candles) 16 Ask whether candles are a stated application for that product
Usage or load percentage 81 26 Work to your wax's stated maximum and start at 8%
IFRA wording of some kind 71 36 Request the documentation; never infer it from another oil
Vanillin or discolouration 62 45 Pour one jar in white wax beside an unscented control
Flash point 51 (only 18 measured) 56 Ask for the SDS figure. Never estimate it from a similar scent
Phthalate-free / skin safety 36 71 Do not generalise one page's claim across the range
Shelf life, storage, expiry 0 107 Ask. Treat storage as general good practice, not a stated spec

Two rows deserve emphasis, because they are where makers most often fill a gap with an assumption. The flash point row: 51 pages mention one, only 18 give a measured value, and 32 give only the shared line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" — a threshold about alcohol-based products, not a measurement of that oil. One page, Zesty Lemon Fragrance Oil, states it as "Available on request / SDS", which is the most honest form of the answer. The bottom row: no page states a shelf life, storage instruction, expiry date or allergen declaration. Store oils sensibly — sealed, out of direct sun, away from heat — but treat that as general good practice, not a specification you have been given.

Nine pages never mention candles at all. In September 2026 those were Santal Noir, Sultan's Smoke, Tangerine, Neroli Signature Grade, Jasmine Coconut Spa Ceylon and four others. That is a gap in the listing, not a statement that the oil is unsuitable — several of them sit in the fine perfume range, where the pages are written for perfumery first. If you want one of them in a candle, message CSI, ask whether candles are a stated application for that product and size, ask for the SDS, and then test. Do not read silence in either direction.

The load limit belongs to the wax, not the oil

This is the single most practical thing on the page. Whatever an oil's listing says about percentages, the number that constrains you is the maximum fragrance load the wax manufacturer states for the wax you bought — because that figure describes how much oil that formulation will actually hold in solution. Cross it and the surplus does not bind: it migrates, sweats, sits on the surface and starves the wick. That is a product-quality failure with a cost, and it is entirely avoidable.

Stated maximum loads and temperatures · CSI wax product pages, September 2026
Grams of oil in a 200 g candle at each wax's stated maximum
Wax Stated maximum load Oil in a 200 g candle at that maximum Stated temperatures
Luxury Soy Wax Chunks Up to 13% · stated range 8–13% · 10% recommended 26 g of oil, 174 g of wax Add 80–90°C · pour 70–80°C · cure minimum 48 hours, ideally 1–2 weeks
Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 Up to 10% 20 g of oil, 180 g of wax Page states melt and pour both at 80–90°C
Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468 Up to 13% 26 g of oil, 174 g of wax Melt 50–53°C · pour 58–60°C
Eco Soy CSI 400 Not stated Hold at 8% (16 g) until a cured jar says otherwise Add fragrance at 80–90°C (85°C), stir 2 minutes
Semi Refined Paraffin Wax Not stated Several oil pages state up to 6% for paraffin — use the lower figure Melting point 80–90°C · oil content 6–10%
Worked out above: load is a percentage of the finished candle, so a 200 g candle at 13% is 26 g of oil and 174 g of wax; at 10% it is 20 g and 180 g; at 8% it is 16 g and 184 g. The Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page phrases its 8–13% as a share "of total wax weight", so on that convention the same jar works out slightly differently — this series uses the share-of-finished-candle convention throughout for consistency, and says so. All stated figures are quoted from the wax product pages and are formulation limits, not regulatory limits. Prices used elsewhere on this page: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks ₹599 per kg, ₹5,999 per 10 kg; CSI 464 ₹507.40 per kg; CSI 468 ₹650 per kg; Eco Soy CSI 400 ₹399 per kg; Semi Refined Paraffin Wax ₹220 per kg.

Where both the oil page and the wax page state a number, take the lower one. Fresh Strawberries states "6-9% for candles", so on Luxury Soy Wax Chunks rated to 13% the oil's own 9% is the binding figure. Cinnamon Vanilla states "Up to 13% of total wax weight", which means it can only be taken to 13% in a wax that also states 13% — Chunks or CSI 468, not CSI 464 at 10%. And several single-note pages, including Jasmine, Vanilla Bean and Cinnamon, state "Up to 10% for soy wax" and "Up to 6% for paraffin wax" in the same breath, which is a reminder that the wax type changes the number even for a single oil. Why more is not automatically stronger is set out in can too much fragrance oil make a candle smell weaker.

The CSI principle
Suitability is a claim the supplier makes. Performance is a fact your candle proves. Never accept one as evidence of the other.
A stated application and an SDS tell you the oil belongs in the conversation. A cured jar that opens a full pool in two to three hours, burns clean and fills the room tells you it belongs in the range. Both, in that order, every time.

Flash point, read correctly

Flash point comes up in every conversation about candle safety and it is the specification most often misread, so here is the careful version. A flash point is the lowest temperature at which a liquid gives off enough vapour to form an ignitable mixture with air, measured under a defined test method. It is used to classify liquids for handling, storage and transport. It is not a burn-off temperature, it is not a measure of how much fragrance survives your pour, and it is emphatically not a quality score — a higher figure does not make a better candle oil.

Across the CSI range, 18 pages state a measured value, and the spread is wide: Neroli Fragrance Oil states "Flashpoint: 85°C" while Vetiver Fragrance Oil states "Flashpoint 206°C". Thirty-two pages give only the threshold line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)" — a statement about suitability for alcohol-based products, not a measurement, and it should never be converted into a number. Fifty-six pages state nothing at all, and the correct thing to say about those oils is that the figure is not published; ask CSI for the SDS.

Where a page gives you a working instruction, follow the page
Two CSI listings do the useful thing and turn the number into an action. Gardenia Fragrance Oil states "Flashpoint 98°C" together with the instruction to "add this oil to your wax at a temperature below 98°C", and notes it has a lower flash point than many fragrance oils. Blue Ocean Fragrance Oil states that its "flashpoint of 143°C (290°F) means standard handling precautions apply". Those are instructions from the people selling the oil, and they beat any rule of thumb. Where the oil page is silent, follow the wax page's stated add band and log the reading your thermometer actually showed — the reasoning is in does flash point determine the add temperature.

One more piece of honesty about the pages themselves. Sandalwood Fragrance Oil calls its stated 203°C the highest flash point in the CSI range, and the store's own pages contradict it — Vetiver states 206°C and Vanilla Bean equals 203°C. Do not build a purchase on a superlative, including a supplier's own. Build it on the figure for the specific product, and where there is none, on the SDS you asked for.

Before a production run, get the paperwork and the pricing in one message. SDS and IFRA documentation are supplied on request, and bulk pricing and GST invoicing are handled the same way. Working back from Diwali on 8 November 2026, a new oil needs to clear its burn test by early October to allow a full 14–21 day cure.
Request documentation on WhatsApp

The burn test that settles it

Check three has no shortcut, no substitute and no supplier. It is three jars, a fortnight and nine hours of attention.

Checks one and two establish that the oil belongs in a candle. This one establishes that it belongs in your candle. Every variable that matters — wax, wick, vessel diameter, load, add temperature, cure — is yours, which is why the same oil can be excellent in one maker's range and wrong in another's.

1
Fix everything except the one thing you are testingOne wax, one vessel, one load, one add temperature, one stir time. Pour three identical jars plus an unscented control from the same melt, so you have a colour baseline to compare against in a fortnight. Weigh, do not measure — load is a weight percentage and oils differ in density, so a weighing scale at ₹354 and a pen thermometer at ₹354 are the two cheapest pieces of equipment that make the result repeatable.
2
Set the load from the lower of the two stated numbers, then start below itCompare the oil page's candle band with your wax's stated maximum and take the lower. Then pour your first test at 8% — 16 g of oil and 184 g of wax in a 200 g candle — unless the oil's own band tops out below that. Starting at a maximum removes your only easy adjustment if the result is close.
3
Add at the stated temperature, stir a full two minutes, and write down what the thermometer saidNot the target — the reading. The Eco Soy CSI 400 page specifies adding at 80–90°C (85°C) and stirring two minutes, and that stir time is good practice on any soy. If the oil page carries its own temperature instruction, that instruction wins.
4
Inspect at 24 hours, then leave the jars aloneDay one is visual only. An oily film, beading under the lid, a wet ring at the glass or a grainy surface means the load or the temperature needs changing, so re-pour rather than wait. If the tops are clean, put the lids on, box them out of sunlight, and do not judge the smell. Cure 14–21 days; the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page states a minimum of 48 hours with one to two weeks preferred.
5
Burn each jar for up to three hours and record seven thingsMinutes to a full melt pool reaching the glass, pool depth, flame height and stability, soot or mushrooming, throw at 30 minutes and at two hours on a 1–5 scale, the surface once it has cooled, and the wax colour against the unscented control. One closed room, no competing scent, nothing else burning. The scoring sheet in how to test hot throw before launching a candle fragrance is the one to copy.
6
Decide, then write the formula downOil and size · supplier · stated applications · stated load band · wax and stated maximum · load used · add temperature · stir time · wick · vessel diameter · cure days · pool time · throw scores · colour result. That card is the answer to every future question about this oil, including the ones a customer asks. The full version of the card is in building a professional candle formula.
A supplier can tell you what an oil is for. Only a cured jar can tell you what it does.
— CandleMakingSuppliesIndia

Three oils whose pages publish the most

If you are new to reading listings this way, start with oils whose pages give you the most to work with — a stated applications line, a stated candle band, a measured flash point and a stated position on discolouration. These three do all four. Each card shows every size, the price per 100 g, and how many 200 g candles at 8% each pack covers (16 g of oil per candle) — the 15 gm trial reads ≈0 because it is a smelling and small-jar size rather than a full 200 g candle.

1
Floral · four specifications stated
Jasmine Fragrance Oil
One of the better-documented pages in the range. It states a measured "Flashpoint 185°C", "Vanillin content 0% - no discolouration, safe for white and light-coloured wax", a load of "Up to 10% for soy wax, cure 48-72 hours. Up to 6% for paraffin wax, cure 24-48 hours" and applications across candles, wax melts, reed diffusers, room sprays and body products, with the body-product line qualified as "Use within safe IFRA rates". Its stated profile is "Sweet, floral, and exotic jasmine" with a "Subtle musk" undertone. Ignore the page's claim to be among the most technically reliable oils in the range — that is an unsupported superlative — and use the four numbers instead.
Size Price Per 100g 200g candles @ 8%
15 gm ₹103 ₹686.67 ≈0
50 gm ₹230 ₹460 ≈3
100 gm ₹430 ₹430 ≈6
500 gm ₹1,961 ₹392.20 ≈31
1 kg ₹3,923 ₹392.30 ≈62
₹62.77 of fragrance per 200 g candle at 8% and 1 kg pricing Buy Jasmine
2
Fresh herbal · the cheapest way to run check three
Eucalyptus Spearmint Fragrance Oil
The lowest-priced 15 g trial in the range at ₹68.44, which makes it the cheapest oil on which to practise the whole sequence. The page states "Flashpoint 199°C", "Vanillin Content 0% — zero discoloration risk, safe in white, light, and uncoloured wax", and a load of "Up to 10% for soy wax candles and up to 6% for paraffin wax candles" with a cure of 48–72 hours for soy. Its stated profile is "Crisp eucalyptus with a refreshing spearmint finish", and the page positions it for spa and wellness collections. Note that this page's applications text is one of the 66 where raw stylesheet code has leaked into the description — read past it; it is a template fault, not a specification.
Size Price Per 100g 200g candles @ 8%
15 gm ₹68.44 ₹456.27 ≈0
50 gm ₹212.40 ₹424.80 ≈3
100 gm ₹354 ₹354 ≈6
500 gm ₹1,652 ₹330.40 ≈31
1 kg ₹3,068 ₹306.80 ≈62
₹49.09 of fragrance per 200 g candle at 8% and 1 kg pricing Buy Eucalyptus Spearmint
3
Floral · the page that gives you an instruction
Gardenia Fragrance Oil
Included because of how its page handles a low figure rather than in spite of it. It states "Flashpoint 98°C", notes a lower flash point than many fragrance oils, and gives the direct working instruction to "add this oil to your wax at a temperature below 98°C". It also states "Vanillin content 0.2%" and a load of "Up to 10% for soy wax candles with a cure time of 48-72 hours. Up to 6% for paraffin wax candles". Read against a wax page that states an 80–90°C add band, that instruction still leaves working room — and on CSI 468, whose stated pour is 58–60°C, there is a great deal more. A CSI customer who bought it writes that "It is highly concentrated".
Size Price Per 100g 200g candles @ 8%
15 gm ₹105.02 ₹700.13 ≈0
50 gm ₹223.02 ₹446.04 ≈3
100 gm ₹433 ₹433 ≈6
500 gm ₹2,166 ₹433.20 ≈31
1000 gm ₹4,332 ₹433.20 ≈62
₹69.31 of fragrance per 200 g candle at 8% and 1 kg pricing Buy Gardenia
Products that are not fragrance oils are a separate question entirely. CSI's reed and car diffuser bases and its room-spray base are carriers sold to be blended with fragrance oil; the butters and essential oils are a different material class again. None of them is a drop-in substitute for a candle fragrance oil, and CSI does not list them as one. The diffuser question is answered in can diffuser fragrance oil be used in candles, the essential-oil question in can essential oils be used in candles, and the perfume-oil question in can perfume oil be used in candles.
Why trust this guide

CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA supplies raw materials, not finished candles, and CSI is not a manufacturer of fragrance oil. On a question like this one, the commercially convenient page would say that every oil we stock is fine in any candle. This page says the opposite: that 16 of our own 107 fragrance-oil listings state no applications block, that 56 publish no flash point, that none publishes a shelf life, and that the only way to know whether an oil suits your candle is to test it. We would rather sell you a ₹68.44 trial bottle you burn than a kilo you regret.

Every count, percentage, flash point and quotation here is taken from live CSI product pages read in September 2026, and every price is live CSI pricing from the same month; the linked product pages always take precedence. Stated wax loads — up to 13% for Luxury Soy Wax Chunks and Premium Coconut Soy CSI 468, up to 10% for Luxury Soy Wax CSI 464 — are the wax pages' own figures and are formulation limits, not regulatory limits. Nothing on this page is a legal or regulatory statement, and no oil is described here as safe or unsafe; what is described is what the pages state, what documentation is available on request, and what a burn test can establish.

For the SDS or IFRA documentation on a specific oil and size, for confirmation of the stated applications on a product, or for bulk pricing and GST invoicing, message us on WhatsApp at +91 7397976926.

Frequently asked questions

Are all fragrance oils safe to use in candles?
No, and it is not a question that can be answered for a whole category. Fragrance oils are blends built for different end uses, and suitability is stated per product. Of CSI's 107 fragrance-oil pages, 85 name candles in their stated applications, 91 state applications at all, and 16 state none. The workable answer is three checks: the supplier's stated applications for that exact product, the SDS and IFRA documentation they can supply on request, and your own burn test in your wax on your wick. All three, in that order.
How can I tell whether a specific fragrance oil is meant for candles?
Look for candles in the supplier's own stated applications, ideal-for or works-in line for that product — not in a category page or a marketing headline. Then look for a stated candle load band: 81 of CSI's 107 pages give at least one usage percentage, and phrasings range from "6-10% for soy wax candles" to "Candles (Soy / Paraffin / Blends) 10%". If neither appears, message the supplier with the exact product name and size before you commit wax to it. Silence is a question, not an answer.
Does a higher flash point mean an oil is safer in candles?
No. A flash point is the lowest temperature at which vapours form an ignitable mixture with air under a defined test method, used to classify liquids for handling and transport. It is not a burn-off temperature and not a quality score. Only 18 of CSI's 107 pages state a measured value, ranging from "Flashpoint: 85°C" on Neroli to "Flashpoint 206°C" on Vetiver; 32 state only the threshold line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)", which is not a measurement. Where no figure is published, ask for the SDS.
What documentation should I ask a fragrance supplier for?
Two things, by exact product name and size: the Safety Data Sheet and the IFRA documentation. CSI supplies both on request via WhatsApp at +91 7397976926. Note what the listings do and do not contain: 71 of 107 pages use IFRA wording of some kind, but no page publishes a certificate number, an amendment number, a category number or a document, and only two mention an SDS at all. So treat the request as the route, and never infer that a document exists for one oil because another mentions IFRA.
Can I use a perfume-grade fragrance oil in a candle?
Where the page states candles among its applications, yes — and many CSI perfume-grade pages do, stating "Candles (Soy / Paraffin / Blends) 10%" in a maximum-usage table alongside far higher figures for perfumery. Two cautions. First, the flash point line on those pages is usually the threshold "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)", which is not a measured value for that oil. Second, these are concentrated blends: several pages advise starting candles at 7% and adjusting. Ask for the SDS, start low, and cure fully before judging.
How long should I test before selling candles with a new oil?
Long enough to include a real cure. Standard practice for soy container candles is 14–21 days, and the Luxury Soy Wax Chunks page states a minimum of 48 hours with one to two weeks preferred — so a fortnight is the sensible floor before you judge throw at all. Add a day-one visual check for sweating or separation, then a burn of up to three hours per jar. Three jars, plus an unscented control for colour, is enough to make a decision, and the written formula card afterwards is what makes it repeatable.
Three checks, every oil, every time
Read the stated applications. Ask for the documentation. Then let a cured jar decide.
Jasmine Fragrance Oil from ₹103 for 15 gm with a stated 185°C flash point and 0% vanillin, Eucalyptus Spearmint from ₹68.44 with a stated 199°C, Gardenia from ₹105.02 with its own add-below-98°C instruction, and Luxury Soy Wax Chunks from ₹299 per 500 g at a stated 8–13%. Message us for the SDS, IFRA documentation, bulk pricing and GST invoicing.
Shop fragrance oils Request documentation on WhatsApp
Editorial standards & sources
About this guide: Written by the CANDLEMAKINGSUPPLIESINDIA team. Nothing here is a legal or regulatory statement, and no fragrance oil is described as safe or unsafe; the guide reports what CSI product pages state, what documentation CSI supplies on request, and what a burn test can establish. The three-check sequence and the pre-pour list apply to any supplier's fragrance oil.

Customer reviews: The six reviews at the top of this page are genuine, published Judge.me reviews left by CSI customers on their product pages. Names, star ratings, dates and products are as recorded by Judge.me; one longer review is shortened with an ellipsis and otherwise unedited.

Figures verified September 2026: Counts are of the 107 CSI fragrance-oil product pages read in September 2026 — 102 state scent notes or a profile; 91 state applications and 85 of those name candles; 16 state none; 9 never mention candles anywhere in the page text; 81 state at least one usage percentage; 71 use IFRA wording while none publishes a certificate, amendment or category number; 62 state something about vanillin or discolouration; 51 state a flash point (18 measured, 32 only the threshold line "Flash point > 93°C (suitable for alcohol-based products)") and 56 state none; 36 state phthalate-free or skin safety; 0 state a shelf life, storage instruction or expiry date; 2 mention a Safety Data Sheet. Stated flash points quoted: Neroli "Flashpoint: 85°C", Gardenia "Flashpoint 98°C", Blue Ocean "Flashpoint 143°C (290°F)", Jasmine "Flashpoint 185°C", Eucalyptus Spearmint "Flashpoint 199°C", Sandalwood "Flashpoint 203°C", Vanilla Bean "Flashpoint: 203°C", Vetiver "Flashpoint 206°C"; Zesty Lemon states "Available on request / SDS". The Sandalwood page's "highest flashpoint in the CSI range" claim is contradicted by the Vetiver and Vanilla Bean pages and is not repeated as fact. Wax specifications as stated on product pages: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks up to 13% (8–13% of total wax weight, 10% recommended), add 80–90°C, pour 70–80°C, cure minimum 48 hours ideally 1–2 weeks; CSI 464 up to 10% with melt and pour both stated as 80–90°C; CSI 468 up to 13%, melt 50–53°C, pour 58–60°C; Eco Soy CSI 400 add at 80–90°C (85°C) and stir 2 minutes, no load stated; Semi Refined Paraffin Wax melting point 80–90°C, oil content 6–10%, no load stated. Loads are formulation limits, not regulatory limits. Wax prices: Luxury Soy Wax Chunks ₹299/500 g, ₹599/kg, ₹5,999/10 kg; CSI 464 ₹507.40/kg; CSI 468 ₹650/kg; Eco Soy CSI 400 ₹399/kg; Semi Refined Paraffin Wax ₹220. Oil prices: Jasmine 15 gm ₹103, 1 kg ₹3,923; Eucalyptus Spearmint 15 gm ₹68.44, 1 kg ₹3,068; Gardenia 15 gm ₹105.02, 1000 gm ₹4,332; Citrus Lemon 50 gm ₹170, 1 kg ₹2,832. Per-candle fragrance cost = 1 kg price ÷ 1,000 × 16 g: Jasmine ₹3.923/g = ₹62.77; Eucalyptus Spearmint ₹3.068/g = ₹49.09; Gardenia ₹4.332/g = ₹69.31. Equipment: Pen Thermometer ₹354, Candle Making Weighing Scale ₹354. Candle maths uses fragrance load as a percentage of finished candle weight (200 g at 8% = 184 g wax + 16 g oil; at 10% = 180 g + 20 g; at 13% = 174 g + 26 g). Cure of 14–21 days reflects standard practice for soy container candles. Diwali 2026 falls on 8 November. Prices and availability change — the linked product pages are always authoritative.
Zurück zum Blog